Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Trawlers up the creek - no prawns

Trawlers up the creek - no prawns

Went down to the local creek this morning to catch a few prawns. Very slow today, ended up with about a kilogram of prawns.

When I got back home my neighbour told me that 3 trawlers got up the creek last night. Hence why no prawns today. Should have gone Wednesday.

Makes me sick that they (trawlers) can work the creeks at all.

Work the Bay (Moreton), but not the creeks, does anyone else feel the same?

Shane

Re: Trawlers up the creek - no prawns

Yeah Shane it is a disgrace...
    What have you got to say Waldo35???

Benno

> > > > > > >
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

which creek was this mate?

3 trawlers my guess is the pine mate.. not good at all > I have watched them trawl past me and often thought why the hell are they allowed to do this in such a small river!! if they wern't in there i reckon we would have a river full of healthy fish and prawns!! oh well maybe one of these days..

Brandon.

Quote Originally Posted by BrandonH
    3 trawlers my guess is the pine mate.. not good at all > I have watched them trawl past me and often thought why the hell are they allowed to do this in such a small river!! if they wern't in there i reckon we would have a river full of healthy fish and prawns!! oh well maybe one of these days..

Brandon.

Dunno what creek but yeah, I've seen 2 at a time in the past and another tied up at Dohles.

Back to the bycatch issue .........If you ever stick around long enough when they trawl there, you will see plenty of dead floaters. One day I saw 3 egrets sitting on the trawler and the skipper was feeding 'em like they were his bloody pets.

Howzabout a pressure group with the mandate to seek buyback of those licences used in our river/nursery systems? Any takers? Fishing party perhaps? I really cannot see any justifiable argument for fishing in a nursery system, particularly for prawns when they're gonna head for the bay anyway. Therefore, I cannot see any justification for not outlawing it......enough publicity and the pollies would have to sit up and listen. The way I see it, the only drawback would be loss of income for the pro fishers.......an equitable buyback would negate that, surely?

I don't want to sound heavy-handed in this issue and am welcoming reasoning as to why they are/should be allowed to fish so close, particularly in the Pine. I simply find that it doesn't make ecological sense to me at all

I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting system through which God speaks to us
    every hour, if we will only tune in.

I heard through the grape vine that one came up the Tweed, got a hell of a lot of flathead and whiting, since then fishing has been slow. #My place looks over the terranora lakes and I see netters in there allmost everyday. #It's not good to see, all professional fishermen wanna say is that recreational fisherman take away their livelyhoods. #Something certainly needs to be looked at to stop this. #Kev your idea's great if you need a hand give us a yell and I'll see what I can do.

jono

This is the area I look over and I see them netting.

1337 - My local is Eprapah.

Its tiny compared to the Pine - they would have come on a smash and grab mission, during the dark of last night.

They clean up and leave everyone else with nothing.

They will now leave it a week or two, allow the prawns some time to recover and they will be back.

>

Given that most of the beam trawl catch is sold as bait for recreational fishers, who's fault is it that beam trawling continues? No bait, no beam trawlers. Simple.

Another easy solution is a rec licence to buy out beam trawl licences. The licence debate has been waged on here before, but the fact is if there were a licence, beamies would be gone.

Lefty

Thats a real shame don't these guys know that if they keep doing it they won't be able to get anything in the future? or is it a case of wanting the money now and not caring about the future.. grrr i better stop i don't know how to say what i want withough going to far!! there should be a LOT more fisheries on pertrol. maybe we as rec fishers need to make more calls on the illegal fishing that is going on and maybe fisheries will start seeing a pattern as to when they are doing this sorta stuff and be there waiting for them? I know i have rang the number a few times and always find out that the guy on duty is on the other side of Brisbane.

Now quite upset
    Brandon...

bloody disgrace

> > > I've heard that a ball (or 2) of barbed wire can cause enough problems in a net to discourage the abuse of netting creeks or rivers, worth a shot I'd be thinking... #I don't mind a bloke trying to make an honest living, but, not at the recreational fishermans expence. #Square hooks do not catch and release they just catch more and more.. #enough is enough

hussy

they would trawl our streets if they could. at least they put a lot back into the local economy.(bull s....t) most think only of the money with no concern for the environment, how many trawlers have a rubbish bin?
    bob

the recreational catch of tailor at fraser island in 2004 was 600 Tonnes the commercial catch was only 100 tonnes. bag limits were enforced in 2005 and size limits increased i believ to improve this resource