Thread: World Championship Camp Cooking

World Championship Camp Cooking

Hey everyone

Thought that this may interest a few people. It is the cover off a book I received from America. It shows some very interesting things you can do in a camp oven.

Derek [smiley=chef.gif] [smiley=chef.gif]

Re: World Championship Camp Cooking

Here's the back with the boys hard at it.

Ausfish Addict

yeh they go for it in a big way over there dereck, you should check out their web sites when it comes to smokers, bloody great machines on dual axel trailers, and if you look at the back pic, like you say, they are not camping but having a comp, and thats what it appears with the yanks, right into comps, but when it comes to the nitty gritty, weellll, still some good stuff though, but i doubt if you would use most of their skills in a fair dinkum camping enviro, what you reckon?
    joe.

Hey Joe, here are some of the recipes from the book:

Stuffed Beef Tenderloin
    Dutch Oven Chicken Fantasy
    Timberline Chicken
    Baked Alaska Salmon with Parmeson
    Stuffed Pepper Steak
    Dutch Oven Pacifica
    Curried Chicken in Rice Piaf
    BBQ Chicken
    Deep Fried Fish Fillets
    Dutch Oven Steak Dinner

And a few of the desserts

Grandma's Apple Strudel
    Fruit Pizza
    Spicey Walnut-Raies Pie
    Raisen Turnovers
    Pineapple Upside _Down Cake (Above pic)
    Dutch Oven Baked Apples
    Caramel Nut Upside_Down Cake

The list goes on mate with one not to be missed -Sweet 'N Easy Beans (Cow boy tucker). Good quality farting material.

You are right about the competitions. They are a big to do over there. Look at the backdrop to the day though. Wherever it was it was a great place.

Derek [smiley=chef.gif] [smiley=chef.gif]

Ausfish Addict

Damn derek you made me salavate all over my screen some of the trophies they give out at these comps are phenomenal as well puts their sporting trophies to shame. When i got into smoking in a bigger way i searched the net high and low, still finding repcipes i like and just not smoked, last count i believe was around 303 out of the 594 i downloaded LOL. can't see me ever using them all, but every now and then i go into the data base.
    Joe.

Where are their beers?

That "dutch oven chicken fantasy" sounds like a title of a "swedish publication" or Canberra educational video!

Bring on the roast and gravy!!

Cheers, Slates

Thought I would bring this old post up. The second photo off the back cover of the book shows how the yanks are big into heat beads and like someone said, competitions are big over there.

Derek

Those pics of the cover look gooood. I have to try some of those. I haven't done too much camp oven (a.k.a "Dutch oven" here) but I have tried a few dishes. One of my favorites is "shredded pork." It's very popular with Mexicans and Puerto Ricans but it is catching on fast with the rest of us. You take a pork shoulder and simmer in seasoned water for three hours (very low heat). After that, you cut it into tennis ball sized chunks and either grill or boil them in oil to make them crispy (the meat is very soft after the simmering). Now, you take two forks and shred the meat into small chunks and strings. You can either throw this into your favorite BBQ sauce and eat it as a sandwich on a bun or season it with salt pepper and other spices and eat it as a wrap (taco) on a tortilla. They are both very good. If you walk the taco path , I would include some grated (cheddar?) cheese (the authentic Mexican recipes use a cheese that may be hard to find over yonder; it's a soft, white cheese that is like Munster. Can't remember the name.), some pan fried peppers (hot ones if you like 'em, green bell peppers if you don't go for spicy) sour cream, refried beans, and some salsa. Yummy!

Yes, there are a bunch of cooking competitions over here. Mostly in the south and west so I haven't been to one (I'm a Midwesterner). Most of these comps are for best BBQ or chile recipes. State fairs have them a lot. I'm not sure if I would really go for that sort of thing (I mainly like to cook for friends and family) but I can see where it may be fun for some folks. A big party atmosphere and all of that.

Yeah, those pics are hard to look at Derek. I'm getting the itch to start cooking outdoors again but I can't. We're in the middle of a deep freeze here. Negative temps! Blech! If it doesn't warm up soon, I'm going to crack! .....

I WANT TO FISH AND CAMP, DARN IT!!! >.......

E.C. -- Cook up something good in my place will ya? I'll live vicariously through you guys 'til Spring.
    "When we remember we are all mad, the mysteries disappear and life stands explained.-- Mark Twain"