Thread: YAMBA HOT SPOTS ???

YAMBA HOT SPOTS ???

G'Day guys I'm thinkin of heading down to Yamba for Chrissy holidays, i've heard its real crowded but keen to go anyway, just wanted to know your thoughts on the best camping grounds to stay down there, with easy access to a boat ramp and close to the water. Any help would be greatly appreciated

Cheers Scotty

Re: YAMBA HOT SPOTS ???

Can anyboby give me some info on a good camp ground please

They reckon the Dolphins resort is one of the best Caravan Park in Aus, have driven past it and looks great for the family.
    But never stayed there.

If you can't get into Yamba you can always try Iluka might not be as busy and a fraction closer to you.

One side of the river to the other.

But it is a very busy system at Christmas.

There is lots of other systems within a hour or two of Yamba.

But a lot depends on what sort of holiday you are after, also your age and family structure and fishing ability and boat setup, all come into the equation.

Have a great holiday.

Trev
    Fish for the future, enjoy the present but think of your children.

The Blue Dolphin has a ramp and jetty, within the complex.
    You can also book a mooring on the Jetty.
    We are in over christmas and expect it to be super busy but with the boat is not to hard to escape the crowds.

Our first preference was the Big 4 on Palmers Island. It also has a ramp, but a lot of mud/rocks ect either side of it so you cant really leave the boat in the water. As at last week ther were no vacancies.

The only vacancies at Iluka that I know of are Woombah Woods caravan park where we will be spending New years, its nice and quiety and only about 600m from the ramp and 5 min into Iluka or Woody Head

There is a Campground/Caravan park place out of Yamba about 5 klms or so I think were I stayed at a couple of years ago.

"Fishing Haven Caravan Park" or something like that ?

You can get a camp spot on the water but no beach there, though you can fish off the bank.

I launched a 4.2 tinnie at a ramp which is a gravel ramp nearby (about 1klm)
    I launched it with a Falcon ute and got out OK, anything larger without a 4WD might be a struggle.

There were some boats moored of the bank if you were there for a period of time.

However for a better ramp there is a concrete ramp down near the Harwood Bridge some 5 - 10 klms out.

Hope this helps.

Hey

Beat the crowds and head the otherside of the river to Iluka.........recently stayed at a caravan park right on the river very close to town centre, has a boat ramp and jetty etc. I have stayed in Yamba before but found Iluka to be much less crowded, and there is also plenty of great spots along the coast north of Iluka within about 15 mins drive, and you can get 4wd access to the beach aswell Fishing the north wall was also very satifying

Cameron

Just cancelled a cabin at Woombah Woods 27th Dec to 2nd Jan inclusive if your quick it could still be available.
    Not aware of any other Iluka vacancies

Have stayed quite a bit at yamba and iluka, there is a few places in iluka. one on the river, and another out of town, there is also woody heads camp ground which i think is run by national parks??

Fishing is good, there is a ton of water in and around the area. My uncle in law is a professional fisho down there and there is some great spots for fishing, crabbing, prawning etc etc

Agree with everyones comments about great fishing and Iluka being better than Yamba
    BUT

She's all booked out including Woody camp grounds.

We have already booked for christmas 2007/2008

Keep on going on south and try Corindi Beach. Great spot. There is a boat ramp a couple o ks down athe road at Arrawara Headland for offshore access. Caravan park is great, fires permitted if you bring a fire drum, beach fishing is very good, jewies etc. You can easily access north west solitary islands for good offshore fishing, big boat not rerquired as only need to go 5ks or so offshore to get amongst it. Only about half an hour past Yamba.
    Jewie