Protest Convoy posts here Please - Page 6
Page 6 of 9 FirstFirst 123456789 LastLast

Thread: Protest Convoy posts here Please

Re: Protest Convoy posts here Please

Last one

Bundy_Burp

Looked good on tele I think it got the message across well done to everyone who participated .

Bundy

Ausfish Platinum Member boatboy50's Avatar

Hey Guys,

Couldn't participate today due to work.

Well done to all. Saw it on 7, and it looked very professional, stating a message but in a very peaceful and fitting manner.

Beattie also appeared on the Sunny Coast, of the Ausfish rally he said there were no plans to close any part of the bay to us. He certainly took notice, and was concerned enough to comment and assure us and viewers that he was actually listening.

Big pat on the back to all who particpated.

ken4159

What can i say "C-DRIVE" is now famous, be serious i'am just 1 out of hundreds who made the effort today, have to say thanks to my crew for there support today, Ryan "reelmagic" Earl & Manfred thanks guys & hey what a top day, went back down to Raby Bay post rally, the bay flat as a tack, no wind, & only half a dozen trailers in the car park, got to be a first.

Cheers, Goanna

Quote Originally Posted by boatboy50

Beattie also appeared on the Sunny Coast, of the Ausfish rally he said there were no plans to close any part of the bay to us.

I don't think he said that Darren.........at least not when I saw him interviewed. He said he wasn't going to ban fishing which means nothing. ............he's not going to ban fishing......just give us a smaller area to fish in! He can decide on closures and then say that doesn't amount to a ban on fishing.

gropeher

Grannpop,

I saw your boat at the ramp and thought that was the rig deservent of the $200 for the best dressed gig,
    anyway thats the way it goes,
    Congrats all again for turning up and showing your support,

WE are one!!!!

Ryan.

count_baysea

Well done to all involved. Work got in the way for me.
    shane

hi all
    what a day, it took me 2 hour 2 go from Cleveland 2 city !!!
    Loved it ,All 4 a good cause, 2stick it up beattie !!!
    Me & my mate took the long way home over 2 Wynnum along the esplanade
    then Manly ,capalaba,cleveland,and then home , Great day!!!

Yes it was a good turn out on the southside, the north side seem less keen though.
    No bagging anyone, but numbers should have been up more both nth and sth.
    I think the reason why was not enough publicity.
    I ran into a few at the boat show friday, and they new nothing about it.
    Yes it was called on short notice, but if where to beat this crisis, publicity needs to be at a greater level, and its up to Marine/tackle stores to start doing a lot more advertising in there shop frontage.
    The run from raby to the city, was a lengthy affair, and the convoy got fairly spread out at times with so many bloody red lights.
    Geez Ken just what we wanted to see C_Drive hitting the head lines, your one marked man now
    K.C. good to meet up again, got anymore of those $200 notes floating around.
    What pissed me off, was there were actually 8 empty trailer at Raby (She'll be right mate) ??????
    Herm you must have been up half the night making cookies

trying 2 put some pictures up try again

2 of 3

Old Cleveland coming down hill into Coorparoo

Great_White

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    It was on 7 & 9 - Great White..is it the name Peter..media tarts..you and Beattie...camera junkies..LOL
    It was good to see the turn out.
    Media Tart!!!! That's lovely! I have been called many things (alot of things by Janine! ) but never a Tart!

Oh well - if the cap fits - wear it!

Since the news airing I have had seven TV commerical offers - 3 autobiography offers and 1 movie deal! and then I woke up!

Oh well - that was my 2 seconds of fame! Had you been there - it could have been you Greg!!!

Ausfish Platinum Member el_carpo's Avatar

Well done you guys!!! You had what looked to be a pretty good turn out and you got media coverage for your cause. It worked! Well done!

Thanks for posting the pics as well. I couldn't be there but felt like I was.

Now they know that there are people who care out there and are watching them closely. Now they know that you're people, not sheeple. Hopefully, seeing you guys and gals out there will alert others to your cause and get rid of some of the apathy some may have about the subject.

Congratulations!

EC

PS Can you send me the recipe for those snacks the kids were handing out? Reading that made me hungry!
    "When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"

Ian_R_Bell

Lovely piccies. The Missus and I went to Clontarf to have a look, had a few chats, had a bit of a giggle with the Policemen hovering in a small group. AND THEN WE WENT FISHING.
    I reckon the issue that SHOULD be foremost is contamination and or pollution of the bay. If the bay ends up like Sydney Harbour, Howards electorate. You can forget the fishing and swiming becsause it will be illegal to do any activities..
    You blokes should be attacking the problem at a local council level, where the effluuent and heavy metals etc enter the bay.Or checking out GOLDEN CIRCLE cannery.
    If these issues are not dealt with right now.
    Then NOBODY will be permitted to fish or swim.
    Howard was told by those BAD GREENIE GROUPS in that he had a problem in 1996. He ignored greenpeace, and others, so now.
    Now ALL fishing is banned in Howards electorate.

SYDNEY HARBOUR. The Worlds most polluted waterway

17 August 2004

Heavy metal, organochlorine and hydrocarbon contamination in Sydney Harbour are among the highest in the world, with storm-water pollution adding to existing build-ups, a long-term University of Sydney study has found.

The 14-year research project found copper levels are up to 100 times higher than the average for sediments pre-dating European settlement, and total copper, lead and zinc concentrations are about 20 times higher.

A recently launched book, The Contaminant Status of Sydney Harbour - A Source Book for the Public and Professionals, details findings of research carried out by the Environmental Geology Group at the University of Sydney (EGGUS).

Dr Gavin Birch, senior lecturer in the School of Geosciences, who co-authored the book with postgraduate student Stuart Taylor, said Sydney Harbour remained one of the more polluted ports in the world.

"There's still a lot of cleaning up to be done," Dr Birch said. "Material coming in with stormwater run-off is very high in contaminants, so even if some is flushed out, more washes in to replace it." Dr Birch said there was also evidence of banned organochlorines such as DDD and DDE continuing to enter the harbour, either from run-off on contaminated sites or illegal dumping.

Although fishing in Sydney Harbour is banned, limiting health risks to humans from continuing contamination, Dr Birch said several bays and tributaries would remain biologically "dead" while toxins remained at existing levels.

"Contamination has had and is having an effect on the benthic animals which would live in the sediment," he said. A large proportion of estuarine biodiversity is found in the benthic community with many of its worms, shrimps, snails and bivalves important food sources for fish and birds.

The EGGUS study area extended from the Parramatta River to Port Jackson, Lane Cove River, Middle Harbour and North Harbour, with the highest concentrations of contaminants found at Homebush Bay, Hen and Chicken Bay, Iron Cove and Rozelle and Blackwattle Bays.

"Mean concentrations of heavy metals, organochlorine compounds and polycyclic aromatic hydrocarbons (PAHs) in Port Jackson sediment are among the highest reported in the world," the book said.

Dr Birch said attempts at large scale remediation of heavily contaminated areas would be pointless without controlling the source of continued contamination. He recommended sand infiltration devices attached to gross pollutant traps as one method of trapping fine particles, many from car exhaust fumes, which settled and washed into stormwater channels in the catchment.

Disclaimer | Privacy Statement | University of Sydney home
    © 2002 - 2006 The University of Sydney, NSW 2006 Australia. Phone +61 2 9351 2222.
    ABN: 15 211 513 464 CRICOS Number: 00026A
    Authorised by: Office of the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research & Innovation). Last Updated: 30-Aug-2006