Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Protest Convoy posts here Please

Re: Protest Convoy posts here Please

G'day All,

What a well presented turn out ... and it is amazing to see so much effort put into dressing up the boats.

We had planned to go from Clontarf ... then to the boat show ... then to Riverfire ... until the family all woke up crook

Can someone tell me the email address to get to Peter Beattie?

If I can lend support that way, then I most certainly will.

Quote Originally Posted by webby
    <snip>

What pissed me off, was there were actually 8 empty trailer at Raby (She'll be right mate) ??????
    Herm you must have been up half the night making cookies

Same at clontarf > and plenty of boats working Hornibrook and the Pine.

Great city shot Kev. Though Cheech's charterboat and the falcon at the lead could have something to do with it.

When I went to Clontarf I thought I would have problems getting a park. Obviously not the case. Just as well there was a big turnout from down south.

If it was not for Ausfish I would not have known about the rally so maybe that is why numbers were down a bit.

Like webby said to many poeple have she be right attuide. We spoke to poeple at the boat show on friday night and most of them just laughed. Coast gaurd at the front door, to me to wake up to my self. All i can say at least if the closures happen, ( and i hope they dont) the poeple that showed up can all turn around and tell them to shut up. And ask one simple question where where you on saturday. And the same webby I couldnt belive that there where empty trailers at clontarf boat ramp.We counted 9 boats in the pine and about 16 poeple fishing on the bridge. Bloody aussie we are to layed back.
    And again to all that came well bloody done.

cheers shaneoo

Not making excuses for others, but to be honest I wouldn't have had a clue about the protest if it wasn't for Ausfish, I too could have been one of those boats out there none the wiser.

I really do think the advertising of these events needs to start much earlier, even if final details are not known or whether the final approvals have been issued.

I do think we need to inform more people and earlier so that they can keep the day and time booked in, knowing that the final details will shortly follow.

That said, well done to the organisers that did so much to pull it off a week before the election, we certainly appreciate the efforts you guys and gals put in for our collective efforts.

- Darren

thanks for the organisers who arranged this protest ..It was nice to see a lot of ausfish people out there , only problem was we didnt get a chance to meet, cheers pitsa for the pic I new a member was in front and behind but no idea as to who so cheers again nice to meet you too marlin mike
    Unfortunate to get stuck by all those traffic lights and subsequent loss of the convoy, would have made a greater impact if the convoy was whole going thru the city and past the big house but hey sh%t happens I guess
    well worth the two hours convoy travel time and was encouraged by the support from other motorists
    will be there again if needed

Frankly, I thought the turn out at Cleveland was piss poor, and obviously Clontarf was even worse. I think we had an impact, but it could have been so much greater.

So many excuses by so many for not going. So take a bloody day off work. There will be plenty of time for work if the closures do happen.

Publicity is one of the problems, but apathy is the main issue. I contacted about 50 people in our club and other fishing mates of mine, and I think 4-5 turned up.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

I noticed there was nothing in todays paper (sun mail) about the protest.
    Cheers Ian

some of us do not have the option to just take a bloody day off work jeremy...not as simple as pulling a sickie.

Well put Pinhead
    As much as I support action from people to acheive an outcome for a cause they believe in, I dont condone people pulling sickies etc to achieve that.

Having just got home and starting to deal with over 100 emails the turnout and effort at Cleveland was great for the short time involved. I sat with Nugget and we counted 130 odd rigs leave Cleveland and then it took over 2 hours to do the route. If 500 turned up it would have been a sh&^%fight.

What was done was perfect. Enough to make a seriuos point and enough to be managable and certainly enough for the 10 second media grabs and soundbites. Personally I thought they would use the line about "Franklin Dam without the dreadlocks"

Great job to those who made the effort and dressed up your cars and boats.

Clearly fishing is now a political issue and it has to continue to be.

The Fishing Party however is not the answer...........YOU ARE

All TFPQ is, is the vehicle by which you can make your voices heard.

KC

Hi everyone, just got back from Brisbane (we live in Bundaberg) and we thought, "Why waste the trip, let's give Mr Beattie some free advertising" So we did. Out came the Nikko Pen and an old bit of timber, and why not write on the back of the boat aswell......

We thought there would have been more boats at the rally on the Southside but it was still good to be involved.

Our red cattle dog (he loves his fishing) was a big hit. On the other side of his coat he had "I don't vote, but I do Fish"

On our way down Friday afternoon we were a bit upset to see all the boats leaving Brisbane. Some people just don't get it....

We understand some people had to work, but when you see them leaving for a weekend away - you really have to wonder - maybe they didn't know.

But it was a good start, lets hope more events follow.

on the boat for the trip home

On the back

Our Ute on the day