I think a lot of damage is done by netting. Both pro - legal and rec - illegal.
OH HELL I FORGOT
Pharkmeh, where can i get some burley like yours? [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]
OBI_WAN
I think a lot of damage is done by netting. Both pro - legal and rec - illegal.
Live to fish.
20+ years ago it would of been pretty much even as how did the most damage but now as more and more rec fishers are into C&R the balance has tipped to the commercial fishermen, but I think that this is because we as a public at whole are becomming more aware of the enviroment and the inpact humans are having on it. The by-catch now is prob. no more now than 20 odd yrs ago just that now we are looking at it more closely where before we just took it as part of life.
I also believe that all river systems should be closed to all netting Aust wide (both pro and rec ) and a yearly 3mth no fishing(no take) every year for at least the next 5 years. Sounds harsh I know but if we are really serious on preserving our fish stocks we have to start making the hard calls sooner rather than later
Aussiefool
Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........
I think the seasonal closures of different fish is a great idea (has worked down south with snapper). Also, netting should be banned from any river/esturies. I have seen a trawler working the coomera river and there is no way I could catch the same quantity of fish if I was there everyday for the next fifty years.
We do need commercial fishing as not all of us reco's catch a feed every time we go out. We need somewhere to buy fish so the missus doesn't think we are totally useless.
I do a combination of catch/keep and catch/release. Always check size and look at the fisheries website every few months to make sure I have the latest size and catch limits.
May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line
Before you catch fish, the fish have to be there.
For the fish to be there, there must be a reasonable habitat for them.
In our bay, 99% of fish - habitat is on/ around structure of some kind.
99% of the time, that structure is on /around the sea bed.
Follow a trawler in the bay and look at the colour of the water behind the nets. even with crystal clear water around, it resembles a gravy trail.
The bottom is being trawled (trowled?) flat. Bombies, weed beds, grass beds, everything. Only the bigger bombies and structure that catch (damage) nets is left.
No arguement as far as i am concerned.
Damo
Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.
This debate is opening up again so in light of the fact that there are a lot of newbies here since the thread below, it may pay to revisit it. There is a full description of the Fishery, and an explanation and diagrams of By-Catch Reduction devices and their effectiveness. It's a fairly long thread and in spite of the fact that I was a major contributor, I still think it is relative and interestingOriginally Posted by Obi _ Wan
http://www.ausfish.com.au/forum/YaBB...m=1143797596/0
An excerpt from the thread that shows just how ludicrous some research is.
Take this 1997 research of the Pine: Not the Pine River that I have experience of and just how did they arrive at this? No mention of methodology in the research at all Shocked
2.71% of Queensland harvest? from I.31% of total Qld trips? That means that the Pine had a 100% more better catch rate than the average rest of Qld. That beggars belief No mention of flathead catch or prawn in the rankings catch despite the fact that some old timers have told me that flathead used to be in abundance 10 to 15 yrs ago and that they used to catch the "odd" snapper Snapper are in the rankings and flathead aren't. So I recieve anecdotal evidence that flathead should be in the rankings but not snapper> The researchers have collected anecdotal evidence that snapper should be in the ratings and flathead shouldn't?
In the 1997 RFISH diary program (not a comprehensive
geographical survey), ranked recreational catch for Pine River
included Whiting, Bream, Winter Whiting, Diver Whiting,
Snapper (Squire), Sand Crab, Catfish Unspecified, Toad Fish,
Flathead, Summer Whiting; Fisheries values (Hays Inlet FHA):
Australian bass, bream, blue salmon, estuary cod, flathead,
garfish, jewfish, luderick, mangrove jack, sea mullet, tailor,
whiting, mud crabs, sand crabs, banana prawns, eastern king
prawns
Total estimated recreational catch (harvest & released) for Pine
River in 1997 was 1,509,755 fish (2.71% of Qld total) from
141,092 trips (1.31% of Qld total). Estimated catch (top 5
species by no.) Whiting 351,799, Bream 230,598, Winter
Whiting 203,028, Diver Whiting 190,131, Snapper (Squire)
I think those of you that think rec fishers are without blame or are not right up there with the commercial sector are being naive to say the least,after all,bag limits were introduced to the rec sector to stem the carnage we were inflcting.Recreational angling is the most participated outdoor activity in this country with daylight and golf tieing for second and the argument that a trawler caught more than me on any one occasion dosen't wash due to the sheer numbers(rec)participating on a daily basis.While trawlers do decimate the weedbeds/flats and juvenile fish they do not opperate on reef if they did they would have more to worry about than torn nets,though this a likely outcome it would more than likely end up with a boat on the bottom and possible loss of life.As for no proof of rec angling damage(Poodroo) consider this(anecdotal),eight years ago it was a talking point if someone turned up with any more than a couple of Pearlies in my area (Ballina/Evans) in those days there were no bag or size limits on these fish,since the introduction of bag limits these fish have flourished to the point that some days it's not unusual to throw back atleast the bag limit again and one can confidently be selective if the first couple are rats,the interesting point here is that Pearlies don't trap and don't stay on a drop line so the commercial sector is very much on a level playing field useing the same gear as us and the rules have only been changed for us.As for an answer to the question I have no idea but should a comprehensive study be carried out don't expect us to come out smelling like roses.
Too right Damo, the damage caused to the habitat by netting is a huge problem. Added to that, is the prevailing attitude of the professionals, which is that because they make their living from it, the resource belongs to them. They see recreational fisherman as thieves stealing their lively hood. In my opinion they, along with foreshore development, are the major contributors to the depleation of fish stocks, not the recreational fisherman.Before you catch fish, the fish have to be there.
For the fish to be there, there must be a reasonable habitat for them.
In our bay, 99% of fish - habitat is on/ around structure of some kind.
99% of the time, that structure is on /around the sea bed.
Follow a trawler in the bay and look at the colour of the water behind the nets. even with crystal clear water around, it resembles a gravy trail.
The bottom is being trawled (trowled?) flat. Bombies, weed beds, grass beds, everything. Only the bigger bombies and structure that catch (damage) nets is left.
No arguement as far as i am concerned.
Damo
Camo
Kingtin, those "stats" are amazing!!!! from what they are saying each trip someone catches on average 10.something fish... no way... and if someone misses out then thats 20plus fish someone else has to catch. Not only that but a snapper (squire) is caught almost every trip?? you gotta be kidding me... If the pine was THAT reliable then every man and his dog would fish there!Total estimated recreational catch (harvest & released) for Pine
River in 1997 was 1,509,755 fish (2.71% of Qld total) from
141,092 trips (1.31% of Qld total). Estimated catch (top 5
species by no.) Whiting 351,799, Bream 230,598, Winter
Whiting 203,028, Diver Whiting 190,131, Snapper (Squire)
Who are the goons that come up with this sort of crap???
Now I've had my rant... I'll go back and read the rest of this incredulous tale!!
Adam
p.s BTW I reckon Commercial guys have the biggest impact on fish stocks, followed by greenies and greeny loving pollies (who are closing down all the best fishing spots) then a long way behind all of them and falling fast (due to closures ) is the humble rec angler... oh and dont forget the 80/20 rule it works for recs - but not for comms.
Rfish from the DPI&F as usual. anecdotal evidence which in my experience is far from the truthOriginally Posted by Adamy
http://www2.dpi.qld.gov.au/fishweb/16303.html
How is the RFISH program organised?
The cornerstone of the program is the statewide RFISH surveys, which have three components:
the telephone survey
the diary survey
the socioeconomic survey
Statewide RFISH surveys were conducted in 1996, 1998, 2001 and 2004.
The other elements of the program are:
* the National Recreational and Indigenous Fishing Survey
* standardising boat ramp surveys throughout the State, whatever organisation conducts them
* searching historical collections of fishing club competition records
Top of page
Statewide telephone surveys
The telephone surveys have two main aims: to determine the participation rate and other characteristics of recreational fishing in Queensland, and to find about 4500 volunteers to keep a diary of their fishing activities in the following 12 months (that is, in 1997, 1999, 2002 and 2005). The first telephone survey was completed in late 1996 after more than 21 000 people had been contacted. The survey was repeated in 1998, 2001 and 2004, with about 22 000 people interviewed each time.
Results from the most recent survey suggest that about 735 000 Queensland residents had fished in the 12 months before the survey.
The fourth statewide RFISH survey began in November 2004 with a telephone survey of around 25,000 Queensland households. From these households about 5,000 people have been selected to participate in a 12-month diary program during 2005. Details from previous fishing surveys can be found at Recreational fishing survey results .
Statewide angler diary surveys
The aim of the statewide angler diary survey is to determine where people fish and what they catch. The survey, which covers a 12-month period, was run in 1997, 1999, 2002 and the 2005 survey is currently under way. Results from these surveys are used to estimate the number and type of fish caught by anglers in each of the 15 statistical areas around the state.
Sufficient numbers of people are selected for the diary surveys to ensure that reasonable estimates can be made of the harvest of keynote species by statistical area.
This information is used to develop appropriate fisheries' management arrangements and so help ensure that the State's recreational and commercial fisheries are developed sustainably.
Socioeconomic surveys
Participants in the diary program were sent a detailed questionnaire that collected information on what motivated them to go fishing, how much they spent on recreational fishing and what they thought about existing fisheries management arrangements.
Hmmmm... I feel like the little kid who went up to his dad to ask how babies were born... the dad scratches his head and says... go ask your mother, the kid replies... I didnt want to know THAT much about it!!
Survey method sounds alright in theory and the data collected is probably OK - I think they've made errors in the extrapolation, because the results are simply unbelievable.
However, to validate the research project - you would need to know how the diary participants were selected - where it was random, random stratisfied etc. Otherwise the data could be biased - for instance they could choose fishos who fish more than say 20 times per year - so they get more usable data, if this is the case then the skill level of this kind of fisho would exceed that of say a once a year family vacation fisho - who would in fact be more likely to represent the greater population of fishos... IF you follow my drift. It all comes back to lies, lies damn lies and statistics.
Adam
Was talking to my father up in Mission Beach today. Told me what his Father-in-law told him.
Apparently Box jellyfish weren't a problem approx30 - 40 years ago. One spring/summer trawlers from further north and netted between to coast and the islands. The following year the stingers arrived in plague proportions. It is believed by many locals in the area that the trawlers either decimated a species of fish in the area or destroyed their structure and they didin't return the following year. Have also heard similar stories from people I know down here who have lived up north.
I know it is second hand, but makes you think.
May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line
,Commercial and recreational fisherman both have very different impacts on some very different fisheries .
Be specific about a fishery if you like and voice your concerns ,as some of you have, but this pro bashing for pro bashings sake is becoming a bit boring.