Thread: She comes home after 5 years

westie

She comes home after 5 years

Would you believe it, after all our looking and inspecting, all over the place for a camper so we can return to Double Island for Holidays.

As we use to do upto 5 years ago on a regular basis, having some of the best Holidays we all can remember.

We had just about given up on getting something that didn't need heaps of $ spent on it, when I thought that maybe I should ring the person I sold it to.
    I told him that if he ever wanted to sell it to contact me. So I did just that but he was not home so I left a message on the machine and said we are looking and if he wanted to sell it back to give me a call. Well 5 day later I get the call, he was away in the van and just go back, while they were away they thought it may be time to upgrade, so the rest is, we arranged a inspection the next day in Bris and we now have it back again.
    My 16 year old daughter was not told we were going to look at our old van, but it was just another one we found, so when we turned up I had clued the owner to act as though we had never met and my daughter when she got out of the car, she said to her mum Oh I just got a strange feeling, she walked into the van and said this is the one I love it, I don't know why but it has the same smell and it feels right, then she looked around some more and found some things that we had done and said to her mum this is just like our old van and then we told her and she just about cried, along with her tough as nails dad. yes i know it is hard to believe, daughter can do that to there Dads.

To see her eyes light up, as a parent it felt so good to be giving her back something from her past, with so many great times and memories.

The day we sold it she was so sad as we were and has not stopped talking about how good it was , her first trip in the van was at 12 months and we owned it for 10 years ( Got it when she was 6mth old ) till we sold it.
    After 5 years it is back, my daughter said in no uncertain terms we are NEVER selling this van again as she wants it handed down to her. >

Strange how she just felt the vibes or something else though, it was like meeting an old friend after being apart, and I feel BLOODY GREAT about being able to give her that feeling again.

Now Daddy has the job of keeping it in good condition for the next ........................so many years. Parenting who wants it.... ME

Re: She comes home after 5 years

Ahhh well done Westie...you know how daughters can pull the heart strings...great story...may you have many more happy days in YOUR van

rhys
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

westie

Thanks mate i am sure there is plenty of good times to be had

yep nice work

Lovely read Westie............Teenagers can be pretty hard going at times but when I read something like this, it makes it all worth while.

Tact is the ability to describe others as they see themselves

Ah to step back in time.... really good story, I am a sook for a sentimental thing like that...
    Reminds me of when my Brother died down in Katoomba in a MVA, I was out driving and I went past a flat that me and my Brother shared when he came back to N.Z for a holliday on his last visit home alive, the link to that place was irresistable, I went in, knocked on the door and told the young bloke this was the last place I saw my Brother alive and that we had many a good time knocking back a few and I asked him If I could look through for memorys sake... it made me feel a lot better to be honest, easier to remember the things I wanted to remember.
    My point is, sometimes material things or places can tie people together more than they realise untill its to late, it is great that you as a whole family can cherish those times held 5 years before to the degree that it meant to you's.
    Congratulations on the return of part of the family...
    Cheers Lloyd
    P.s
    I hope I havent put a downer on this thread, just made me want to tell a story that I hadnt even told my wife in the 22 years since the event...

It so true....... its the small things like smell, sounds that can make your brain kick into gear and rember.......Great story hope to see you up there real soon enjoying it (im up there next week)

DNO40

Quote Originally Posted by Westie CALOUNDRA
    then we told her and she just about cried, along with her tough as nails dad. #yes i know it is hard to believe, daughter can do that to there Dads.
    My daughter does it to me all the time........I love it !

DNO

mate, just have had our first baby, she is now 12 weels old and has already been on several fishing, camping trips. Would have laughed at you 3 months ago but now, had a lump in my throat just reading it.
    JN

westie

Bloody great.... I feel better now it has sparked up some memories back for others in differant ways, and to the Dads out there with the daughters the moment you look in there eyes and they lock on to you with there eyes, YOU ARE A GONER they know they have you under there spell and know from that day how to push all the right buttons.

Sons are mates
    Daughters are Treasures

DNO40

Sons are mates daughters are sneaky !

DNO

westie

Quote Originally Posted by CQHORNET
    Sons are mates daughters are sneaky !

DNO
    They might be but there CUTE with it

DNO40

So true

DNO

westie

Quote Originally Posted by toymod
    It so true....... its the small things like smell, sounds that can make your brain kick into gear and rember.......Great story hope to see you up there real soon enjoying it (im up there next week)
    Not sure about next week but a good chance for the following Fri -Sun 17th -19th low ater at around 5pm perfect for a after school dash.

Figjamm

Quote Originally Posted by Westie CALOUNDRA
    We had #just about given up on getting something that didn't need heaps of $ spent on it, when I thought that maybe I should ring the person I sold it to.
    I told him that if he ever wanted to sell it to contact me. So I did just that but he was not home so I left a message on the machine and said we are looking and if he wanted to sell it back to give me a call. Well 5 day later I get the call, he was away in the van and just go back, while they were away they thought it may be time to upgrade, so the rest is, we arranged a inspection the next day in Bris and we now have it back again.
    Sometimes things just fall into place perfectly

Nice story Westie