G'day youse mob, I have good news and bad news - after some serious number crunching on the new outfit I have decided to upgrade the trailer on 'the outfit' to dual axles. Main reasons relate to safety, I just don't think the trailer is as good as it can be considering the driving we will be doing chasing those finny thingos all over S E Qld. Plus we live on a road that is partial dirt - every time we go in/out we do 8km of potholes that are getting bigger every day. And a lot of the bitumen roads are in terrible conditions after all the rain, which is why I am leaning towards roller rocker springs.
Luckily I have a good mate who lives nearby with significant engineering skills - he has got the job of doing the work. After getting the outfit/car weighed, the next step will be to hit the books for all the relevant numbers for the new dual axle suspension. Then it's just a matter of sourcing all the replacement parts. The old axle, brakes and wheels/tyres will be sold on, and the trailer moved to the workshop to add the new components. We reckon it would be a right royal pain in the khyber to do the work with the boat still attached to the trailer, so the BIG question is simply how to remove the boat from the trailer while the work is being done.
I have an excellent workshop with a Happ 4000kg car hoist, so I am wondering if anyone has any experience with using one of these lo lift a boat up off a trailer. It seems to me that two heavy duty straps (1,000kg minimum) attached to the four arms of the hoist would do a perfect job of lifting the boat a few inches off the trailer, moving the trailer from under the boat, then carefully lowering the boat onto soft material. Those two main straps would be connected to other straps to avoid the main straps from slipping forward or backward.
Hoping ya's can give some advice here, I intend to take photos of the entire process and post it all here.
BP
asset.jpg