Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: Qld Rec fisher changes in the air

Re: Qld Rec fisher changes in the air

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Lost my long reply so here's the short version.
    We import significantly more than we export. Basically generating money.
    Crays aka lobsters were fairly cheap before we found export markets for them then local prices rose to match, yes greed involved.
    Coral trout was a regular in restaurants and seafood places until a market for live coral trout was found to be profitable, once again local prices rose. This was one crappy industry, when I used to fish the Swains back in the early 2000's we'd come across dorys with generally Maori people fishing for live coral trout. They were on strict rules, they were paid $2 for a just legal Coral Trout as this was considered plate size and paid the most o/s, anything larger they got 50 cents per fish. We would regularly get offered a whole esky full of fish for some beer which we rejected.

Yes after exports stopped prices did drop, not much as the exporters still wanted their money, a lot like a labourer who is earning heaps of overtime then that comes to a halt when jobs dry up abd then they cry poor as their spending/borrowing habits are beyond their basic wage.

But then we now live in a global community and that is one of the downsides.
    Sorry - Cray has never been fairly cheap ..... certainly not in my lifetime

During the 1990s - $50 / cray

Today $90 plus /cray ($111 / kg)

Not talking about those small WA crays that turn up every now & then for $20 & keeping in mind that we are not exporting to China

Do you really believe those guys catching live trout were paid as low as $0.50 / fish ........ So if the mother ship had 1000 live trout at top dollar the catch was worth $2K - lets say 5000 fish @ $10K . .....I t wouldn't be commercially viable even back in the 2000s . A commercial crabber would be making $20/kg for live crab .

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    So in your mind everyone that leaves uni is a leftie ideologist ?

Yes younger people generally are more socially aware ...... but by the same token there are many who are looking for the $$$$$

Generally if you seek a career in the sciences - its more often than not you are not doing it for the money . So does that mean whoever is not out to make a motza is a leftie ?

I know a lot of right wing conservatives see it that way .

I'm not going to get into a left vs right argument...as i have said before the further each way you swing the worse it becomes..

But my original points are very valid..there is a high level of left wing activism at all Universities which is promoted by a high proportion of Left wing teachers and staff....thats simply just a fact...

and I think its sad that so many youngsters develop such hardline views without having really gained much actual life experience...seriously how can you know how the world works if you havent even had to struggle to work and pay the bills yourself.....I personally think every kid upon leaving school should be given a backpack and airplane ticket and told to go explore the world for a year (no not bali but proper third world countries) or a working holiday in new Zealand oe elsewhere....they will learn far more doing that then rushing straight from their parents home and straight into the hands of these experienced professional manipulators at Uni...

BTW we just had 2 American uni students spend three weeks with us that had just completed a semester studying in NZ and, seriously, they were the most annoying and useless humans I think I have ever met...

Sorry - Cray has never been fairly cheap ..... certainly not in my lifetime

During the 1990s - $50 / cray

Today $90 plus /cray ($111 / kg)

Not talking about those small WA crays that turn up every now & then for $20 & keeping in mind that we are not exporting to China

Do you really believe those guys catching live trout were paid as low as $0.50 / fish ........ So if the mother ship had 1000 live trout at top dollar the catch was worth $2K - lets say 5000 fish @ $10K . .....I t wouldn't be commercially viable even back in the 2000s . A commercial crabber would be making $20/kg for live crab .

They would have been paid by the kg even $2 a kg live is less than filleted price even monkeys would not fish in the baking sun for peanuts.

Even 1000 trout in a trip would be fishing half the swains reef system pros only spend a day to day and a half on a reef as they shut down with noise there smarter than we give them credit for.

And yes lobster thermidor has never been a cheap restaurant item ,the $20 tails in woolies are very small I’ve seen bigger prawns

Firstly , We import more seafood than we export

What we export is mostly high value product like lobster & tuna - live fish (coral trout) ....... stuff that the vast majority of Australians don't buy.

Would you like to see our commercial fishery shut down ?

Did lobster prices come down with the China import bans ...... nah

We jump up & down about this oversight because we just want to protect our own interests ....... yeh it gets up your nose a bit when here in NSW you have to let your second jew go - but hey you've already got many kgs of tasty fish in the boat.

Dunno Chris maybe me no Understand , Kapito , Katallaveno and just try suss out the commonsence of it all which seems non existance !??.
    And as for lobster ??, can get it now cheaper then ever before, here at Coles n Woolies that is

Large lobster I was buying around $60/kg during covid when the export trade shut down.

I'm sorry, I'll need to clarify, the coral trout trade in the nineties etc was mostly dead fish,live fish was in it's infancy. The dory fishermen were basically just cheap labour for the mother ship and they were selling them on for quite a considerable profit. These dirys would fill up a 150 litre esky in a couple of hours a morning, they used bathyscopes to pinpoint them around the bommies and another crew member would handline exactly where directed. Those blokes could pull in fish quicker than we could believe. We would chat to them on a regular basis so knew what was going on. The mothership they reported to certainly weren't flash and grog on board was strickly prohibited.

Live exports is now the major trade with very little going to the local seafood markets.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    I think licencing recs needs to come in.....mandatory reporting will need to be painless and glitch free.
    Apps are probably the worst avenue for reporting these days with such a high rate of data theft around these days.

I have been reducing my exposure to data theft a lot this year.....I think everyone needs to pull back from apps.

What's an App ?

FYI, I don't take my phone in the boat.... maybe I do. rarely though.

Photos are taken with Drone, waterproof Camera or Go pro.

LP

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Dunno Chris maybe me no Understand , Kapito , Katallaveno and just try suss out the commonsence of it all which seems non existance !??.
    And as for lobster ??, can get it now cheaper then ever before, here at Coles n Woolies that is
    I'll be doing our normal run to Sydney fish market next Saturday ( 3am) - been a bit of a tradition for the past 8 or so years .

I'll take some photos & put them up

Lobster will be well over $100 / kg ..... but what will be scary will be oysters ..... $30 / doz I'm guessing

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Large lobster I was buying around $60/kg during covid when the export trade shut down.

I'm sorry, I'll need to clarify, the coral trout trade in the nineties etc was mostly dead fish,live fish was in it's infancy. The dory fishermen were basically just cheap labour for the mother ship and they were selling them on for quite a considerable profit. These dirys would fill up a 150 litre esky in a couple of hours a morning, they used bathyscopes to pinpoint them around the bommies and another crew member would handline exactly where directed. Those blokes could pull in fish quicker than we could believe. We would chat to them on a regular basis so knew what was going on. The mothership they reported to certainly weren't flash and grog on board was strickly prohibited.

Live exports is now the major trade with very little going to the local seafood markets.
    The live trade target a specific size of fish ..... But they still ice down other trout that fall outside their parameters .

I was just in Malaysia & you could get live trout (Aussie) for around 400 ringgit - about $130 / kg Aussie ........ thankfully Talapia was cheaper & ...... was just as good (if not fractionally better)

Quote Originally Posted by Lucky_Phill View Post
    What's an App ?

FYI, I don't take my phone in the boat.... maybe I do. rarely though.

Photos are taken with Drone, waterproof Camera or Go pro.

LP
    phil you and I had a bunch of back and forth during the RRFF review and the Rec fishing body you helped set up. What would you rather? Take a photo of each fish you want to take home from a free app on a brag mat. Or simply cop massive assumptions from Fisheries that Recs take 75% of the snapper based off massive extrapolations from boat ramp surveys and assumptions that snapper catches are increasing inline with boat registrations?

Honest question. Because it’s not until there is solid Rec data that we can even begin to question the science. Until we can question the assumptions made by so called scientists.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

I'll be doing our normal run to Sydney fish market next Saturday ( 3am) - been a bit of a tradition for the past 8 or so years .

Lobster will be well over $100 / kg ..... but what will be scary will be oysters ..... $30 / doz I'm guessing

Surely you have a decent local fish market? Nothing is cheaper/better or fresher at Sydney, in fact, it’s usually much more expensive than a local. I have a great one near me, and a pretty good one quite close, but, you need to pick and choose there. Prawns and Oysters will all come from the same places and be fresh (or fresh frozen) this time of the year.

We all have our individual opinions on matters and so long as we voice if we wish but dont try impose on others is what matters .

Here's some prices from a local Brisbane seafood retailer.

Cooked whole WA lobster $70/kg
    Whole green tropical lobster $65/kg
    Raw lobster tail large $99/kg, medium $95/kg

I tried posting a pic of their prices but it wouldn't let me do it from my phone.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

Quote Originally Posted by Lovey80 View Post
    phil you and I had a bunch of back and forth during the RRFF review and the Rec fishing body you helped set up. What would you rather? Take a photo of each fish you want to take home from a free app on a brag mat. Or simply cop massive assumptions from Fisheries that Recs take 75% of the snapper based off massive extrapolations from boat ramp surveys and assumptions that snapper catches are increasing inline with boat registrations?

Honest question. Because it’s not until there is solid Rec data that we can even begin to question the science. Until we can question the assumptions made by so called scientists.
    The photo app method relies on honesty, and it can't be assumed that it would be any more accurate than surveys backed by statistical techniques. Plus, there is no way of accurately knowing the absolute stock size either.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    Surely you have a decent local fish market? Nothing is cheaper/better or fresher at Sydney, in fact, it’s usually much more expensive than a local. I have a great one near me, and a pretty good one quite close, but, you need to pick and choose there. Prawns and Oysters will all come from the same places and be fresh (or fresh frozen) this time of the year.
    Actually - our local at Penrith is horrendously expensive .

I actually like going to the markets because you have a choice of 6 or 7 retailers ......... so rather than picking from 3 or 4 whole atlantic salmon locally - I can probably pick from 50 (size , quality)
    Ditto for prawns , scallops oysters ,...... & anything else - the choice is so much greater.

as much as anything - I do this with family at some ungodly hour ...... have a good coffee there plus at that time - We beat the crowds

Quote Originally Posted by billfisher View Post
    The photo app method relies on honesty, and it can't be assumed that it would be any more accurate than surveys backed by statistical techniques. Plus, there is no way of accurately knowing the absolute stock size either.
    The photo app method would be almost identical to the commercial catch records. Only it would all be done via your phone and taking a photo on a brag mat or similar could estimate the size of each fish harvested. When stock assessments are done there are no huge assumptions made on take for commercial. But a huge amount of assumptions on take take for recs.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.