Thread: Camping and fishing suggestions - QLD - help!

Camping and fishing suggestions - QLD - help!

Hey guys!

Its my partners birthday this coming monday... [smiley=love.gif] on Sunday/Monday I want to take him camping and fishing. #

I want to go somewhere where there arent going to be too many people... a few other people fishing is OK... we just arent keen on inconsiderate swimmers or people with dogs that like throwing the ball right near our lines. #

Anyway... somewhere nice to look at as well... maybe near a beach? #We are both into photography as well. #

We are shore based, dont have a boat to fish off unfortunately. #Somewhere we are likely to have some action, even if it is only moderately sized bream. #We dont eat fresh fish so its not necessary to catch something for eating. #I eat bream, but thats about it.

And somewhere close to a decent camp site, facilities arent necesary.

anywhere within 3 maybe 4 hours of Brisbane is cool... but not in NSW... we have a castnet and use livebait.

Ari [smiley=whip.gif]

Re: Camping and fishing suggestions - QLD - help!

Hi Ari, do you have a 4wd mate? some nice spots up between Noosa and double island point, but not sure how you would go without a 4wd.

nope ;-) BUT I have a Barina which doubles as a 4wd... you would be amazed at where I have taken the poor thing ;-) As long as its not clearence thats the problem we will be fine. Even so... we can often get around it. Around that area is what I was thinking actually. Was hoping for a bit more of a specific location... but simply knowing there are good spots around there should be enough :-D I love Noosa and its great fishing there during the week when its not as busy tourist wise.... but go up there on the weekend and you get lost in the croud... even at the beach!!! We are country people, not too keen on big crouds.

Thanks for the suggestion :-D

If "Real" camping and a beach is what you want have a look at inskip point where the car ferry goes to fraser island camping on the beach, access for 2 wheel drive cars, plenty of fishing options close at hand And if your lucky you will see some 4x4's getting bogged heading for the ferry Lol.

cheers N
    Tight Lines

Brandon...

Groovey # #
    I love the idea of camping on the beach!
    I just did a little research on the area and made a couple of phone calls... they even have 4wd hire in the area #
    Wish I had the cash for a fishing charter... though my father just bought $90,000 worth of boat that I'll be going out on at the end of the month anyway ;-) #That'll teach the partner for going away to Sydney without me # ... he misses out! lol

Anyway... We are fishing addicts... ok, more specifically Im a fishing addict... but we seriously enjoy our camping, fishing and photography... and the area seems tops for it! #Thank you guys very muchly for the suggestions #
    Im really looking forward to the weekend now.

Ari

kewl will be looking forward to some lovely fishing shots from you guys then That one on the beach is a cracker

If you do decide to hire a 4x4 watch out for other hire 4x4's on the beach.. I had 2 hire 4bies stop at a washout (either side of the washout)and couldn't decide who goes first across > Here i am behind 4 other trucks slowing down from 80k with a poorly packed cruiser fishtailing towards my mates hilux trying to stop!! ended up stopping but really shouldn't have had too!! was an easy washout that i would have hit at 60k The hire mobs don't teach these backpackers anything about driving on a beach unfortunatlly

Cheers N
    Tight Lines

Brandon...

thank you for the warning!
    It did seem a little obsurd to me that just anyone can hire one of these 4wds and take them out in situations that should take someone with a bit of experience. #But ah well. #
    Pete had to sell his 4wd when he came up to qld so I think he may enjoy having a 4wd for the day #

lol if nothing else, you can expect some half decent photos #That one was taken at Peregian, my Dad beach fishing

I took some ok pics there...http://s65.photobucket.com/albums/h2...ian/?start=all

You've been a huge help

Ari

Mate why dont you give north straddie a go?

Grassed camping area near the beach, heaps of places to go fishing and not that far from Brissie. Also i think there will be a bit to take a photo of over there.

Cheers, catch the big one.

Howdy surfsup
    I dont know, I live so close to Straddie that it just seems mundane... thing is I havent even been there before... so you may very well have a point... it may be fantastic there and saves the 3 hour trip. I'll check it out thank you

For fishing+camping without a boat you can't beat the beach. Can be a bit tough without a 4x4 though.
    Inskip might be best option if there's no weed. Straddie better but you really need a 4x4 to camp near the good fishing (imho). Moreton/Fraser are only 4x4. Fraser best for photography and a bit of sightseeing.

Other option might be somewhere like Coolum. Campground right on the beach. Just not sure how busy it might be - and the fishing could be average.

a great spot is woodgate beach the beach is tops as it is sheltered from ocean swells by fraser is the whiting fishing on it is very good ahd beach worms if you want very handy is theodolite creek tops for fishing off the sand banks or burrum river is 10k's more great fishing plenty of yabbies to pump and bait fish to cast for plus the nat;forest for walks it is a safe and quite i can help with a pri;camp site cheers

thanks guys!!

Hey wayneoro, what do you mean that you can help with a camp site?

I decided straddie would probably be too hard without a 4wd... I thought inskip looked like a good option... the area looks pretty and the camping is easy to arrange. #And we can fish just a little way down from our campsite. #Though I do want to see straddie as well! #Oh... decisions decisions
    Too many choices for a Gemini woman to deal with #

Thanks very much for the suggestions by the way!!! #Fantastic!!!

Ari

Know what you mean about decisions!! Lol am Gemini myself

I have been in Brisbane all my life, driven Frasier, Moreton many times but you know I have never been to Straddie either!! # will get there one of these days Heard Amity point jetty can produce some VERY nice fish at times

Woodgate beach is a lovely spot too only ever crashed for the night on the beach never fished there though Lol

cheers N
    Tight Lines

Brandon...

Great pics
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

lol gemini + woman = trouble Gemini men... very strange creatures indeed but a load of fun to be around.

I have been in Brissy half my life and though I have gone a wandering many times I have actually been very few places. Im keen to explore much more. Im keen to get out and do some hunting as well but finding a good spot is impossible! Not to mention guns are still sitting in the gun shop waiting for the purchase of a decent gun locker.

Im worried that there will be a heap of people... tourists... on straddie. Would rather catch fewer fish than put up with big crouds.

thanks guys