Thread: Peel Island (horseshoe bay) and Blakesley Achorage

El_Ricco

Re: Peel Island (horseshoe bay) and Blakesley Acho

So you don't need to get a permit to camp at Blakesleys Anchorage(its free)? Read lots of stuff which says you either need to contact Redlands Shire council or North Straddie holidays. Dazed and Confused!!!!

Darryl

I haved camped there many times mate and never needed a permit at Blakesleys...

In the "deal" just done between Labour and the Greens, I'll bet my butt that Blakesleys will be inside the "no go" area inside 2 years. This is what we are fighting against guys.

El_Ricco

Thanks CrestCutter - at least I know I can get a sensible answer somewhere - and as for those Greens!!!! I value conservation along with the best of us but Greenies really are a bunch of c***sucker citydwellers who know diddlysquat about the country (land or water) and they should stick to wearing tie-dye clothes and eating lentils.....oh and it does not help that there are a few lazy bastards out there who leave their litter and shit all over the place (see previous chat about litter on Horseshoe Bay which I have witnessed first hand; used condoms included).

I dont go from Vic point - usually raby bay. Is it hard to find? Anyone anal enough to have the co-ordinates? (or at least a description of the area). Much appreciated.
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

Easy 2 find and I guess I'm anal enough to have the gps mark too.

This will put you just off the beach.

s 27.34.505 e 153.24.532

Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

i have a 3.86m tinny, what size boat would u need to get to Blakesley, for 2 adults and 2 kids, how do u locate the camping spot as i dont know the area at all but it looks rather inviting.

Ron

mate your a champ...Cheers (I will go add it to my marks - I mark everything myself!).
    Boat: Seafarer Vagabond
    Live: Great South East....love Moreton Bay fishing

G'Day Ron,

Yes mate it is a great place, but I'm not to sure that a 3.86 tinnie would be safe enough, especially with 2 kids onboard, to get to Blakesleys for a camping trip. A part of the beauty is that it is only accessable by boat but unfortunately this means everything has to be carried in. Look I have seen tinnies over there and if you had the weather we had for our trip, you could of paddled over in a kayak.

Closest launching points would be Vicky Point or Reddy Bay, but even going from there you will need to cross some open water east of Coochie and around top of McLeay. I've come thru that area and found in the wrong conditions it can be down right dangerous. Alternatively, you could leave from down Horizon Shores way and sneak up around the southern bay islands.

Although the camp area is not marked into sites its the same as bush camping and rather easy to workout an available spot to setup camp. Just remember the only amenities are rubbish bins so you will need to bring everything you need with you.

In any case its a great place to escape and for me its only a quick 15 minute trip across the bay. Attached pic gives you a idea where Blakesleys is located on N Straddie.

Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

G'day everyone,
    Will Blakesley be packed over chrissy??

Lunatic
    "Man cannot discover new oceans unless he has the courage to lose sight of the shore." -- André Gide

Quote Originally Posted by lunatic
    G'day everyone,
    Will Blakesley be packed over chrissy??

Lunatic
    Yep, you betchya it will ....