-
should I keep the 950w Generator xmas present?
got a 950w 4 stroke generator from the in-laws for christmas. Just wondering if I should keep it? I have never used or really contemplated using a generator (that much) for camping. I have gas fridge, lights, etc.
It's difficult to imagine what you'd use one for if you've never been camping with one. Friends have had them, but use them to run lights usually and a few home appliances.
I'm wondering whether to return and get money back or keep it and see if I'll find it handy on next trip. Now that I've got 2 kids under 3 and next year we have plenty of camping in mind (not all national parks) - I'm starting to think a genie might be worth keeping in the ute - battery charging, etc.
Anyone use there;s for anything or have any comments that might help me make decision.
-
Re: should I keep the 950w Generator xmas present?
Cooky - If my in laws gave me a 4 stroke gennie I would definitely be keeping it. It would come in handy for charging battery banks for fridge and camp lights (small fluros that don't break mantles!!), and for the boat battery (sounder, nav lights, spottie). I am looking at setting up a solar panel system, but if a gennie present popped up it would save me a bit of work.
Like you I have the gas light and cooking set up. After using the gas set up a bit and travelling with it, I am leaning toward the electric options. I get tired of mantles needing replacement every day, but the added weight of a battery bank may sway your decision.
My 2 cents worth.
Ed.
-
Keep it. I've got both solar panels and gen set and there is always a time you will need one when camping.
-
thanks for the feedback guys - apparently I can take it back and for another $200 upgrade to a bigger model. Not sure if this is worth the extra $$$ and weight that a bigger model will bring. My father in-law (one who bought me this one) has just purchased 2 bigger ones on sale and has another larger (I think 2 or 3 kva). I could always use his if I need more power.
Do you think 950w is useable? I know it will power lights, fan, and a battery charger - but just after thoughts from people that know more than me (or use them)
-
-
Ausfish Premium Member
cash it in
and use the in laws when you need to use one
scotty
-
Ausfish Addict
Cooky keep it, with kids and the possibility of 5 days without power due to a cyclone it would come in handy. The next size up may? run the house freezer and its couple of hundred dollars of food and still have enough left for a couple of lights and the TV
This is the reason I am going to buy one soon. In my wildest dreams I believe the powers that be will have the organisation or will to look after us - if shit happens.
Then there is always camping but a bit useless if you have gas gear.
-
As FNQ says go up a size and keep it at home for power loss situations. I reckon a real blow like a cyclone will really test the power authorities who struggle after a normal afternoon thunderstorm.
-
Guday Cooky,
The best advice about what to do, is to keep the genie. Even if you hate it, it's too big, too small, too this or too that, keep it. It was given obviously cos the in-laws think a lot of you. After all, you did marry their beloved daughter. If it's a bit too small, ask the inlaws if they would mind if you could swap it for a larger size. Whatever you do, DONT get your (their) money back and buy something else unless you talk it over with them first. Even better if you can steer the conversation to them so they think of swapping it themselves. I would certainly keep it. It will be the very thing you will need one day in an emergency or when you go camping and everything goes wrong. Instant light at night is a great blessing.
Also for Red-nut, To keep your gas mantles from disintergrating when you travel or simply store the light for the day, spray the manle with womens hair spray. Don't hold the spray too close to the mantle or you will blow it away. The spray glues the delicate stuff together and makes a huge difference to the longevity of the mantle. When you relight it for the night, the hair spray burns off and you're back in business. Buy the cheapest spray you can find that holds the hair style as set.
Eagle
-
once again - thanks. While my parents in-law did buy it for me, my wife also put money in (my money too ). I'm always of the opinion that I much prefer presents I don't REALLY want to buy myself (otherwise I'd just go out and get it). So for that reason I have decided to keep it.
The theory goes that it is light and 4 cylinder (it could be useful at home in emergency or camping), but I won't go up the next size. My father-inlaw has just managed to get 2 x 1800watt generators for cheap (store returns - thought something was wrong with them, but one was missing float, etc from carbie) and other a simple connection. So he now has these two + a Muchollic (spelling?? - US made) 3+ kva generator he used when he was a builder.
I guess that gives me some options. He's said I can borrow them anytime I want. So my would I need the 950w?? because I think that it would be insulting to return it and then ask to use his everytime I need a genie. This way I keep mine and it could be useful, if I need a bigger one, I just use his and everyone happy.
-
Hi Cooky,
I have 850W Gen Set I use for camping.
Basically I have an Engel and a Fluro Versa Light I run off my Deep Cycle.
I run the Gen Set in the morning when I get up and leave it running whilst I fish, normally about 6 hours running time. During this time I put the Engel on to 240V and plug in my 12V Charger to charge my Deep Cylce. When I come back in the afternoon the fridge may have been off for maybe 2 hours, no problem.
I fire the Genset back up for another hour or two until tea time. Then plug everything back to deep cycle, therefore no noise to annoy others at night time. If you place the Genset too far from camp with a long lead you will get a voltage drop and this does cause problems on some fridges.
Al
-
thanks for that Al. That is similar to what I'm planning. Have been thinking about using Deep cycle running fridge and lights (when I get a fridge that is) and doing similar with the charging. The only thing I was thinking of doing (possible??) was running the battery using battery charger while the battery is connected to fridge. Thought this would be similar to alternator charging battery in car whilst it is being used. This way the fridge wouldn't have to be switched off.
My other thought was to do similar, but run an inverter off a battery and use generator to charge battery. This way you could have appliances always ready to use running from Inverter and battery and keep topping up battery power with generator when it's appropriate (noise, etc).
I would also have a set-up able to use for short trips to national parks, etc.
I guess I could always set-up a dual battery rig in my 4x4 too.
-
On mine it has 240V and 12V charging, but, you can only use one or the other, not both
Al
-
Up size,
Use mine when the power goes out not just camping.
Steven
-
i have 2 genies! first one i bought was 2300watts, got this big as there is always a crowd that comes camping and this is plenty big enough for that and also good for black outs at home! only prob is it is loud! so i bought one of those gmc (bunnings) genies! 850watt heaps quieter and smaller and lighter!and bloody cheap ($98) but you do get what ya pay for! the power is up and down not always constand so you cant run anything that is electricly sensitive! i am keeping both~! have used the big one in many a black out! powers the tv,video,lights,frypan! fantastic!