Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Renegade 420, Outlaw tiller steer or similar?

Renegade 420, Outlaw tiller steer or similar?

Still looking around for a tiller steer tinnie around 4.2m. The Renegades get a great wrap from most who own one.
    Any thing else I should look at?
    Second hand and more towards heavy duty, not a light weight tinnie is my preference but won't discount new.
    I want to use it in places like Hinchinbrook, Trinity Inlet etc.
    I also want to be able to tow it behind a larger boat for some extended fishing trips up the west side of Cape York and around Princess Charlette Bay and places like that.
    I was looking at Polycraft for a while but too many people comment on how wet the ride is so have cooled a little on them.

TMC

Re: Renegade 420, Outlaw tiller steer or similar?

It's a bit tricky this one, heavy duty and Quintrex don't quite go together, and towing and heavy duty sort of conflict as well! But that said, all in all, the Quintrex/Stacer/Savage all kind of fit well in to a price point (read cheaper) but once you start going "heavy duty" it opens an entirely different world.

I haven’t priced a heavy duty 450 sized boat since before I bought the renegade 420, 420 was a bit small for them to bother with or make work
    but it was 10k more for one of the custom guys to make it in 4-5mm aluminium ans it also needed more hp due to the weight 70-90hp for a 450

It is probably more now as outboards have gone up 30-40 percent in some sizes since then

Renegade 420, Outlaw tiller steer or similar?

I can vouch for a bluefin in a 4.5 , the only real problem I had was the ply on the floor was crap but it was a great boat with wide spray chines that kept the water out mostly . They are said to be wet but I found it was the way they are driven the same as any open tinnie but all just an opinion , I had mine for 14 yr and over 1 thousand hours run time when I go to buy another boat next year they are high on my list . Matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

And if you are going to tow behind the big boat look at a fully welded self draining ally floor. That'll push the price up znother $1500, give or take.

The most basic tinny that is actually boarder line heavy duty would be the Sea Jay tinnies they are much deeper hulls than any others in its range on the market

Ausfish Silver Member Ducksnutz's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    I can vouch for a bluefin in a 4.5 , the only real problem I had was the ply on the floor was crap but it was a great boat with wide spray chines that kept the water out mostly . They are said to be wet but I found it was the way they are driven the same as any open tinnie but all just an opinion , I had mine for 14 yr and over 1 thousand hours run time when I go to buy another boat next year they are high on my list . Matt
    I agree Matt. I had a 4.5 Bluefin Warrior and they are bloody tanks!

Great boats if driven right and great if you can load gear in the boat to get the balance right with esky’s and tackle etc.

Not many open boats in that size that won’t cop a spray from time to time in certain conditions. Never bothered me living in Queensland and copping a bit of salt bath….good for the soul I reckon…
    Matilda

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2006au View Post
    The most basic tinny that is actually boarder line heavy duty would be the Sea Jay tinnies they are much deeper hulls than any others in its range on the market
    My last enquiry 2 months ago from Sea Jay was that they could build a boat for me and be available in March 2023, they had that much work on their plate.

You will probably pay more for a new 4.2m Renegade then this serious bit of custom built kit that a local FNQ bloke is selling.....

This would do any creek and lake work as well as take you offshore as safe and comfortable as any 5m boat will..

super vee 5m.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    You will probably pay more for a new 4.2m Renegade then this serious bit of custom built kit that a local FNQ bloke is selling.....

This would do any creek and lake work as well as take you offshore as safe and comfortable as any 5m boat will..

super vee 5m.jpg
    Mmmm! I might have to do a trip up that way as that looks interesting, might have to do it solo as the boss won't travel after tomorrow, some immunity issues and mentally she can't get over it.

Ausfish Silver Member Ducksnutz's Avatar

super vee 5m.jpg
    Ripper of a boat and price!
    Matilda

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Mmmm! I might have to do a trip up that way as that looks interesting, might have to do it solo as the boss won't travel after tomorrow, some immunity issues and mentally she can't get over it.

I'm happy to take a look at it for you Sam..its 20 minutes down the road and I know the owner as I have have bought stuff off his tissue culture lab..I didnt even know he owned that boat but I dont think it will last long at that price with a nice low hours 4 stroke on the back..

super vee 5m.jpg
    I'm happy to take a look at it for you Sam..its 20 minutes down the road and I know the owner as I have have bought stuff off his tissue culture lab..I didnt even know he owned that boat but I dont think it will last long at that price with a nice low hours 4 stroke on the back..
    Scott, can you send me the link to that site please.
    Thanks.

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Scott, can you send me the link to that site please.
    Thanks.
    Just sent you his phone number Sam..

Thanks, got it.