Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Buying a boat in NSW

Buying a boat in NSW

Looking at another boat that’s in NSW and want to know what I have to do to get it home to Qld to register it here . Thanks Matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Re: Buying a boat in NSW

It should be no problem at all, it’s just a matter of having the relevant rego papers, then going to the QLD roads/rego/car place and jumping through flaming hoops and change it over. I have done it the other way from Victoria and it was no big deal.

Just to add, make sure the trailer is registered, and you have maybe some kind of insurance cover, not too sure how that part works with trailers.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    Just to add, make sure the trailer is registered, and you have maybe some kind of insurance cover, not too sure how that part works with trailers.
    So just buy it and tow it home then change rego , I will get an insurance cover note for it to get it home if I buy it . Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    So just buy it and tow it home then change rego , I will get an insurance cover note for it to get it home if I buy it . Thanks
    Depends on what size trailer it is, it might need a roadworthy.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Buying a boat in NSW

Quote Originally Posted by shaungonemad View Post
    Depends on what size trailer it is, it might need a roadworthy.

The boat is on a new quintrex alloy trailer

Being near new like that, I can’t imagine too much difficulty even if QLD does require a roadworthy check to change over (no idea if they do), just check rego expiry, make sure of some kind of insurance, don’t know if it’s currently insured, so a cover note will be a good idea. The boat doesn’t have rego numbers, has it ever been registered?

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    The boat is on a new quintrex alloy trailer
    Is it coming from a dealer? If private it will require a roadworthy if it has ATM of over 750kgs.

Very nice, it's basically what I'm looking for.

Once you pick it up make sure you carry a set of spare wheel bearings with you no matter what the owner says, if not needed then you have them ready to replace.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

If it has breaks it will need a roadworthy
    92 MU, 91 MU ute, 90 MU,96 MU Wizard, 2014 MUX, 2019 DMAX
    Australia's loudest MU
    MY SITE MY YouTube SPL 152.3dB
    If beef is in beef mince, What is in pet mince?

Roadworthy and insurance , your covering your own butt if anything happens on the road .

And everything needs ro be in your name to get innsurance

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by docaster View Post
    And everything needs ro be in your name to get innsurance

No, if you are buying, you can get a “cover note” that will give you a set number of days insurance while you get the details sorted out, done it many times over the years.

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Very nice, it's basically what I'm looking for.

Once you pick it up make sure you carry a set of spare wheel bearings with you no matter what the owner says, if not needed then you have them ready to replace.
    Guessing Ford or Holden (or some other) might be a challenge! Of course you could buy a full hub kit once you find out what it is.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    No, if you are buying, you can get a “cover note” that will give you a set number of days insurance while you get the details sorted out, done it many times over the years.
    Interesting, i was told i couldn't, in my circumstance i was taking the boat and trailer to another town and get the roadworthy at home because i couldn't get the roadworthy in the town i was buying it until after the weekend. It meant i had to go back once old mate got the roadworthy.