Northern Territory trip

Thread: Northern Territory trip

Northern Territory trip

Well i just returned yesterday morning from my week in NT. Had a blast with the milkfish and queenies and a few other bits and pieces. Here are just a few snaps from the tonne i took up there. The fishing wasnt as good as it could be as the locals were telling me its one of their worst seasons.But with a bit of patience and hard work still managed to bag some fish. All were released except for a couple of queenies wich some locals scored from me.

Re: Northern Territory trip

Sunrise in Darwin!

A small Broad bar mackeral

A little barramundi on a lure

Diamond scale mullet, these guys were so hard to get to take a bait.

This is my 4.5kg milkfish on 3kg line, 45 minute fight

here is my 6kg milkfish

anyone know what this is?

one of many queenies, this one may be a Aust record,fingers crossed.

The stout longtom were bait stealers but still a bit of fun on the light gear

Another queenfish, these photos have been edited to keep the locals happy as they dont want crowds.

Good old longtail.

Caught these fish whilst waiting to fly home last afternoon.
    All fish this trip were taken from the land and no boats were used.
    Hope you all like em!

how big was the queeny the fingers crossed one?

just short of 8.3kg, the line class record is 7.8 kg

Ausfish Premium Member

What are you tempting your milkies with? Lures? Bait? I've tried all sorts without much luck.

Ausfish Platinum Member Jeremy87's Avatar

It looks like some sought of mud skipper.

Yeh looks like a mudskipper but more colourful

I used bread to get the milkfish.It takes heaps of patience and most days the milkfish wouldnt even feed.And when they did they had amazing sense not to eat the bread with the hook.But as you can see a few fell victum.

Great fish, thats a ripper of a trip.

We have similiar "Mud skippas" here in Tin Can Bay but where that one is Red ours are an iridescent Blue. A mate has one in his aquarium. They seem to use the fin underneath them as a foot to turn 360 degrees in the water and flick themselves a fair way ( 10 to 20 cms) when on land. Also very territorial in the tank, it takes on a baby Cod thats about 3 times its size.

James

Yeah it's a mudskipper. They get all courful when in clean water (rockskipper lol).
    Mate that's a top trip, some new species there plus an Aussie record to boot! Well done.
    Mark.

yeh had a blast and i miss the place already.I think i might have to go again next year.

I was more thinking it was a goby of some sort!! Ive had these in my salt water aquarium and were sold as gobies!

Shane