-
bunjalung national park
Has anyone camped on the beach / dunes , between black rocks and woody head. Was also wondering if there are many tracks that lead from the beach to the dunes and beyond ? The reason being, the parks officer told me on the phone the other day that you couldn't camp within 2 k of a track !!
Thanks in advance Craig
-
Re: bunjalung national park.
g'day mate,
I was there about 10mths ago and as far as I could tell there were no tracks leading off the beach. The northern most campground is just behind the dunes but when I was there it was all burnt out and pretty crappy. I'd also be worried about gear getting knocked off there.
Your better off staying at the woody head camp ground which has full ameneties, beutiful spot, and 2 mins back to surf beach or down to clarence river.
not sure if you are aware but you have to purchase a national parks permit on top of your camp ground fee. (plus a fishing permit inNSW)
-
Re: bunjalung national park
Thanks for the reply Andrew. Your probably right , the camp grounds sound the better option.
-
Re: bunjalung national park
Craig,
Reckon your better off at Woody head as well. But there is a track up from the beach at black rock. Trouble is the bottom end of the gravel ramp up from the beach gets washed out pretty regularly. You get up to the camp area behind the dunes (called Jerusalem Creek camp area I think) and you can then drive up along a gravel track that runs north behind the dunes and check out the old huts dotted along there. They were lookout huts during WWII I was told. You can get to the J Crk camp area from the highway, turnoff just south of Evans Head turnoff with Bunjalung Park signs. But if you get there and decide you want to drive down the beach to Woody, you are running the risk that the ramp is washed out, and you have to head back out to the Highway I think.
But Woody is the go I reckon; day trip up to J Crk if you're interested.
Jeff