Thread: dome tents

Figjamm

Re: dome tents

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin
    Mate, It's all up to the kind of camping that you're doing and the weather you're likely to encounter.
    Ain't that the truth #

That said, Colac Girl has a cheapo that has remained standing
    <adds>.... on all occasions bar one, but then 100kms+ winds would test the ability of many tents. (Yes kev, I know the Vangos didn't budge!)

Ours is an OzTrail 4 man dome with a small porch, cost $99 two years ago. It has and is still serving us well with no leaks during normal rain and wind.

During the storm with 100km+ winds one of the little elasticised thingies that hook onto a tent peg broke causing uneven distribution of wind against the tent, this in turn caused a pole to split, slip out of the ferrule and tear through the fly.... end result, water in the tent.
    We have a swag, so all our bedding was dry #

We duct taped the pole, threw a small tarp over the tent and stayed dry the rest of that trip. We've repaired the pole and fly and it still served us well through our other camping trips during 2005

Because there were many storms predicted this last x-mas/new year period, and knowing what we had been through the previous x-mas/new year, we didn't want to tempt fate so invested in a tarp to put our tent under #

Note: I do like the look of the domes that offer tripe cross pole structure for extra strength and stability.... like the Seascape Dome Tent #from Sportiva.
    http://www.sherryscamping.com.au/category36_1.htm

but have only looked at them online, so don't know what quality they are. One of Kingtin's older Vangos is also of this design.

but then again, they get to the camp before us and always get the shelter of our resident Mozzie Bush.
    You are welcome to set your tent next to the Mozzie Bush if you wish.... we only set ourselves at the opposite end of camp so you don't have to listen to Ross snore all night.... and Ross doesn't have to listen to you whinge about his snoring all day #

Just as it is in boating, so it is in camping, you get what you pay for and if you're risking spoiling a holiday it pays to spend a few more bob and be prepared for the worst. Trouble is, I seem to attract the worst
    Worst weather? Yes, I'll second that!!

I have a Sportiva headland and love it it's big enough for my wife and I and 2 young boys, takes 20 mins to put up on your own and you have 2 room's both have a floor for around $350.00 it was a great buy. can zip down the fly in a strom and we all stayed dry....

Cheers Chris

may you get a bend in your rod and your esky open often

Elysium, that is just what i have been searching for, the only problem i can see is that the canvas maybe to heavy for the original poles as canvas will be alot heavier than the original covering. Is it possible to replace previous poles with stronger ones to sove this problem??
    JN

I use a Sportiva Odeyysey dome tent, its the six man version not the eight that was on the sherrys web site. Its been great for us, the missus loves it because its a full height and she can stand up in it. Heaps of room for 4 people and gear.
    We also use a tarp and pole setup for extra shade/shelter and for a "verandah" to sit under during the day. Quality seems very good without the extra cost/weight of a canvas tent.
    If you didnt need a home for extended trips ie 3-4 weeks than something like this would probably fit the bill.

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

We have a 6 man tent we bought at Big W three years ago for $140 app. We use the lightweight fly that comes with it but have never used a tarp. We have been through heavy rain and never leaked a drop.

We won't get the life out of it that you will out of expensive tents but it was our first tent and we didn;t want to spend a lot of money in case we decided it wasn't right for us or we really didn't like camping.

But we are very happy with it and would purchase another tent from there or kmart when we need to replace. It's light, its easy to carry and I can put it up myself in about 15 minutes.

Cheers Tracey
    aka mrs skippa

Quote Originally Posted by ColacGirl
    [quote author=kingtin link=1138752596/0#4 date=1138755930]
    but then again, they get to the camp before us and always get the shelter of our resident Mozzie Bush.
    You are welcome to set your tent next to the Mozzie Bush if you wish.... we only set ourselves at the opposite end of camp so you don't have to listen to Ross snore all night.... and Ross doesn't have to listen to you whinge about his snoring all day #
    No thanks. You know how the deckie attracts mozzies and don't worry about snoring, I/m always too pissed to hear him anyway

Tears will get you sympathy. Sweat will get you results.

I reckon go for simplicity, simple strait forward designs without countless fancy awnings and such that add more time and effort than they a worth. Also consider seperate tents for adults and kids, in my case we use a 6 man dome tent for us a 5 man for kids and a dome style gazebo for meals, it may sound like a lot but it all go's up in about ten minutes and allows us to to only take the tent that is required if for example just me and the missus are going camping. Buy cheap first up to get an idea on what size/type you prefer then upgrade when you have a better idea.

I have a Sportiva 3 room tent called a 'Bungalow', with a cheapie pergola for shade and outdoor living. On my first night at Noosa in December there were three thunderstorms and over 200mm (8 inches) of rain in about 6 hours. The pergola needed a bit of reinforcing but the tent was as dry as a bone. Since I usually camp by myself (but sometimes have overnight visitors on weekends) I have to be able to set up and dismantle the camp by myself. The tent is very easy to erect and dismantle and packs away to a relatively small and light package, about the size of a golf buggy. The pergola is awkward to put up on your own - you need an extra pair of hands to raise it up while you put the legs into place and peg it down. There's always another camper willing to help so that's not a problem. Here's a pic of my setup at Noosa a couple of weeks ago. Very comfortable
    Cheers Freeeedom

Here's the reason you choose your camp site VERY carefully. This is the exact spot I camped in December. While I was there about a week ago I heard a 'crack' at about 10pm and another followed by a lot of rustling about 10 minutes later. The reason why was obvious in the morning
    Cheers Freeeedom

It's good that you made that point Freeeedom. There have been countless deaths and injuries due to people camping under trees. Branches falling, lightening strikes, all a downside. Another downside is that rain continues to drip onto your tent, long after it's stopped raining and bird crap (lime) can damage the tent material.

It doesn't matter what temperature the room is; it's always room-temperature.

I've seen a canvas dome type tent at the camping 4X4 show a few years back. I think it may have been sherry's that were importing them from Sth Africa. Nice idea but not very cheap.

I've had a bit to do in this area working for a specialty outdoors store. Mate, you get what you pay for. In my view, a quality lightweight dome has it hands down over canvas any day. Canvas has its place............say a lond term standing camp, but for the weekend or over Easter or Christmas and especially if you intend to go ashore and camp after a days exploring new fishing spots on a boat then you can't go past a light weight dome. Make sure the poles that come with it are shock corded aluminum as the fiber ones tend to split. Also make sure the seames are sealed and the floor is a waterproof bucket style.

Hopes this helps,
    "This space is saved for my next special catch"
    "Rainy" Haines Hunter 540C Yamaha 130 HPDI
    28lb King Salmon
    18lb Steelhead (Rainbow) Trout
    12lb Brown Trout
    6.5lb Brook Trout
    12lb Murry Cod
    6'+ Bronze Whaler Shark

Nothing like an easy erection

I am looking at getting a black wolf molokai tent for use out of the boat when camping around the islands