Thread: Heading North

Heading North

All setup (I hope) for a trip from brisbane to north(where ever that may lead me).
    I was hoping you fellow campers/travelors maybe able to help me with some questions...

Firstly, I will be in a poptop campervan with a 4.25 edgetracker tourno.

1st) pretty broad, but where wouldnt u NOT miss out on to go for a fishing session when up north qld!?? eg, u been there or would luv too...

2nd) where do the salt water crocs start to be a concern? Being a bassboat style, and seein the crocs jump full body length out of the water in darwin, my friends have got me curious/thinking.

3rd) problem ramps/area's up north known for break-in etc.

If u see me about, Please say g'day......

Thanks RODNEY

PS, heading off mid july, goto see who wins the world cup (soccer)

Ausfish Platinum Member jimbamb's Avatar

Re: Heading North

Good onya rod!!
    Id be callin into Monduran,great campgrounds and fishin Then on to Awoonga Same again good campground and fishin then on to Teemburra no camping but good fishing then on to Perer Faust.Everything there then on to Tinnaroo. Great camping and fishing.. And NO Crocks.
    I think you need to watch for crocks from Rocky on..
    There are lots of other places on salt i.ll let others tell you about them

Nice rig/s mate.

Tinaroo is looking great at the moment. If your coming up to the Cairns/Tablelands area you'd be mad not to give it a go. Just... bring the nice cloudless weather would ya? . Should clear up soon...

Theo
    TT

Thanks for the reply's Jim/Theo..
    Jim, appreciate the info, only had awoonga and tinnaroo on me map till now. I thought around Rocky the crocs would be a concern too. Cheers.

Theo, I'll do me best on the weather.

any saltwater places folks? appreciate all comments.

Thanks Rodney

GDAY ROD. TRY SEAFORTH ABOUT 35KLMS NORTH OF MACKAY GOOD CAMPING GROUND IN THE MIDDLE OF TOWN WALKING DISTANCE TO TWO SHOPS ONLY A COUPLE OF KLMS TO BOAT RAMP. PLENTY OF CREEK FISHING AS WELL AS REAL CLOSE ISLANDS AND REEFS. HOPE TO SEE YOU UP HERE REGARDS BRAD.

Seaforth is indeed a top spot - went up there last year for a few weeks and it was great. Good camping ground right near the beach and the boat ramp at victor creek is excellent. Bowls club does a nice cold beer and food on Fri/Sat nights. There are lots of Crocs up there but you hardly ever see one and there are lots tinnies smaller than yours on the water. Just be sensible and you'll be fine - this link has sensible suggestions

http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/publicatio...oc_country.pdf

To answer your specific question crocs can start to be found around Gladstone but become more common the further north you go.

Have a great trip....

I've been doing OK around Townsville lately. Interesting you mention the crocs, haven't seen all that many up here in the past 10 years and in the last 2 weeks I've seen 3 in 2 days all over 4m. Cold weather/water gets them up sunning themselves and they're a little bit reluctant to get back in, one of them just sat there on the bank and looked at us as we went past him. Got a heap of good photos too. Bohle river ramp at Townsville (Bluewater) can be a bit of a worry at times for break-ins. Dingo beach, just North of Airlie is also a good camp spot.

Excellent, thanks for the tips guys, appreciate it.

Brad/Snakecatcher, Added Seaforth to me places to visit. Sounds great.

Borisdog, thanks for the heads up on the ramps, and the crocs.

Anybody camped/fished Weipa area?

Rod

Rod I'm in Wiepa at the moment, I don't think you should drive up here in your van, the road is pretty good at the moment as it has only been opened since the start of the month and hasn't had much truck traffic, but it won't stay that way for long. It's a bit rough between Coen and Musgrave. You can camp at the Weipa camping grounds, it's pretty good, also good camping North of Wiepa at Marpoon but this is 4x4 country only. You also need a permit to camp available from Laurie the ranger at Marpoon or the Wiepa camping grounds.

Rod just keep in mind if you want to come up here that the bitumen finishes at Lakeland, then you have over 600 klm of dirt road, some of it very corregated. In a 4x4 it's about 8 to 10 hrs from Lakeland to Wiepa.

Yeah the road to Weipa isnt the best at the moment I have heard. The amount of rain they've had has just torn the road apart says our friends at Cooktown. And if you do go to Weipa or where-ever, its essential that you sit down to a steak at the Roadhouse at Lakeland Downs, . Seriously, meals dont get much better.

Cooktowns pretty good at the moment too Rod... might be worth a go . If your looking for a bit of river fishing (salt or fresh) around this neck of the woods (Mount Carbine onwards), you can try the Annan close to Cooktown, or maybe even the Palmer perhaps. Choices are endless...

Getting back to Tinaroo spent the day out there today for a picnic at Tinaburra end, and the weather today finally cleared up - lets just hope it stays that way. Water traffic was fairly low, but weirdly enough as the afternoon progressed, the winds dropped and the clouds blew off and on came the sunshine!. So if this is a sign to come it looks good... and around the dam looks terrific at the moment, always does when its full.

Theo
    TT

Hi Rod,
    We live in Yeppoon and cruize down to Awonga whenever we can get away. I can absolutely recomend Awonga Dam for some barra, it's an awsome spot. Great camping ground and its nice and clean. Yes, the crocs start at the Caliope River in Gladstone and the surounding creeks and estuarys. Rockhampton is chockers full of 'em in the Fitzroy River and also in Coorooman Ck. Anywhere north of Gladstone/Rockie, make sure you keep your arms and feet in the boat. If I were able, I wouldn't pass a croc unless I deaded it. I hate the stinking things and they are definitely not needed in Australia.
    Stanage Bay is a glorious place for fishing and crabs. Its only 100 k East of the highway and the turnoff is about 80K (?) past Rockie. The only problem in getting there is the road. (What road?) It can take two hours or more to drive out from the Bruce Highway. You can email the store there and get the latest info and update on the road and fishing. Do a search for Stanage Bay on the www.
    A great spot to score some spotties and doggies is at Yeppoon. Go to Iron Pot Island which is almost within a stones throw off Kemp Beach. You can launch at Roslyn Bay, fabulous ramps and very good security, and the island is only 5 to 10 minutes south. To get the mackerel, you MUST be at the island as the sun is just comming over the horizon. The favored spot is on the West side of the island. Use pillies for bait.
    Eungla is also a great spot to fish in the dam there and the views are fabulous. There are also platapus to be seen in the creek, great for kids. Dont bother going to the Fairburn Dam/Lake Maraboon. Lots of red claw there but no fish and you need to sit on your claw traps with a shottie. The place is horrific with poachers. The Callide Dam is also a great spot for barra and also red claws. The dam is just East of Biloela. Hope you enjoy your trip.
    Eagle

Ausfish Platinum Member mylestom's Avatar

First port of call is definitely Monduran dam both Barra and Bass no crocs. Great camping and a great lake to fish. Next stop on the impoundment trial is Awoonga. Great barra and facilities are improving.
    Kinchant is full of water at Mackay and is the caravan park came out of the ark. Would not recommend.
    Teemburra and Eungella at Mackay don't really have sufficient water at this time.
    Peter Faust is great with lots of big, big fish in not as much water as Awoonga.
    At Faust you have Camp Kanga. But better facilities at Proserpine Caravan park in town.
    Then on Tinaroo for a great experience.
    Then you have the salt water but will leave that for someone else to comment further on. If you don't catch a fish with all the help then might have to look a bit inwards.
    Good fishing
    Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

Rolcar52, thanks for the heads up, I rechecked my maps and relized I had mistaken the road to be sealed most of the way, oh well.

Thanks Theo, Looking into Cooktown now. (NOTED : Roadhouse at Lakeland Downs)

Thanks Eagle for the spotties spot, added alot of your recomendations to my list.

Cheers Trev, I'll skip on past Kinchant, and head to Peter Faust.

Getting itchy feet... Cant wait.
    Thanks for all the input Fella's.

I'd be having a try around Hinchinbrook Island as well. Cheers