I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman - Page 21
Page 21 of 26 FirstFirst ... 11121314151617181920212223242526 LastLast

Thread: I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

Re: I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

If you are not working then you can pick your days. Last Thurs was dead calm offshore. There are plenty of fish around if you can get out, eg kingies of Coogee. Also nothing stopping you fishing the Georges and Botany Bay.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    What a load of nonsense - You live near to a very productive Jewie river system (Georges River) & you have ideal conditions to catch them . Best of all you wont burn much fuel in towing or running the boat.
    A mate up at Port Stephens has slayed them this past week ..... smart enough to know what to target in adverse conditions . .

so many options

middle hawksbury for flathead and bream
    pittwater is fishable in certain wind conditions
    prawns are about in certain areas
    as nagg said jew fish in the georges, catch bait find a hole and anchor up (perfect for someone who says they are awake all night)

Find better sources of information as there are fish about

Quote Originally Posted by billfisher View Post
    If you are not working then you can pick your days. Last Thurs was dead calm offshore. There are plenty of fish around if you can get out, eg kingies of Coogee. Also nothing stopping you fishing the Georges and Botany Bay.
    would love to just be able to go when ever, local river is at flood warning and the big dams are deadly in the wind atm
    im on 3 weeks leave and have only been out twice

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    What a load of nonsense - You live near to a very productive Jewie river system (Georges River) & you have ideal conditions to catch them . Best of all you wont burn much fuel in towing or running the boat.
    A mate up at Port Stephens has slayed them this past week ..... smart enough to know what to target in adverse conditions . .

Georges River is polluted the Chipping Norton Lake has warning signs up do not swim, Jewies i find the hardest fish to catch btw

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    so many options

middle hawksbury for flathead and bream
    pittwater is fishable in certain wind conditions
    prawns are about in certain areas
    as nagg said jew fish in the georges, catch bait find a hole and anchor up (perfect for someone who says they are awake all night)

Find better sources of information as there are fish about
    Some times it takes us 2 hours to get to the hawkesbury on agood day its about 45mins with hardly any traffic

So ?
    what’s the issue time or fuel to get there ?
    cant be time you don’t work

can make excuses but the excuse there’s nothing to catch because it’s a bit wet and windy isn’t there

I downloaded the maritime maps cant see any holes in the upper half of georges river, we have only caught one tine jewie at the milperra bridge about 8 years ago i have tried casting soft plastics there but the fish kept bitting the tails off so probably tailor i went through nearly a whole packet of burkleys

My hot spot for mullet is chipping norton lake i can grab some than motor to the milperra bridge but no where safely to park my trailer

1 hour loading the boat up than 1-2hour drive to hawkesbury than 6 hours on the water, 1-2 hour trip home another 1 hour to move the boat out the back i will be literraly shagged

Just going to port hacking the last 2 trips has kicked my ass loading the boat and reparking it is so fn draining i need to jack up the front of trailer 8-9 times each time the trailer is moved from the backyard to front or vise versa

I'll do a bit more looking into jewies migrating up the georges i may give it another go but i think its a shit hole lol

if your shagged doing that wait till you purchase your big boy 24 footer

And its 2021 can catch jew fish on artificials easy enough

Quote Originally Posted by blacklab View Post
    If it was easy Gazza, every flog would be doin it

Some of my most memorable sessions, have been when conditions would have said, stay at home !!!....

Steve, the weather's about to change..
    wading the sand flats in pissing down rain with a handful of lures and a shoulder bag is one for me
    no mobile or car keys that cant get soaked just keys on lanyard round the neck and off you go

winds dropping a bit so going to hit blowering or mulwala this week

Found a teenage kid doing youtube videos and he named a suburb or two than i honed in on his exact locations and to my surprise i have been there heaps of times just not for fishing, he mentions he catches jewies any tide all thru tbe day on soft plastics they are all small jewies 50-60cm but they are bigger than the 20cm one my mate caught at the milpera bridge

There is secure parking near by but the poddys are a good drive away, im ganna give it a try

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2006au View Post
    Georges River is polluted the Chipping Norton Lake has warning signs up do not swim, Jewies i find the hardest fish to catch btw
    Lower reaches mate . The water quality is reasonably good anywhere down from Alfords pt

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2006au View Post
    Some times it takes us 2 hours to get to the hawkesbury on agood day its about 45mins with hardly any traffic
    Plan your trip

Back in the 90s I would fish offshore from the Hawkesbury during Summer full moon periods ....... the boat was prepared the day before , I'd get home from work .... 4pm - hook the boat up & head to Brooklyn ...... I'd get out to my spot at Easts reef about 6pm ..... get the baits out & chill till sunset - then usually have an insane session till dark - head home at 9pm ..... by the time the fish were cleaned I'd be home sometime about 11.30 pm

Well worth it too

i use to finish at 4pm drive to mates place grab his boat and head up to parsley bay and fish flint n steel or lion island till midnight
    back home at 2 and up again at 6 for work