Hi Waldo......incoming... *duck*
Mate ,buy the looks of all the juveniles in the bycatch industry ,RecFisho's must be leaving heaps of breeders .....thankyou for "excluding" them with your BRD's
Every Success
Gazza
Hi Waldo......incoming... *duck*
Mate ,buy the looks of all the juveniles in the bycatch industry ,RecFisho's must be leaving heaps of breeders .....thankyou for "excluding" them with your BRD's
Every Success
Gazza
mmmm kev i think u agreed with me that recco effort estimates are flawed and inadequate. good onya. lets define recco effort definatively so recco and pro can work 2 gether addressing minimization of impact.
Originally Posted by waldo35
Working together is the way to go mate, but traditional "enemies" are bound to have some disagreements along the way
A kid's idea of a balanced diet is a hamburger in each hand.
Waldo: "lets define recco effort definatively"
Let's weigh TRAWLER "by-catch" automatically......... :exclamation
i.e. weighed before sorting
then MINUS the kept "target"
to give the LOGGED "bycatch"........ :exclamation
and vms/gps stats to minimise the "by-catch" issue , with "localised" results......
AND then??? steps taken by ASIC?? to peer-review
Suggestion: Installing "hoppers" gives an endorsement , along EIS standards ...and fair enough ,if an area has higher-than-normal juveniles LOGGED ,the hopper guys GET preference :exclamation
i reckon if all the pro's got on wellfare for a while, they could get their bad and broken teeth fixed up for free and maybe get a hair cut and a shave...........
funny how they lobby us for support after they collapsed some of the worlds greatest fisheries with their "on the take" polly mates!
now shut up and eat your basa!
why should it only be the industries like farming, manufacturing and construction(wonder why no one wants to do a trade....easy it's frikken hard work for little money-supply and demand? no its exploitation of people financially unable to fight back) doing all the suffering in this country.....welcome to suffer time pro-fisho' bleed fat cat'
damon-no i'm not bias' i've just had a gutfull of gravy trains whinging'
damaon i think ur self description at bottom of post says all that needs to be said.
do you like it?
it was created be one of your profishing colleagues-clever man isn't he!
and still you have more to add i reckon!
think about the facts for a minute!
more rec's(fishing gear retailers and boat makers etc, etc) then you and the animal libbers' by at lest 10 fold,
so if your a fat polly that wants another term/stint because you want a $150,000 p.a pension and an office with car and driver........who's camp yah gunna go with-
animal libbers....nah
profishermen.....nah
lets see what becomes of the now banned sydney harbour pros as a pilot case for how it's gunna go for you guys up here....remember lawyers only do things that bring money into their accounts, not yours! they will use you up till you got no more money left.
and going by the way the look at global warming why care your kids are gunna be stuffed anyhow in an over populated world which is burning it up all the way to "the end of days" as the neo-conservatives call it.
i like how you guys have gone about changing the perceptions of rec fishos' such clever people, i remember how they bashed old' bushy down the nsw sth coast, because they didn't like his oppinions on fisheries management.....seems everybody likes democracy until they arent part of the majority.
i like bob dylan songs'-cuz times' they are a changin'
damon
damons..I doubt the boat making industry is really part of the rec fishing lobby...the by far majority part of that market is the leisure boat market...I have said it before..until the general public stop buying seafood, then there will always be pros...regardless of how much money a boat builder or a tackled manufacturer has...they still only have one vote just liek the rest of us...that pollie that wants to keep that job ...he would rather have a boat builder vote against him than thousands of the public that cannot buy seafood anymore.
Disregard global warming as any sort of debating tool...that subject is very rapidly losing credibility.
Interesting thread here folks - think I will come in and lend a hand to Waldo though.
Pink Panther - a commercial fisher catches commercial quantities of fish - unloading crates of fish product from a commercial fishing boat is standard practice. Your emotional claim has no logic and I would imagine it is a little laced with exaggeration. Correct me if I am wrong, but you imply that all these crates of fish leaves nothing for you? Poor argument from my point of view - lots of crates of fish points to a healthy fishery. I watched the stake netters, tunnel netters, fence netters work the bay throughout the 70s and 80s and folk bitched and whinged about the "rape and pillage" all those years ago (me included I might add). The fact of the matter is, that the biology of these bread and butter species (bream, whiting, flathead, mullet) dictates that if stocks were being overfished then a time frame of 6 to 8 years would see everything crash - that is nothing left. Rather than get your back up at the sight of crates of fish being unloaded you should more logically be reasoning that the bay fish stocks are healthy.
Andy
Cfisher
I have been fishing a school of fish off the beach and had the beachnetters throw a net around the school and Ive not caught another fish all day.
I think the intent of the other post was illustrating a similiar local result. If the netters hit Ephrapah for example you would be lucky to score a fish from the locality for days. If they hit a couple of locations close together, forget about fishing for a while .