washing cooking gear in saltwater.

Thread: washing cooking gear in saltwater.

washing cooking gear in saltwater.

whats the best way to wash the pots and plates after a meal, where you have to conserve your fresh water. does normal dishwashing liquid -say "sunlight dishwashing liquid"- work in heated up salt water?

may your camp site be mozzie and midgie free'
    damon

Re: washing cooking gear in saltwater.

Disposable plates, knives n forks..Quick dip in the briney where frypan is concerned and a good wipup with paper towelling gets the oils n greese off nicely so long as the frypan is one of the non stick ones(and dipped whilst still hot)..
    Pots?? dont know how they would fair specially if left go cold ey..
    I cook offshore when out fishing and way i clean me frypan up ey...
    Cups??, use the fresh water for them as couldnt bare the salt taste in me cup o coffee..

when i was a kid i knew an old fella that lived in a beachside shack, he did all hi washing in the saltwater. Grab a handfull of sand as well as saltwater & use it instead of detergent. being abrasive it removes anything stuck to the pot,pan,bowl, whatever, rinse then wipe dry... works a treat..

Have to disagree with you there Dr. Worst thing you can do is mix sand and grease. You'll be crunching on sand for the rest of the trip.

Damo, I don't reckon you'll get any suds in saltwater, but it might still work. Try it before you go. You could conserve freshwater by using a small bowl for washing up and a sponge. Otherwise Volvo's suggestion - lots of disposables and a big garbage bag.

"The underlying spirit of angling is that the skill of the angler is pitted against the instinct and strength of the fish and the latter is entitled to an even chance for it's life."
    (Quotation from the rules of the Tuna Club Avalon, Santa Catalina, U.S.A.)

Apathy is the enemy

Quote Originally Posted by Jeremy
    Have to disagree with you there Dr. Worst thing you can do is mix sand and grease. You'll be crunching on sand for the rest of the trip.

Damo, I don't reckon you'll get any suds in saltwater, but it might still work. Try it before you go. You could conserve freshwater by using a small bowl for washing up and a sponge. Otherwise Volvo's suggestion - lots of disposables and a big garbage bag.

''jeez, you must be a slack washer upper Jeremy lol..
    a big handful of sand & a bit of elbow grease, works pretty well..you still have to dry it,usually on your mates clean t-shirt..;>

We always wash in salt water when camping and then use a small amount of fresh to rinse in, we just use normal wash up liquid. We have never had any problems.

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

Shampoo lathers up very well in salt water. You can use it for the washing up and you can use to wash yourself with in the sea water. Then just sponge down in the fresh. Ahhhhh........Lovely!!!

Add me to the Jeremy camp guys. I've tried the water and sand trick when canoeing a fresh water river. It works on your plates but on a frying pan with a good coating of fat from snags or whatever - bad news. As he said, you eat crunchy food for the rest of the trip...

Have a safe new year and a good 2006

Paper plates laid over plastic, dispose of the paper leaving a clean plastic plate for the next meal.

Pans? Don't use 'em. Plan your menu so that you don't need to wash anything. An aluminium hot plate on the stove and barbie everything. Being ally it doesn't rust.

Canned vegies, open the tins and stand 'em on the hotplate. Tinned spuds sliced and barbied are good. The only pan I use is the crab pan There is practically nothing that can't be cooked on a hot plate and my deckie can even manage bacon, eggs, mushroom and sausage for 6 without having a dirty pot Stick a fish on it though and it's surprisng just how much sand she manages to mix with it!

I take my very expensive cookware seriously at home and don't use detergent, i use boiling wate, salt and vinegar to cut through the grease. When camping I haven't tried it but figure the salt is in the water so try using boiling salt water and cleaning vinegar.

Never had a problem with using sand and saltwater. Boiling water (salt or fresh) gets oil/grease off anything. These days though I plan meals and cooking so as not to require using pots/pans etc.

I am always that bloody hungry after a day in the boat i let the old tongue to the washing mate, of course best idea to let the frypan cool down though!!
    JN

I just use sand and salt water. Environmentally friendly.

Dont use frypans at all wen camping. We take those big stainless steel bowls you can buy in the supermarket. They are multi purpose, you can cook in them, wash in them, catch rainwater in them, smoke fish in them and they are easy to clean up with a bit of sand and salt water.

But dont do your washing up at the waters edge up north. Those crocs seem to be attracted by the stainless steel pots too.

Quote Originally Posted by JEWIENEWIE
    I am always that bloody hungry after a day in the boat i let the old tongue to the washing mate, of course best idea to let the frypan cool down though!!
    JN

Thats why yer take yer dog along on the fishing trip mate, but best to "do the dishes" while everyone else is outta camp

I alwasy use a bit of white vinegar after cooking (but still on the heat) to get rid of the grease then march off to the salt water to rinse off. Works a treat.