Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Quintrex Hornet alternatives

Re: Quintrex Hornet alternatives

I quite like my Stacer Assault Pro.
    or you could go for this https://www.bossboats.com.au/inshore-series-6x/

Quote Originally Posted by billfisher View Post
    Hmm, funny then how it's good enough for critical applications like pipes, construction, automotive, etc and problems are practically unheard of.
    You think ?

I've been a primary manufacturer / supplier of additives , pigments & polymers for that 32 years ...... I've seen (still see) the problems & know how easy it is to stuff up .

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    I quite like my Stacer Assault Pro.
    or you could go for this https://www.bossboats.com.au/inshore-series-6x/
    What size & model of the assault pro do you own ? - Stacer are part of Telwater are they not (same family as Quintrex / Savage) ?

That bossboat looks very sexy but I'm trying to keep the size under 5m & avoid going down the bass boat route or top ender (too close to my Barcrusher) .

My aim is to have a mid sized boat - casting deck (s) to do some cod / yellas / bass & impoundment barra fishing ..... with a big enough motor to do 60km ph ....... but small enough to run up on a bank for camping . So whatever boat I consider has to tick those boxes .

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    You think ?

I've been a primary manufacturer / supplier of additives , pigments & polymers for that 32 years ...... I've seen (still see) the problems & know how easy it is to stuff up .

Well, anything is possible with human error, but it would also have to get past quality control, But I have never come across a bad batch of plastic. Never heard of it either. There are plenty of things to potentially go wrong with aluminium and fiberglass. Look at any boating forum. I have only heard of 2 problems with Polycraft and they were both with 6m models and nothing to do with the compounding. PS: you were nagging us when they were new on the market that they would never stand up to sun exposure with to your 'inside industry knowledge' - that didn't age too well did it?

Quote Originally Posted by chris69 View Post
    Aluvan boats the builder designer was building quintrex a decades .
    I wasn't that impressed with the finish of their boats when I looked for a mate a few years back - It wasn't anywhere near as good as the Seajay I owned at the time . Seajay was an excellent benchmark for build quality .

I'll certainly look again when I'm over in the shire next .

Well, anything is possible with human error, but it would also have to get past quality control, But I have never come across a bad batch of plastic. Never heard of it either. There are plenty of things to potentially go wrong with aluminium and fiberglass. Look at any boating forum. I have only heard of 2 problems with Polycraft and they were both with 6m models and nothing to do with the compounding.
    Being a batch process (compounding) human error does come into play - QC usually just involves a moisture , melt flow index & colour test . Generally they do not test for additive type or level . All it takes is to put the wrong amount or type of stabilizer & you have a ticking time bomb ......... I've seen it on roto moulded water tanks , NBN Cable , Synthetic grass , shade cloth , stadium seating , mobile garbage bins etc etc etc

Bad plastic - no - but choose the wrong grade for the application or have a poorly compounded one & you end up with failures.

Take what I've said however you like - but that's what I do for a living.

Being a batch process (compounding) human error does come into play - QC usually just involves a moisture , melt flow index & colour test . Generally they do not test for additive type or level . All it takes is to put the wrong amount or type of stabilizer & you have a ticking time bomb ......... I've seen it on roto moulded water tanks , NBN Cable , Synthetic grass , shade cloth , stadium seating , mobile garbage bins etc etc etc

Bad plastic - no - but choose the wrong grade for the application or have a poorly compounded one & you end up with failures.

Take what I've said however you like - but that's what I do for a living.

Well, there is Quality Assurance as well. Checks are put in place, so mistakes are avoided in the first place - and industry is much more competitive these days. And it'd hardly rocket science - picking the correct additives and quantities. It can't see why it would be more error prone than making fiberglass or aluminium boats. They are more hand made. Aluminium boats have many welds which require a lot of skill to do properly, With fiberglass the correct amount of catalyst has to be mixed and it is sensitive to environmental factors like temperature and moisture. It has to be laid up correctly and wooden stringers have to be protected from moisture.

PS: what happened to you notion when they were new on the market that they would never stand up to sun exposure?

Well, there is Quality Assurance as well. Checks are put in place, so mistakes are avoided in the first place - and industry is much more competitive these days. And it'd hardly rocket science - picking the correct additives and quantities. It can't see why it would be more error prone than making fiberglass or aluminium boats. They are more hand made. Aluminium boats have many welds which require a lot of skill to do properly, With fiberglass the correct amount of catalyst has to be mixed and it is sensitive to environmental factors like temperature and moisture. It has to be laid up correctly and wooden stringers have to be protected from moisture.

PS: what happened to you notion when they were new on the market that they would never stand up to sun exposure?
    Sorry - I wont go further into it for obvious reasons (my job)

G'day Chris, my Assault Pro is the 449 measures 4.6m physically.
    The 4.8m with a 90 will pull your 60kph target and probably cruise at 50kph.
    Then the Assault range goes in several models up to a 5.29m version up to 150hp.
    https://www.stacer.com.au/aluminium-...e/assault-pros

You think ?

and all these aussie boat manufacturers use aussie ally ?

I dont like polycrafts with their weird bloopy noise and heavy for their size but ive never seen a report of a plastic issue with them
    and untold hundreds of dodgy or split welds in aussie alloy boats.

roto,moulding is super simple and the water tanks in my back yard are 10 years old andlook brand new still

just avoid the frontiers have seen a few with 2 guys up the front and as their i sno hull under the front deck for flotation the rear prop pops out of the water

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    and all these aussie boat manufacturers use aussie ally ?

I dont like polycrafts with their weird bloopy noise and heavy for their size but ive never seen a report of a plastic issue with them
    and untold hundreds of dodgy or split welds in aussie alloy boats.

roto,moulding is super simple and the water tanks in my back yard are 10 years old andlook brand new still

just avoid the frontiers have seen a few with 2 guys up the front and as their i sno hull under the front deck for flotation the rear prop pops out of the water
    Lets just say - If you understood the roto moulding process - you wouldn't be so enthusiastic .

it's a passive melting of the polymer under no pressure ..... like making an Easter egg . melt the material & it coats the mould & builds up the thickness .

Take the same material & injection mould it ...... & you have a much tougher finished product with greater impact & tensile strength. ..... thousands of tonnes / sq inch of pressure ensure that the material in well compacted & you obtain the bonding / alignment of polymer chains .

Rotomoulding is a cheaper form of manufacturing plastic products when compared to injection moulding ... like your water tanks

Ausfish Silver Member Ducksnutz's Avatar

I’ll say it as most on here won’t….Polycraft are as ugly as shit…. Seriously, who would look at it and think….. you sexy bugger?
    Matilda

Quote Originally Posted by Ducksnutz View Post
    I’ll say it as most on here won’t….Polycraft are as ugly as shit…. Seriously, who would look at it and think….. you sexy bugger? Esky that floats…
    Well, they have a chunky - utilitarian look that I find appealing. Maybe not as attractive as a fiberglass boat. But mine looks like new after 15 years whereas a fiberglass boat will be showing its age with gelcoat chips and fading. Also painted tinnies will be showing paint defects as won't look as good.

I do understand it we were manufacturing $USD 150-200 million worth of rotomoulded plastics per year overseas
    With western quality control and processes for a boat it’s good enough

as I said before go find a post of a major failure showing someone being killed or injured in a poly craft due to hull failures
    you won’t

Just say you don’t like polycrafts like 99 percent of boat owners and then you don’t have to type so many words trying to justify yourself.

https://www.boats.com/reviews/plasti...-construction/

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    I do understand it we were manufacturing $USD 150-200 million worth of rotomoulded plastics per year overseas
    With western quality control and processes for a boat it’s good enough

as I said before go find a post of a major failure showing someone being killed or injured in a poly craft due to hull failures
    you won’t

Just say you don’t like polycrafts like 99 percent of boat owners and then you don’t have to type so many words trying to justify yourself.

https://www.boats.com/reviews/plasti...-construction/
    I think he did in post #3