Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Better axle seals

Re: Better axle seals

Quote Originally Posted by bobfromblacky View Post
    Thanks mate, what sealant?
    I used the Sika - 291 this time
    https://www.bunnings.com.au/sika-150...alant_p1210592

Last time was Three Bond gasket sealant but that was because it was what I had laying around
    https://www.automegastore.com.au/thr...4aAp4GEALw_wcB

Thanks all for your help, will report back.

Stainless ring that the rubber sleeves spins on is pushed into the hub backing

marine seals have them
    not sure what he installed on yours first time round

look like the box trailer seals I replaced last week

Ausfish Bronze Member Stressless's Avatar

Chinese or Japanese bearings and seals???

The spring loaded seals are not recommended for boat trailers - The 2 piece marine seals are what you should be using

bearing seals.jpg

Just a bit of background to how I arrived at this scenario,
    couple days ago we fished off Philip Island Vic, its all kingfish and southern bluefin tuna at the moment, and for southerners thats big news cause the rest of the year can be ordinary, so after driving the boat/trailer up off the ramp at Hastings Vic I heard brake pad noises from kerb side wheel that required some brake stamping to set right, next day I pulled the hydraulic caliper off the kerb side wheel to inspect and lubricate, spun the hub which made a slightly horrible noise, when I removed the dust cap (the type with yellow grommet) water fell out, so there was no option but to whip the whole hub out and inspect, glad I did those races are buggered, got to get that side done first cause I cant get to other side until the wheel is back on.
    Boats going nowhere the way it is!............did I mention Its tuna time in Vic
    lol...Tuna time down there next week for 5 days...might go out Eastern Channel! If you went to Rhyll you could get Phillip Marine to have a proper look at the whole set up..perhaps while you were fishing!

Quote Originally Posted by inveratta View Post
    lol...Tuna time down there next week for 5 days...might go out Eastern Channel! If you went to Rhyll you could get Phillip Marine to have a proper look at the whole set up..perhaps while you were fishing!
    With a wheel missing that will be hard although I did see a picture somewhere of a person who undid his jockey wheel and clamped it to where the trailer wheel should have been to get him somewhere, not sure how far or fast you could travel like that.

I'm pretty sure you have a Bursons Auto store near you, they will help you out with some decent parts, that's usually where I get mine from, usually I get Timken as in my pics but one time they didn't have them in stock and they made the full kits up with some good USA bearings and seals and it turned out cheaper than the kit.

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    With a wheel missing that will be hard although I did see a picture somewhere of a person who undid his jockey wheel and clamped it to where the trailer wheel should have been to get him somewhere, not sure how far or fast you could travel like that.

I'm pretty sure you have a Bursons Auto store near you, they will help you out with some decent parts, that's usually where I get mine from, usually I get Timken as in my pics but one time they didn't have them in stock and they made the full kits up with some good USA bearings and seals and it turned out cheaper than the kit.
    CBC bearing will also sell them as a kit (Japanese bearings & Aust made seals ) for $28.80 - which is about what you pay for a Timken kit .

I went to CBC this last time because the seal inner diameter was larger than what Timken sell in the their kit .

Attachment 125403
    This is what I could get, Bearings are Japanese, couldn't get marine seals in 65mm od so had to use 1 piece seal again dammit!, but did tap a speedi Sleeve over the area the seal touches, will just have to see how it goes.
    Other side next,.......... did get a kincrome bearing greaser, still get covered in crap but at least I know the bearings are full.

///////////////////

Quote Originally Posted by inveratta View Post
    We went western entrance, trolled to pyramid rock then on to woolamai and back through eastern for a lap of the island. Nothing to report!
    Wouldnt mind knowing how you go, and good luck.

The hubs are called Dexter 1.8 t, which explains the non standard bearing config but wait theres more!, cant get 2 piece marine seals in 65mm OD so its speedi sleeves and me keeping an eye on things, was looking at Durahubs but will wait and see.
    Dig, like that story of the jockey wheel, reckon there was a bloke here once that could better that.

The hubs are called Dexter 1.8 t, which explains the non standard bearing config but wait theres more!, cant get 2 piece marine seals in 65mm OD so its speedi sleeves and me keeping an eye on things, was looking at Durahubs but will wait and see.
    Dig, like that story of the jockey wheel, reckon there was a bloke here once that could better that.
    Will those seals work with Durahubs ?

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post

in
    good call Dignity.... guilty....read Tuna and Kingfish in Bobs post and the mind sort of insta jumped to next week back at the coast .......Im not really commenting on the bearing issue..Im not familiar with that set up...I rebuilt a 40 year old Tinka trailer ..last year ..and ended up keeping the axles themselves but getting the local engineer to weld one new stub HT Holden...cos one was stuffed...cost maybe $80.00 in toto...and problem over.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Will those seals work with Durahubs ?
    Not sure mate, reckon I will just see how these seals go, Ive done all I can do with the setup as it is, that being the seals are "double lipped" their riding on Speedi sleeves, so thats as good a surface as you will get.
    Really like the idea of oil/grease mix in Durahubs though.