-
Bundy meeting (re closures)
Heard a rumour that there has been a meeting organised
in Bundy, re fishing closures, for next week sometime.
Supposedly Pollies will be attending, anyone got any
specific info, would be much appreciated.
cheers Mick
-
Re: Bundy meeting (re closures)
G'day Mick,
I heard a little bit on the radio,,
it's on this tuesday 22th, at Across the waves..
start time at 7pm.....
-
Thanks seajay39.
sounds like a good enough excuse to go to town.
Cheers Mick
-
Ausfish New Member
How did the meeting go ?
what are the greens try to shut down in bundy ??
-
Stainless.
The meetting in Bundy had a pretty good show but I would have liked to have seen more, Beattie government has done some seriously dodgey stuff to get the green zones and all the other pretty coloured zones past. Honestly the proposed map has more colours than a painters overalls.
Some areas proposed for green zone protection are on the foreshore between Burnette Heads and Elliot River, now remember that these three areas are the only areas that the average land based fisherman can access the water because all the other areas are to steep and dangerous however the steep and dangerous areas remaain unprotected ! Go figure!!
A rally is being organised for saturday 26th at 9 am to 10 am in front of Salters Oval on Takalvan St all are welcome bring cars , boats and yourself.
We are trying to help stop the Moreton Bay closures as well so any input to help Bundy would be appreciated.
-
A good mate of mine is signing off on a block of land today in a new estate just north of elliott river mouth. Part of the reason he bought that block was the proximity to the beach section you guys just mentioned. >
-
Flick, sorry to hear about your mates recent investment based on it's location. It's not something you would ever expect to happen in such a place but now here we are staring down the barrel at a whole new wave of closeures.
The penny has dropped for me, I think back now and realize that things have been getting pulled out from under us for the past ten years and more but it's only now we are becoming really aware because we are running out of fishing options.