CHERRY VENTURE

Thread: CHERRY VENTURE

CHERRY VENTURE

Heading Up to The Freshwater Lake Camping Ground Just South of The Cherry Venture Next Weekend.
    Just Wondering if Anyone Knows What The Driving Conditions
    on the Beach Are Like from The Tewantin Barge to The Cherry Venture.
    I Know From Rainbow to Double Island is Unpassable Due to The Recent Big Seas & the Exposed Rocks Near The Town End of Rainbow.
    Any Feedback would be Greatly Appreciated.

P.S. Hope to Get Some Nice Whiting & Bream.
    Cheers Wayne.

Re: CHERRY VENTURE

G'Day Wayne,

we were up that way a couple of weeks ago, just after the rotten weather. It was ok at low tide only, high tide and you'd be up on the dunes. There was about a 3 ft drop down to the main beach area (driving area). we camped about 23 k's up the beach from the third beach entry from Tewantin, but we didn't go up to the Venture.

Hope you have a good weekend.

Tony 8)
    PS there were heaps of blue bottles right along the beach, and the pipi's were everywhere.
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Thanks for the info - Leaving This Friday 23rd
    Plan to Leave The Gold Coast at 1.00 pm.
    Low Tide is 3.30pm So We Should Catch The Low Tide.

Wayne
    P.S Any Fish on The Chew ? or Was The Surf Still to Big.

Wayne,

We towed a 6.25 metre Sportfish up their on Friday night in the dark and returned home Sat lunch time. Beach was as pretty good as I've seen it - especially on the northern end. Sat on 60-80km no probs

Southern end has lost a bit of sand and there were two patches of exposed coffee rock about 3-5ks north of the first cutting onto the beach. Obviously low tide is best.

Even the blow at Double Island was pretty good with a short run up of soft stuff. Not sure how long since you've been up there but I was taken back by what they've done to the Cherry Venture.

They basically collapsed it with some huge backhoes last October - bloody shame really.

As for fishing - there were heaps of chopper tailor in Rainbow Bay itself - shitloads in fact - all within casting distance of the shore. Size could be the issue.

Bugman

Bugman
    Thanks for the feedback.
    Thats Great News the Beach is Good.
    All we Need is Light Winds to keep the blokes fishing &, Sunshine to Keep The Girls Happy.
    Was Last up that way before Christmas & Saw What Was Left of The Cherry Venture,it is a shame.

Cheers Wayne

Bugman, what do mean the blow, they closed that years ago when they put the push bike track in.

condsitinos still good

Mate of mine caused a lot of the problems with the Cherry Venture. He didnt didnt take heed of the signs and climbed up on it and fell through the deck. Had to be airlifted out to hospital.

Derek