Thread: Does this happen to anyone else??

Brett_Hoskin

Does this happen to anyone else??

Regardless of what maintenance I perform of how much care or attention to detail I take when preparing for a trip something always stuffs up at the 11th hour.

I had everything planned , car serviced along with a full change of all fluids (gearboxes , diffs, the lot) as well as new injectors a rocker adjust and injection timing check and adjust, 2 new universal joints, new thermostat c/w housings,roadworthy certificate obtained and yearly rego paid in advance, insurance paid on car.

Now 3 days before we leave for a 6 month or so holiday I detect a little bit of oil where there shouldnt be a little oil leak. On investigation it appears to be coming from behind the oil cooler. That means removing the injector pump, oil filter housing, vacuum governor control injector lines(probably) sensors and vacuum hoses.

AAAAHHHHHH!!! What pain in the butt.

Now that I have that off my chest...thanks..

Re: Does this happen to anyone else??

What really p.......s me off is the way car manufacturers still insist on hiding the spare wheel under the floor in the boot. You pack the boot to the roof, head off on holiday and end up with a flat tyre. Then it's gear all over the side of the road as you empty it all out to get at the spare.

For that reason alone I will never regret getting the Pajero.

Derek

Brett_Hoskin

I have had that experience mant years ago, Bob. The troop carrier is pretty good for maintenance. The only time I have problems is if I don't have the right tools for the job but for the basic stuff it's OK. But to adjust the alternator belt I have to unbolt and move the Air conditioning compressor as it is mounted directly above the alternator. And because I have installed a second battery that has to come out to remove the AC comp.

To top everything off , this morning I went out to start the troopy , turned the key and nothing. > >Batteries are ok as they were on charge all night. Test the signal wire to the starter. That is OK.

So out with the starter. I had never done it before but tje entire removal only took 15 minutes including the battery disconnect.

Took it to the auto electrician and watched as he pulled it apart. Too much water was the prob and a bit of corrosion had built up on the earthing point. Cleaned it up, new contacts and bearing etc $80.00 seemed a reasonable price.

No problems installing it and didn't knock the skin off my knuckles. The engine works and I am happy.

We are intending to set off on Wednesday.

What will be next!!!!!!!!!!

ahh the best laid plans of mice and men
    the optimist murphy once said if any thing can go wrong it probbably will
    the best advice i can offer is be prepared

adrian

murphy is one bloke we'd all like to kick up the backside. packed the boat for a run to the sunshine coast at mates place . a quick show on how a gps works ends in 5 hour job of finding out why 12 volt plug don't work . > if not bad enough worked past launch time only to find the nav lights wanted the morning off as well ended up not fishing at all > > > > > >
    Anzac

fatman

Hi guys,
    mate, I know what you are talking about, some cars just should not be on the road...
    I bought a fully re-built and reconditioned WB Holden Ute and it has been the biggest nightmare. The rebuilt engine died, so I bought a brand new one, it broke too, fixed that and the gearbox goes bang. Next is the diff, a uni joint and the thrust race (from the new clutch). Then the missus gets stuck at the shopping center cos the ignition barrel has jammed up. The bench seat broke a mount, then the coloum shift keeps locking between gears. The speedo cable is still broke and I won't bore you all with the details of the coloured spagetti that is the electrical wiring.
    I have written in my last will and testament that this car is never to be sold, but to be driven into the ground by my aires till the day it dies and explodes like the one in the movie The Blues Brothers
    FATMAN