Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Lithium battery build

Lithium battery build

Has anyone bought any batteries or cells from a company in Hervey bay Lifpe4 austraila and if so what was your experience with them,they have a deal on right now but not what there saying on site so Im a bit hesitent after a few emails with them.

Re: Lithium battery build

if its the same guy that attends markets and has a store in hb I've bought different stuff ocver the years no worries.
    As for lithium, repowered caravan with 2 x 120x itech batteries,red arc 1230 s3 bms.(4 solarpanels on roof) and has only had 240 volt once since leaving. Fit it up in nov 22 and van is now in tassie
    lucky I guess

No these guys sell lithium cells EVE Gangfang ect and off grid 24v 48v set ups ,they have a sale on 280amp cells there suppose to be $100 off for 280amp cells but when i emailed they changed things to ...you must buy 16 cells to get the $100 off. but it does not state that on the sale page.

What is the price for them direct from China?
    I have thought about using the 280AH cells from Alliesxpress for a build.

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    What is the price for them direct from China?
    I have thought about using the 280AH cells from Alliesxpress for a build.
    There's changers from the EVE manufactures stamping B on there B grade cells for sale only on aliiesexpress that's why ive been keen on these guys because they sell A grade automotive cells as well as A grade storage cells which there selling for $1200 for 4 matched cells they say for 280 amp EVE cells or you can get a kit with BMS for $1400,ive played with some of the alli sellers and there freight is costly for some and a long time coming over the sea.

If you go to the lifepo4 austraila site there's a bit of info on whats going on.

They say that if you only use use 80% that is best for the cells that why i thought go 280 amp you have 224 usable amps at around 24kg and there's a bit of degradation on these lithium cells too if you flog them to hard which a lot of people don't think about when buying a small 100to120 amp lithium,a lot of the cheap lithiums only just make it to there rating on a test you should get 2 to 5 amps more is what you see on good brand cells.

I went super dodgy and bought 4 kings 120ah for the boat
    1 sounders
    1 electric motor
    1 fridge and pie warmer
    1 spare for electric for bigger weekends
    they work and havnt blown up and I treat em like crap dropping them to allow low voltage shutoff etc

Quote Originally Posted by chris69 View Post
    There's changers from the EVE manufactures stamping B on there B grade cells for sale only on aliiesexpress that's why ive been keen on these guys because they sell A grade automotive cells as well as A grade storage cells which there selling for $1200 for 4 matched cells they say for 280 amp EVE cells or you can get a kit with BMS for $1400,ive played with some of the alli sellers and there freight is costly for some and a long time coming over the sea.

If you go to the lifepo4 austraila site there's a bit of info on whats going on.

They say that if you only use use 80% that is best for the cells that why i thought go 280 amp you have 224 usable amps at around 24kg and there's a bit of degradation on these lithium cells too if you flog them to hard which a lot of people don't think about when buying a small 100to120 amp lithium,a lot of the cheap lithiums only just make it to there rating on a test you should get 2 to 5 amps more is what you see on good brand cells.
    I think the 80% myth has come largely from the other lithium ion chemistries that are used in phones and some EV’s. LifePO4 really only gets degradation when you do things like keep them really full for long periods, smash them with amp draws at or above their ratings or draw them right down into the lower voltages like 2.5v per cell and keep them there. If you don’t charge them above 14.6v, don’t leave them in that 14.2v+ range for long periods, don’t draw huge amps relative to the size and don’t let them get near 10v before recharging them a bit. Then quality cells like EVE or Winston cells should last you almost a life time.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    I went super dodgy and bought 4 kings 120ah for the boat
    1 sounders
    1 electric motor
    1 fridge and pie warmer
    1 spare for electric for bigger weekends
    they work and havnt blown up and I treat em like crap dropping them to allow low voltage shutoff etc

Dodgy ?

I'm still to find someone who has said that their Kings LliFePO$ is no good - Anytime I'm away & I see someone using them ..... I ask their opinion & it is always positive.

OK bearing in mind that the Kings battery is pretty new to market < 2 years .

I'm certainly thinking about buying one of their 200amp LiFePO$ for my canopy - particularly when running two fridges.

Dodgy as in paying under half or more what a name brand costs.
    and that some kings stuff is just cheap rubbish with poor reviews online

I did use renogys in the last boat but I didn’t want I wait for delivery and was driving past kings at the time they were on sale

Dodgy as in paying under half or more what a name brand costs.
    and that some kings stuff is just cheap rubbish with poor reviews online

I did use renogys in the last boat but I didn’t want I wait for delivery and was driving past kings at the time they were on sale
    Kings is like that - some stuff is good value others not so

I for one would have questioned the quality of a Kings battery at these prices .......

I’m sure they will last long enough and 2k for 480ah is cheap

you get what you pay for.

Marine outfitting solutions
    www.moosemarine.com.au

i understand that but for my use which is non critical and non safety related and unfortunately not frequent enough the risk is low and the savings huge.

Quote Originally Posted by Tracker View Post
    if its the same guy that attends markets and has a store in hb I've bought different stuff ocver the years no worries.
    As for lithium, repowered caravan with 2 x 120x itech batteries,red arc 1230 s3 bms.(4 solarpanels on roof) and has only had 240 volt once since leaving. Fit it up in nov 22 and van is now in tassie
    lucky I guess
    I’m sure they will last long enough and 2k for 480ah is cheap
    Tracker and Steve. Have you guys capacity tested your batteries using a calibrated smart shunt like the Victron BMV? I have heard bad things about the stated capacity of the ITechWorld batteries coming up well short of their stated capacity.
    Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.

lovely80, no i havnt as i dont own a shunt.

i just have victron 12v 25ah charger and all 4 came in at 122ah put in.
    thats from running them to low voltage shutdown with the waeco fridge

itech do a cheaper 100 ah battery now for around 600 but it physically looks like all the other cheapies out there