Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Quality trailer bearings

Re: Quality trailer bearings - blonde moment

Well the bearings are done - All the bearings were in very good condition , Infact 2 were so good that the grease was still red ( reddish) - even the seals were good on all but the very first one that I did .

OK I had my blonde moment though I knocked in the rear bearing retainer ( or what ever you call it ) - looked across & noticed two beautifully greased up bearings

oooooops

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Well the bearings are done - All the bearings were in very good condition , Infact 2 were so good that the grease was still red ( reddish) - even the seals were good on all but the very first one that I did .

OK I had my blonde moment though I knocked in the rear bearing retainer ( or what ever you call it ) - looked across & noticed two beautifully greased up bearings

oooooops

Haha so u forgot the bearing we all have those moments

oooooops

Well at least you saw the bearings before putting it back together and driving up the road with only the outer ones fitted like I did....

oooooops

Glad I'm not the only one. Went to help Funchy with his and under my tutelage the same thing happened, a little embarrassed but easily fixed.

Re: Quality trailer bearings

My trick which someone has already mentioned is if you have a welder just run a small bead opposite sides and they fall out. To install the new cones I put them in the freezer over night and they fall in the hub. Sometime just a gentle tap to finish them off. Dry ice works even better. Do a lot of clearance fit bearings using heat and cooling. Many ways to skin a cat. Interesting all the different methods people use. When it comes to bearings I buy from SKF or BSA. SKF use to make most bearing sizes in a aircraft grade. A little more expensive but built like a brick shithouse. When I have rebuilt transmissions or engines for myself I have always gone with a better quality bearing. Boat trailers getting sunk in the salt water is not the best as we all know and bloody hard to get much life out of them. When I get my rego notice for my trailers that triggers me to pull the bearings and clean them up and check. I always replace the seals even if they are still fine. One little trick I have seen when repairing a boat trailer was the owner got some SS speedy sleeves machined up to fit the axels so the seals ran on a clean smooth surface. He also had bearing buddies and reckon with this combination worked well for him.

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    Well at least you saw the bearings before putting it back together and driving up the road with only the outer ones fitted like I did....
    Wouldn't have got that far as I would have had a hell of a time trying to get the play out of it when fitting .

It's one of those things that your focus is getting those races knocked in ...... then that bloody retainer & you forget about what the main aim is ..... replace the bearing

All good though , no harm done .

Aside from my back being shagged - the wallet is a bit lighter as well

For those interested , The cost of replacing 4 sets of bearings

Bearings / seals (NTN Japan) $115 ,
    Grease (Nulon L80 Extreme performance ) 1 cartridge & 1 Tub $44
    Loctite $18
    Self amalgamating tape $12
    Degreaser (supercheap) 2 Cans $6
    Lanox 1 Can $12

Total $207 (Parts & consumables)

Bearing installation kit (Toledo) $158

So the exercise cost me $365.
    By way of comparison - I was recently quoted $1000 + Parts by a trailer builder .

At least I know that quality bearings & grease was used - Brakes & springs were also cleaned / lubricated .

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2006au View Post
    Haha so u forgot the bearing we all have those moments
    Nah , I just wanted to practice knocking those retainers in

1k to replace wheel bearings? No way that atlease 8 hours labour, 2 hours a wheel? Geez

A lot of new boat owners around who haven't got a clue, enough so called tradies that figure it is easy money or maybe didn't want the job.

Yeh mate I thought it was steep too .....hence why I didn't go that way .

A mate in Brissy was paying $400 for a 2 wheel trailer. ...... that's a couple of years ago.

I'm not sure how long it takes for someone with all the right gear - I would have thought 5-6 hours though (doing the job properly)

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    A lot of new boat owners around who haven't got a clue, enough so called tradies that figure it is easy money or maybe didn't want the job.
    Yeh that may have been the case ..... gouging or not wanting the job . I know I was shocked when quoted - I was expecting $100 / wheel . I was running out of time on a short notice trip ..... then we got hit with Covid restrictions - so didn't do anything till just this past week.

all good though - saved money & more importantly found out that I had different bearings & seals