I used the Sika - 291 this time
https://www.bunnings.com.au/sika-150...alant_p1210592
Last time was Three Bond gasket sealant but that was because it was what I had laying around
https://www.automegastore.com.au/thr...4aAp4GEALw_wcB
I used the Sika - 291 this time
https://www.bunnings.com.au/sika-150...alant_p1210592
Last time was Three Bond gasket sealant but that was because it was what I had laying around
https://www.automegastore.com.au/thr...4aAp4GEALw_wcB
Thanks all for your help, will report back.
Stainless ring that the rubber sleeves spins on is pushed into the hub backing
marine seals have them
not sure what he installed on yours first time round
look like the box trailer seals I replaced last week
Chinese or Japanese bearings and seals???
The spring loaded seals are not recommended for boat trailers - The 2 piece marine seals are what you should be using
bearing seals.jpg
With a wheel missing that will be hard although I did see a picture somewhere of a person who undid his jockey wheel and clamped it to where the trailer wheel should have been to get him somewhere, not sure how far or fast you could travel like that.
I'm pretty sure you have a Bursons Auto store near you, they will help you out with some decent parts, that's usually where I get mine from, usually I get Timken as in my pics but one time they didn't have them in stock and they made the full kits up with some good USA bearings and seals and it turned out cheaper than the kit.
Attachment 125403
This is what I could get, Bearings are Japanese, couldn't get marine seals in 65mm od so had to use 1 piece seal again dammit!, but did tap a speedi Sleeve over the area the seal touches, will just have to see how it goes.
Other side next,.......... did get a kincrome bearing greaser, still get covered in crap but at least I know the bearings are full.
///////////////////
The hubs are called Dexter 1.8 t, which explains the non standard bearing config but wait theres more!, cant get 2 piece marine seals in 65mm OD so its speedi sleeves and me keeping an eye on things, was looking at Durahubs but will wait and see.
Dig, like that story of the jockey wheel, reckon there was a bloke here once that could better that.
in
good call Dignity.... guilty....read Tuna and Kingfish in Bobs post and the mind sort of insta jumped to next week back at the coast .......Im not really commenting on the bearing issue..Im not familiar with that set up...I rebuilt a 40 year old Tinka trailer ..last year ..and ended up keeping the axles themselves but getting the local engineer to weld one new stub HT Holden...cos one was stuffed...cost maybe $80.00 in toto...and problem over.
Not sure mate, reckon I will just see how these seals go, Ive done all I can do with the setup as it is, that being the seals are "double lipped" their riding on Speedi sleeves, so thats as good a surface as you will get.
Really like the idea of oil/grease mix in Durahubs though.