We have no options..Just Ergon...
So you get twice the price as us for your feed in....I'm really jealous..
We have no options..Just Ergon...
So you get twice the price as us for your feed in....I'm really jealous..
And my previous provider asked why I was leaving as the buy tariff was very similar.
Do you have 3 phase power to your property
THIS NOT DIRECTED AT ANYONE - IT IS FACT
I was a COP in NSW for over 30 years. I remember not long after a joined I was transferred to an area which had an entire suburbs (several) of Housing Commission. I obviously had a sheltered childhood as I’d never even heard of housing commission. Anyway, I initially felt sorry for these people being in a position where they needed government assistance, but spending large parts of shifts in these suburbs I quickly found that the vast majority could not give a hoot as long as they had their hands greased every fortnight and got everything they needed for nothing.
Then one day I had cause to go to a house where a young girl 19 or 20 lived with her three (yes three) children. I got talking to her thinking she was doing it tough, but when I asked her where she lived before here, she quickly told me she grew up in Mount Druitt and when she and her sister were old enough they got their own housing home.
Unfortunately they believe its away of life and each generation will get their own free house and a fortnightly payment.
Very sad, but I feel it’s the government’s that allow this by just giving, giving, giving.
There is no incentive whatsoever to fend for yourself.
True Facts
Shakey - If only I lived near the coast
Since we’re giving stories regarding Housing commission etc. and certainly not directed at anyone…..
I grew up in a Housing commission community along with my mum, brother and sister after my deadbeat dad left when I was 6 and never paid a dollar to raise us.
I started my Carpentry apprenticeship at 16 and left home a year later and after 35 years as a chippy, I’ve never had a Centrelink payment or any government handout including that Kevin Rudd stimulus package he was throwing out to anyone.
The cycle of “Houso” can be broken if someone is motivated to do something with their life. My two adult kids are both working. One in upper management, and my son is also a qualified chippy heading into supervising large projects.
Just a different view that not all of us follow in the footsteps of circumstances put upon us by no fault of our own.
Matilda
It's a sad reality - I grew up in St Marys (adjoining suburb to Mt Druitt) - One side of my street were housing commission & the other side were private . My first place I lived when I moved out was Mt Druitt ....... so I got to see life at the bottom end . There are a hell of a lot of people who are just lower income earners , lots of single mums ...... & then you have the dead shits - those that either do not give a hoot - wait for their hand out , let their kids run feral (out all night / skip school etc) ...... I saw it first hand as I hung out & grew up with some of these . Unfortunately , I used to hear that many were hanging out to get the dole when they left school ..... no drive , no ambition . That said ... one of my clients came off the streets of Mt Druitt & is now a very successful businessman .
What may surprise you - this doesn't just happen at impoverished suburbs like Mt Druitt (btw the suburb just recently had a $2m house sale )
Go to a place like Cronulla & check out the surfie dudes who share houses / pool resources just to surf. I also lived in Cronulla & experienced more theft / breakins than when I lived in St Marys & Mt Druitt.
ppppppppppppppp
Hey Col,
It’s a similar situation in Victoria (Moe and Morwell Victoria) where I grew up in Housing Commission. Some great AFL players came from the Gippsland region.
I played Aussie rules until I was 34 and for me the footy club was my “stable” family if that makes sense? It gave me values, discipline and father figures that helped guide me in the right direction.
Sport is a fantastic, understated recreation that should not be overlooked in developing under privileged kids from all backgrounds.
All in my humble opinion of course.
Matilda
Vote Labour at the next election..
They are actively campaigning to "fix" the welfare problems...
https://www.alp.org.au/petitions/its...ease-newstart/
Typical Labour policy...throw more money at it and ,like magic, the problem is fixed...
They are also campaigning to spend billions on upgrading social housing...
https://www.alp.org.au/repairsocialhousing
A fancier pad and larger dole check will certainly help fix generational unemployment...not...
Struggling is not having 10k and thousands year on year to spend on boats cars and so on
struggling is a aged pensioner getting pneumonia because they can’t afford heating and poor nutrition
struggling is a single mum leaving an abusive relationship and not eating every day to put two kids through school
I know and help a couple of friends who are in the above situations by no choice of their own
what would help them ? A public housing house
are any available even for a short term to get back into their feet ? Nope
unfortunately the lazy bludgers take funding that could be used to help true need
life’s tough and unfair and will always be that way, i can buy a new rod or some groceries for a mate charity isn’t always a government thing to fix
pppppppppppppppppp
For me I think unemployment benefits, especially for those under 30 should only be used for short term unemployment. If you are under 30 (an argument for all ages can be made easily I think) and have been unemployed for more than 6 months. Then to keep receiving benefits you should have to be enrolled in some sort of training programme. Whether that’s computer skills, trade skills what ever it may be.
sooner or later some of these dead shits that don’t want to work will get to a point where they understand that they are competent enough to be earning a good living in what will become something that is not hard for them to do. I can imagine it’s a daunting feeling being unskilled and trying to be in the workforce. But if you’re being forced to spend 6 hours a day, 5 days a week learning to type or work with Microsoft Office products. Whether it’s Welding or fibre glassing etc at some point you’ll realise you could be earning over $1000 a week doing the exact same thing.
Democracy: Simply a system that allows the 51% to steal from the other 49%.
1972 - 1982 I lived in Blacktown. Only Aussie in a street of foreigners. Most of them couldn’t speak or write English. But they did whatever was necessary to earn a living. Whether it was cleaning or labouring or similar menial jobs. Being on the dole was beneath them. They took great pride in carrying their weight and not relying on the public teat. Great bunch of people.
My parents were from that stock - Imagine ( this is true)
Walking 1km to the station at 5am ... carrying your tools (chippie) - getting on a train .... travel to Sydney - then on a bus out to Diamond Bay (Vaucluse) to build these in the 60s Diamond bay towers.jpg
That was 5 hrs a day (travel).... for 3 years
I'm still in awe of what he did & sacrificed ..... 22 years before he bought a car - spent the money sending the 5 kids to a private school instead.
There was definitely something about those post war (displaced people) who came to this country ..... the ones that were called wogs