Swag advice

Thread: Swag advice

Swag advice

G'day all,
    I am looking at buying a swag, and up until now have just had a tent, but I want to be more mobile. Also, up until now, I have been using an airbed, which is pretty crook on my back.
    Can anyone offer advice on what I should be looking for in a swag??

Lunatic.
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Ausfish Platinum Member griz066's Avatar

Re: Swag advice

I have one of these and are very happy with it

http://www.mrswagman.com.au/premium-deluxe.shtml
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

The most important important decision to make is wether you want a basic swag or the hoop style swag.Also consider buying an oversize swag , mine is a XL ( extra Large ) basicaly
    gives a little extra room inside that you will soon apreciate on longer trips.also allows you to keep your gear inside if it rains.something else to consider is that not all matresses are created equall.I use a self inflating matress in mine and it is nearly as comfortable as the bed at home.

The_Walrus

Have a look at the Viking Swags.

Very competitive deals/prices

http://www.vikingswags.com/

Thanks for the advice guys.

What are the high density mattresses like?

Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

My advice would be to go with the " burke and wills" range. May be a bit pricey but definately built to last. Lifetime warranty etc. They come with a mattress which i find very comfortable, and i also have back troubles.

Jimmy.

I have an Oztrail Mitchell. Think its the best thing since sliced bread.

http://www.sherryscamping.com.au/prod1189.htm

hey lunatic, i reckon go with the cheap option and MAKE YOUR OWN!! mate i bought a piece of high density foam( the same as they put in those flash swags), the missus made a cover for it and i've used a good old blue tarp from super cheap auto's to roll it up in and a big ass belt. fantastic!! all for under $100.
    wazza.

I agree with Bungie, I have had a few swags and the best by far is the oztrail mitchell, been in some horrible weather/storms always stayed dry and cosy. Most of my mates now have them now after they seen how good they are, you should be able to pick one up for just under $200 when there on special.

Cheers Foxie