-
Karumba
G`day fellow members,
Was planning a trip to karumba next barra season. Would like some feedback and advice from anyone who has been up there. Cheers
cHiCo 8)
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: Karumba
G'day Chico
Planning the same trip in May next year myself so would be interested in any feedback you get myself.
Am going to stay at a cabin in the Caravan Park there, have been told they are airconditioned.
So come on people........................tell us all about it.
Derek
-
"Am going to stay at a cabin in the Caravan Park there, have been told they are airconditioned."
Mate i saw a show about Karumba on Creek to Coast i think and they reckon that you have to book abit ahead because it gets real busy around that time of the year. Probly because u can catch barra off the beach with just the flick of a lure.
Anyway i cant wait.
cHiCo
-
Ausfish New Member
we've just come back from the Cape, and had 3days in Karumba. we stayed in the caravan park in town. we didnt have a boat, but u can get good fish off the beach, and the drive is only 4k's .ther are 2 other parks in town.these r on the beach side of town,one is Sunset Caravan Park the name of the other escapes me. While u r up there have a beer in the Sunset Tavern and a feed there as well u wont b disappointed.Anything else just ask johnno.
-
Ausfish New Member
chico try the Walkers ck that comes in upstream from the mouth its a fair hike but the barra fish quite well up to 10 to 30 a day specially as the wet is ending.Or for something different try going down to normanton and put in at the boat ramp there and fish upstream.there is rockbars all the way and all of them produce fish but be very carefull and keep an eye on your sounder as some of the bars are savage on props.Also at karumba up the north all the rivers fish well for grunter and salmon with a few black jewies thrown in. Take a couple of pots as there are plenty of mudcrabs as well.Hope this helps as I live in Mount Surprise on the way to Karumba and we also own a block of land there.Have been fishing the river at Normanton for 18 years it fishes well regardless of what people say.Good luck with your trip have fun.Regards Nilsmaster
-
The bloke who owns te caravan park out near the boatramp is a real A_hole.
I was there during October and this bloke new there was a planned power outage by the electricity supplier but didn't tell anyone at the park.
It was about 40 odd degrees there at the time and most people had to throw out the contents of their fridges.
I asked for a refund on the power charge for the day and he told me to sing for it.
Another fellow askedwhy he hadn't been told about the outage and the van park owner told him there was a flyer put up in the post office in town....several kilomerers away..telling everyone about it.
Although this park is in the best spot I would have to be dragged kicking and screaming to go there again.