Favorite camping possies
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Favorite camping possies

Favorite camping possies

G'day all.
    I'd be keen to hear of everyone's favorite camping places and why they are such a great spot.

Personally, I prefer bush camping with a bunch of mates. This means a full flush is a square-mouthed shovel and 1/2 flush is a tree. Cut your own wood and cook with what you cut using camp ovens and roast up a treat!
    These possies for me, normally involve close proximity to a water course with the odd fish swimming in it.
    Beer is a handy addition, but normally requires a second esky (you can then transfer the ice from the food esky to the beer esky in an emergency )

My couple of fave possies include the Murray river (anywhere you're allowed to cut wood and camp). Rocklands resi in Vic (when it's got water in it!) and lake Wartook near the Grampians in Vic (damned cold though!)
    Haven't done much 'free range' stuff in other states, but stayed in heaps of caravan, national and state parks in NSW.

Awaiting replies!

Cheers, Slates

Re: Favorite camping possies

A spot out on the Moonie River (relos property) is a special place for me. Caught some of my first ever fish there as a pup.
    Haven't been there for some time now as the hunting & fishing just aint what it used to be, actually its woefull in that particular area nowadays. Now scrub for hogs & no water for fish.
    Had a spot near Townsville (private property again) that was great once the northern water dragons were shifted out.

Nuthin better than sitting in the shade of a big tree with a rod in hand, trying to keep out of the smoke that keeps getting in your eyes no matter where you are.
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

G'day Slates

I reckon you have got the right idea there.

I don't know many spots in QLD that are not either National Parks, Forests or private camping areas. Those places where you can get out and do real bush camping are few and far between and when found are closely guarded secrets. The reason being is so that they can be kept that way. Too many people out there seem to be on a destroy mission when it comes to the bush.

I think that one of my favourite spots though would have to be Peach Trees State Forest Park at Jimna, particularly in spring when the local birds are most active (we are talking feathered birds here).

I can live without the beer too.

Hey Fitzy, what was the problem with the water dragons.

Derek

Derek,
    I'm not talking about the foot long variety of water dragons here. I mean the ones with big teeth & bite!

Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Ouch!!!

My fav camping spot is down by corrobree billabong, in the mary river system here in the N.T. Big mozzies Big Crocs and Big fish what could be better!

BUt I like just getting out in the bush is the best regardless of the exact spot for we live in the wonderful land of OZ, and my yellow brick road has many trails to lead me on.

Muz

adrian

airle beach has a few spots but you run the chance of meeting the famous mud geko at night . south east queensland not many places bribe island has some nice spots but you need a boat

adrian

1770 is another good place some places are free like on the beach . you need a 4wd to get to these like on the track from angas waters to deep water nation park take the 3 rd track to the left and follow down to the beach . b y o everything

Has to be rainbow beach beaut place but very over crowded at holiday season time!!

bruce350

below the weir at Wentworth on the Murray is a top spot..close to town , plenty of wood , free , friendly locals ,close to Mildura...heading up there next week for 2-3 weeks..do hope the fish are responsive..got a 20lb cod there last year..cheers bruce

Finnie

When I was younger we used to go on family camping trips on private property to the Darling River near Brewarrina, NSW. Miles from anywhere, home of big Murray Cod, nice Yellowbelly, huge pigs and more roos and emus than you can poke a stick at.

Beautiful country whichever way you look at it.

Finnie

Sandy cape at fraser Island - now thats a wild place

kris

With the missus and kids it would have to be any where on Fraser Island. Plenty of fish and also a bit of touring to keep the tribe happy.

For flat on the ground, sand fly swatting fishing trips I couldn't go past Middle Creek just north of 1770. Excellent fishing, no ammenities and normally no one else except who you travel with. Although since the road in has been upgraded I have noticed more people. Maybe time to find some where else?

Hello All

Has anyone been to Hat Head in New South Wales in recent times. Was down there a while back and that coastline certainly is something. Beaches, Rivers, Headlands, great camping in the National Park........you name it.

Check out Septemeber Bush 'N Beach for a bit about the area.

Derek

(1) EARLANDO'S just near airlie beach is great bar and good saturday night feed and too many islands close by to fish.
    (2) Any island
    (3) family properties no one else for miles dams creeks roos its all good