PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Camp ovens
Gday Brian. I'm a novice camp oven user, however I'm lead to believe that the Furphy Foundrey in Shepperton Victoria make a very good camp oven. Where to get one I'm not sure, but you will pay considerably more than the imported units. Catchya, John.
We picked ours up at the local army disposals. I have no idea what brand it is or where it is from. I just know that we would not camp with out it. We cut and prepare all our food for it before we go. We do roasts, stew, pizza, damper, lots. And when we are finished it comes in handy as a wash up bowl.
One word of advice when shopping for one though is, make sure the lid has a decent lip on it to keep the coals and ash from your food. If you happen to get one with out the lip, remember to brush the sand/dirt etc off with a bannister brush.
For me you cant beat the spun steel Bedourie Camp Oven. Made in Australia by Southern Metal Spinners in South Australia, very light, just about indestructable and I have found over 25 years that you can cook anything in them.
The vast iron ones are good but are heavy and can break.
If you look back through this Board you will see some pics I posted a while back.
Derek, I'm thinking of getting a camp oven sometime soon. I've known about the bedourie type for some time, but I had the impression that the heavier cast iron ones were better because they distributed the heat better and more evenly.
I know you have had plenty of experience with both , so what's you're opinion on this ??.
I have read some of your posts and written articles, and noticed that you like the bedouries, but I didn't realise that you actually prefer them to the cast iron types.
If you were limited to just one oven, which type would you choose ???.
Now I know I am putting my reputation out on a limb here and people will say that the Furphy Cast Iron Oven is better and for them that may be true because Furphy will make one with your name cast in the lid.
But for me and for value for money and good verstility, remembering that a large Bedourie should cost under $60 as compared to hundreds for the Furphy, I reckon you cant beat a good old Bedourie. Made in Australia by Australians to suit Australia.
I am yet to find anything I cant cook in the Bedourie either and I have tried everything including bread.
I like the idea of the lighter weight, and being able to use the the lid as as pan.
I also have the feeling that I might end up with less ash in the food than with most of the cast iron models I have seen in the shops.They dont seem to have much of a lip or overlap on the lid.
I was leaning toward the Bedourie for these reasons and your faith in it has dispelled any lingering doubts I may have had.
I am sure you won't be disapointed. I know a lot of people say that the heat is more even in a cast iron oven and that possibly may be true but a good trick with the Bedourie is to dig a hole in the ground big enough to put it in to protect it from the wind.
Also turn it around occasionally if there is wind so you get even heat on all sides. More so when cooking cakes, breads, muffins, biscuits and dampers that take a while longer to cook.
I am currently in Kosovo working with the United Nations and I am missing my weekends with the Camp Oven. I even used get out in the backyard and do a bit of cooking sometimes especially when doing an article for Bush N Beach Fishing.
Keep me posted mate I am interested in seeing how you go.
Hope you are keeping well and enjoying the minus-20 degrees...
Good to see you're just a key stroke away. All is going well at BNB Fishing - except we're missing your camping and camp cooking stuff. Perhaps you'll have new recipes from os.
All the best from the BNB team and best wishes with the UN role. Ron Collins.
Many thanks for the good wishes. Not quite minus 20 yet but getting close. Not the sort of weather to be out cooking in a camp oven thats for sure.
My family have been forwarding BNB to me over here and I see that the readers forum has an arrticle about camp cooking so will endeavour to reply to that soon.
I saw a sign just recently that had an arrow and camping on it but with a foot of snow on the ground I doubt anyone will be heading that way here.
As the thaw sets in, and if I can make the time, I will look at trying to suss out the camping here and share it with our readers.
G'day Derek, I'm off to buy myself a Bedourie early next week. I have four weeks leave starting Monday and I intend to get away camping at least a couple of times.
Now that we have had some good rain in Sth East Qld at last I should be able to light a cooking fire, and give the Coleman stove a break while I try out the camp oven.
I managed to get my hands on some "no-knead" bread mix, though it's hard to find, and I'm keen to try baking my own - love that smell of fresh baked bread.
Michael, I haven't decided yet where I 'll buy it from. I live on the deep Southside of Brisbane, and there are a bunch of Camping shops not far away. I will probably check out a few of them to see if they have the genuine article, or cheap imitations, then compare prices and make a decision on the spot.
If you're interested, I'll post what I find here on this site.
Caveman, I have a full month on holidays and I'm betting (and hoping and praying) that it wont rain for four weeks straight.