Thread: The Perfect Potato Chip

chanquetas

The Perfect Potato Chip

I reckon Im a really good cook, but for the life of me I cannot cook good chips.

Somebody please rescue me and tell me the secret! I actually tried one of the internet recipes last week and it was woeful.
    How can I do fish and chips when the chips let me down?

Jake

Re: The Perfect Potato Chip

This is a fantastic topic. I too have tried for many a year looking to get that crunchy, munchy, yummy chip thing happening.

I recently had the misfortune to let a Kiwi cook the chips to go with my fresh Spottie mackerel. He placed them in a an oven ( bloody hot one ), and basted them for 40 minutes. Didn't turn out too bad, but !

I used to run a take away shop in Brisvegas, and used McCains pre cut chips, and basically cooked them in a bloody hot oil. They were crunchy, but not for long.

Let's hear the responses.

Twice cooked chips is the secret. Peel your potatoes (big dirt covered ones - not the pink skinned types) and cut into nice big chips. Wash in cold water and leave in water until ready to cook. Drain and dry the chips in a teatowel. Heat the oil to a moderate heat (about 150C) and cook the chips until just tender. At this stage the chips will have no colour on them at all. Remove the chips from the oil and spread out on a tray - allow them to cool completely. Meanwhile heat the oil to maximum temp (about 200C). Place the chips back into the oil (they should bubble very vigorously when they hit the oil this time) and cook until golden and crunchy. Drain, salt and serve - fantastic!
    Cheers Freeeedom

LOL, took the words right out of my mouth Freeee. Only thing to add is old potatoes work better than new.

Now i know i carnt cook fish.(see batter recipies in other post) But chips, mate try this.
    Cut spuds into wedges, leave the skin on. Put in boiling water 4 about 2minutes, drain excess water off then put in real hot oil until golden brown. Dont overcrowd though.......SENSATIONAL........
    DAVO.......

NeilD

The double fry method is the most consistant method. With domestic deep fryers I have found it is best to do the first blanch in oil at about 180 -190 and then turn them down as most cannot hold the heat like a commercial fryer. If the temp drops below about 120 they absorb a lot more oil.

Another variation is to blanch in boiling water until tender then drain, dry and when ready deep fry at 190 until looking right. This is a much lower oil content method and still comes out OK

Freeeeedom, how's your cholesterol level

There's no doubt that double cooking is the way to go for "crunchiness" but I have converted to very hot oven on baking paper to cut down the oil absorbtion.

I also agree on the double cooking. Another thing i also do between cooking is lay the chips out and lightly squash them with a fork untill they are jagged but still as one piece, then refry. most awesomely crispy chips i've had.

[quote author=fish2eat link=1140250790/0#6 date=1140388913]Freeeeedom, how's your cholesterol level

No problems - total cholesterol 5 (HDL 3 LDL 2) I've got pills that keep it down. That means I can eat anything I like. Wooohoooo!!!!

(not really - but it's nice to know that the pills work. They better - they cost enough)

Cheers Freeeedom

Old fashioned beef dripping makes delicious chippies. Off the shopping list for most of us now because of high cholesterol.

What ever way you do them; personally I do mine same as baitchuka but with micro wave, make sure you buy spuds that are meant to be fried. If you buy the wrong spuds they will end up black soggy turds.

Check the info at the super market and buy the ones that have the deep fry logo.

Fool proof method:
    Golden delight spuds;
    wash dirt off, rubb with pot scourer if necissary.
    cook spuds whole in micro wave till just cooked.
    cut into wedges of varying size and thickness, this will give some nice thick ones and some thin crunchy ones as well.
    deep fry in good oil.

to test if oil is hot enough, dip a wooden spoon in the oil, if it bubbles it is hot enough.

Cook till golden brown and tip out into a bowl linned with kitchen paper.

enjoy.

you have nearly all got it right,, however try this and i guarentee smiles all round,,,

pontiac potatoes,,,,,,cut into what ever size,, thin, thick,wedge,(or even use a potatoe peeler and slice paper thin slices to cook your own crisps) skin on or off,,doesn't matter

once cut, add to pot of boiling water and cook for 2-3 mins (depending on thickness,, your trying to achieve a soft but not cooked texture of potatoe that will still hold shape, not mush)

hot oil, 180-200c minimum, and add chips a scoop at a time, dont overcrowd,

now you control how crispy or light you want the chips, for extra crisp, slightly flatten before adding to oil

pontiac potatoes are best for chips,, as there starch content is lower,, to cook crisps,, peel entire spud and slice thinly (peeler works fine here),, bring oil to minimum 200c and throw in a hand full at a time,, stir with wooden spoon to stop chips sticking together,,,,

i cook these all the time for g/son,,, usually 2 good size spuds makes equilavent to 2 packs of "over the counter packets",, once cooked, drain and sprinkle with chicken salt,, or sprinkle with vinegar etc etc etc
    baking in oven works here as well,,,but takes longer,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,choppa
    can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

I agree the double fry method.
    Must be waxy spuds
    Ist fry should be chips cold oil, ramp it up untill you get oil to about 180degree the drain and let cool

next dump should be into hot oil for a crisp off