Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Project Hornet

Re: Project Hornet

Quote Originally Posted by chris69 View Post
    Are you going to put a wrap on it ? .
    The way that it is turning out - not for a while

Once I get the new rego stickers - I'll touch up some jetty rash & polish it up ....... I think it will look pretty good & then I can spend that money on things like LiFePO4 cranking & house batteries.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    The way that it is turning out - not for a while

Once I get the new rego stickers - I'll touch up some jetty rash & polish it up ....... I think it will look pretty good & then I can spend that money on things like LiFePO4 cranking & house batteries.

I just saw a cheap 280 amp battery kit on lifepo4 oz for around $1315 eve cells that will be a good house battery and run your tv screens.

Quote Originally Posted by chris69 View Post
    I just saw a cheap 280 amp battery kit on lifepo4 oz for around $1315 eve cells that will be a good house battery and run your tv screens.
    Hi Chris

I've been really pleased with the Lithumax batteries in the Barcrusher

Product Page | Lithiumax 2020

This deep start 100 has 1200CCA & 100amp capacity combined with another 100 amp LiFePO4 should cover me ...... that's about 160amps of usable capacity for around 24 kgs in weight

Welcome buy and project Chris , at least your enjoying it as sell as end up with a new Fishing platform.
    Doing good from the looks n sounds of it.

With the crap weather the southern states have had recently you may as well move to Qld Chris.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell

Quote Originally Posted by Volvo View Post
    Welcome buy and project Chris , at least your enjoying it as sell as end up with a new Fishing platform.
    Doing good from the looks n sounds of it.
    Yeh , pretty pleased with how it's going & i'm confident that it's going to meet my expectations - The beauty of having owned one before .

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    With the crap weather the southern states have had recently you may as well move to Qld Chris.
    That would be nice ..... but work & family will keep me here in Shitney

I went & saw the local Merc dealer yesterday to do my boat code / rego transfer stuff plus to have a chat about the Smartcraft gauges - Talk about a sting . The little 4 LCD Smartcraft gauge ill set me back close to $2500 (incl fitting)

With the old consoles roto moulded top a little worst for wear - plus all the gauge holes & cutout ( for stereo ) that would need to be fixed with new facia panels . I decided to get in touch with Quintrex via a local dealer to obtain a quote for a new side console . (cant get the rotomoulded top) . Rather than a new Hornet console I'm looking at one of their sport consoles that look much better & doesnt come with a rotomoulded top half . Not too bad for $1300 Alloy-Sports-Console.jpg

What do you reckon the cost of a packet of T50 marine stainless steel staples are worth (1000 pack) ?

$79

ink is I paid a fortune for 100 sealed full alloy rivets in 2.6 and 4.8mm

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    $79

ink is I paid a fortune for 100 sealed full alloy rivets in 2.6 and 4.8mm
    Try $130

Want to sell a few ?

I ordered a river boat yesterday and plan to do the front and rear decks myself

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    Want to sell a few ?

I ordered a river boat yesterday and plan to do the front and rear decks myself
    Sorry mate I've locked them in a safety deposit box .

Hey & I tell you what ...... buying stainless staples is difficult . Be careful - you can buy stainless staples but they are not for marine environments - the ones you should look out for are called "Monel" - these are for salt water environments.

The brand is Arrow & I ended up getting them from Blackwoods

All good
    thanks for the info

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Sorry mate I've locked them in a safety deposit box .

Hey & I tell you what ...... buying stainless staples is difficult . Be careful - you can buy stainless staples but they are not for marine environments - the ones you should look out for are called "Monel" - these are for salt water environments.

The brand is Arrow & I ended up getting them from Blackwoods

I agree finding the right SS staples in this day and age is a nightmare. BTW Monel is mostly Nickle with copper plus a few other minerals.
    One of the sad signs of our times is that we have demonized those who produce, subsidized those who refuse to produce and canonized those who complain.
    Thomas Sowell