Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Better axle seals

Re: Better axle seals

dura hubs ...end of story oil can't get out water can't get in ..... six years and counting friggin awsome.

BigE

Quote Originally Posted by BigE View Post
    dura hubs ...end of story oil can't get out water can't get in ..... six years and counting friggin awsome.

BigE
    do you use a slushy mix (oil & grease) ?

Quote Originally Posted by bobfromblacky;[URL="tel:1695547"
    1695547[/URL]]Not sure mate, reckon I will just see how these seals go, Ive done all I can do with the setup as it is, that being the seals are "double lipped" their riding on Speedi sleeves, so thats as good a surface as you will get.
    Really like the idea of oil/grease mix in Durahubs though.
    sand grit kills them as they weep a little from running on the axle stub and bearing buddies makes the weeping worse
    so over time grit and sand gets stuck to the weeping grease and become abrasive and eats the seal
    wiping it down with a bit of solvent and a clean rag makes them last longer

we have contestant roadworks here with a crushed sand used from a local quarry
    add in a bit of wet weather and 100kph through the long worksites the sand did what I said above and just ate the seal out

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    do you use a slushy mix (oil & grease) ?

Hi chris .... no grease straight oil i run diff oil and moreys oil stabiliser. I keep a cheap bottle of oil in the side pocket of the ute if i ever had to top up, so far i have never needed it.
    simply awsome I went from doing bearings ever year to never doing them, I checked them for the first few years but now i just look at the glass ever now and then, best thing ever.

BigE