Thread: Boat Toilets

Boat Toilets

Whos for and against these which appear in nearly most Boat Builds of late??.
    I personally cant think of wanting someone having a Bog whilst im trying to sleep be it Missus or Fishing buddies.
    Prefer my twently ltre platic tub lined with a noodle for arse comfort and who cares for some Volvo Kakka Flavoured Coral Trout or Red emperor Fillets end of the day lol..

Re: Boat Toilets

It was certainly a consideration when we were having our boat built and only another $750 for a fully plumbed toilet...

Trouble is you are right...its located right between the bunks below where we sleep...so in effect you, and worse still, others are shitting we where we sleep...thats one disadvantage of a sub-7m boat..

So a mate ended up getting this option but sold the boat soon after and we decided against it and just bought a bucket sh!tter because being a centre-cab, the front walk around area in front of the cab makes a perfect loo with a view and gives a certain amount of privacy as well ...we sometimes have other people onboard and we make a rough bed up on the back deck for overnighters

I really didnt want someone wiping their ass right between the bunks where we sleep, besides the missus makes up the bed with a mattress topper and doona the night before we leave so it would be a nightmare to have to pull everything apart just to use a dunny...

If you have a runabout type configuration the privacy factor may be an issue with people other then your missus and you with just a bucket though ..

toilet boat 11.jpg

^^^what Disorderly said re a toilet parked between the bunks. Popular with day-trippers, absolutely beyond useless if you stay aboard. I gave it a miss with the Reefrunner build for that reason. It's actually under the made-up bed, so, useless. A cheap Porta Potti knock-off lives in that space, gets used, or not. For overnighters, it goes out on deck, again, used or not used, depends on the weather and the attitude of the person who needs to use it

Also, I've seen a badly fitted toilet sink a brand-new boat, and others which developed leaks bad enough to be a risk. Your outlet is underwater, of course, and even the top of the bowl will be below ocean level at times in a bad sea.

Just don't have someone use it and then forget to clean it out.

Been there, done all of that. These days it's a big black plastic bucket, I have a seat from one of those cheap camping bucket toilets and it fits virtually any big bucket and takes very little room in storage. I don't use it but crew does at times while I'm asleep, not in the cabin though.

As an aside my oncologist did her doctorate on viruses, toxins etc in the ocean. Surprisingly getting nice clean salt water to rinse your fish fillets in from 20kms offshore is very little diffetent to that close inshore. Both are loaded with loads of toxins etc and everything associated with turds in the water. If i need to wash a fillet it will be at home in chilled water with salt ağded, I've seen her slides and they are quite urgh. She claims a lot of so called food poising on the coastal strip can be traced to swallowing sea water while swimming.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

yes, it's never been a good idea to wash open wounds in seawater--all sorts of bugs, both naturally occurring and those down to pollution sources. For that matter, I never wash fillets in any kind of water, ever. Take care with the filleting, any blood/stray scales can be scraped off, wash your hands to get slime off before laying them on the open side for skinning . The taste in fish derives from the oils, these are easily washed out--if you don't believe me, think back to the old school method of " chucking it in a bucket of salt water" after filleting/skinning. The surface of that water would be thick with oils, particularly with fish like mackerel.

Quote Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
    yes, it's never been a good idea to wash open wounds in seawater--all sorts of bugs, both naturally occurring and those down to pollution sources. For that matter, I never wash fillets in any kind of water, ever. Take care with the filleting, any blood/stray scales can be scraped off, wash your hands to get slime off before laying them on the open side for skinning . The taste in fish derives from the oils, these are easily washed out--if you don't believe me, think back to the old school method of " chucking it in a bucket of salt water" after filleting/skinning. The surface of that water would be thick with oils, particularly with fish like mackerel.
    This is the method I have arrived at also...cleanliness of the worksurface, knives and hands is paramount..I also use a different section of the stainless steel table when skinning each fillet so I'm not putting the fillets onto a slimey surface where I just did the last fillet and then clean the whole table off before the next batch..I really hate slime, scales, crap or yellow stuff on the meat....I also cut into portions at the same time so its easy for the missuss to just be able to chuck them in the bags and vaccuum seal.......last meat trip 2 weeks back took more then half a day for processing but it was a 200 litre esky full of premium reef-fish and a smaller esky of doggie/spotty mackeral which I leave the skin on to feed the hounds..

and yeah good point about the toilet outlets...the more holes you have in the hull below the waterline just increases the risk of disaster...even from a relatively minor plumbing issue.

Very interesting too Sam about the crap in the water..I hope its just you city blokes that are swimming in sh!t..I'm not sure if its finally stopped yet but at least up until a year or 2 back Sydney was still pumping 4 million litres of raw sewerage a day into the ocean just north of Bondi and other beachside suburbs...

Last few sewage pipes near Australia’s iconic Bondi Beach to be turned off - Inside Waste

In the past it certainly was wise to keep your mouth tightly shut when taking a dip at the Iconic Bondi Beach..

...double post

I think these days you need porta potties. If fishing around islands and reefs you technically can't tip shit in the water. Even in built heads with macerators can't be used without a holding tank. I reckon those super yachts dump their shit while steaming through the whitsundays. There's reef sperm and then there's shit trails, it seems different lol.
    Behind the helm in the cabin works better than under your face for sure.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

On the subject of what type of portable toilet, porta potti or bucket with liner. Where I spend long periods camping each year ( see Ningaloo 23 vid) has, for many years, required you to have a portable toilet. Back before DPAW took it over, the station owner insisted on it, would actually lend you one--kept a stock of old ones, we helped him out with spare parts for them, etc--but disposal of contents consisted of going inland away from the beach and digging a hole amongst the spinifex When DPAW took over, they actually put a dump point at the entrance to each area. Bloody luxury. But some owners of those Thunderbox -type toilets--"we don't need no fancy porta potti, we've got the good, Aussie thunderbox, what more could a man want?" ---were just dropping the entire contents, liner and all, into the dump point. I mean, who wants to tip out a plastic bag, then dispose of it? So, pretty much EVERY BLOODY DAY, the poor old volunteer campsite manager was out there trying to unblock it. So I don't have a very high opinion of the plastic liner type.
    How do you blokes who use the bucket deal with that?

On the subject of plastic bags, those specifically designed to be put in the bin.
    I did get some for the trip to the Kimberly, used it once. Now are they able to be put in the rubbish bin? Like a kimbie i guess. Now it seemed to work well with the stuff that you put in to absorb the water and stop the smell. At the time i couldn't get an answer from national parks, acted like they didn't know about them.
    Supposed to be biodegradable.
    Anybody know?

Quote Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
    On the subject of what type of portable toilet, porta potti or bucket with liner. Where I spend long periods camping each year ( see Ningaloo 23 vid) has, for many years, required you to have a portable toilet. Back before DPAW took it over, the station owner insisted on it, would actually lend you one--kept a stock of old ones, we helped him out with spare parts for them, etc--but disposal of contents consisted of going inland away from the beach and digging a hole amongst the spinifex When DPAW took over, they actually put a dump point at the entrance to each area. Bloody luxury. But some owners of those Thunderbox -type toilets--"we don't need no fancy porta potti, we've got the good, Aussie thunderbox, what more could a man want?" ---were just dropping the entire contents, liner and all, into the dump point. I mean, who wants to tip out a plastic bag, then dispose of it? So, pretty much EVERY BLOODY DAY, the poor old volunteer campsite manager was out there trying to unblock it. So I don't have a very high opinion of the plastic liner type.
    How do you blokes who use the bucket deal with that?
    I doubt boaters use plastic bags in the buckets, would hope not.

Quote Originally Posted by docaster View Post
    I doubt boaters use plastic bags in the buckets, would hope not.

I just roughly line it with paper...then straight over the side...porta potti might be alright on land but on a boat it would be sloshing around and just like cooking up a turd stew in midsummer wouldnt it..?...yukk..!

In the bucket and straight over the side, one reason I have a deckwash,
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    In the bucket and straight over the side, one reason I have a deckwash,
    Up north the trevely would have eatten it up as soon as it hit the water.

Quote Originally Posted by chris69 View Post
    Up north the trevely would have eatten it up as soon as it hit the water.
    Back in the day a dive shop I worked at over on an island in the Carribean was located on a small estuary just a couple hundred metres from the beach..

At the back was dormitories and rooms for guests and dive students and the boats were moored to the dock which also had the only dunny at the place...

It was located right on the dock over the water and you could look down as you took a crap and watch the fish fighting for the tasty morsels..

Over the course of a few months I could see some of the same Toadfishs getting quite enormous...I didnt think it was even really polluting the water as it was all snapped up withing seconds of dropping.....all the islanders also used to throw theiir trash into the swampy tidal mangroves behind the shacks along the beach and then over time it would make more land on which to build some more shacks....the sandflies were ferocious as well.

Thinking back there used to be quite a high amount of divers with staph infections and ulcerated sores which didnt heal well...