Page 20 of 26 FirstFirst ... 1011121314151617181920212223242526 LastLast

Thread: I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

Wink Re: I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

Quote Originally Posted by gazza2006au View Post
    This hull was for sale 4 years ago when i started my project i really wanted to buy this boat than the add was taking down and now its relisted, if i had $2500 i reckon i would have been on my way right now to check it out

24 foot savage half cabin he is towing it with the average straight 6 ford falcon ute too
    Looks like the owner had been taking salts looking at that toilet, somersaults

Re: I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

This hull was for sale 4 years ago when i started my project i really wanted to buy this boat than the add was taking down and now its relisted, if i had $2500 i reckon i would have been on my way right now to check it out

24 foot savage half cabin he is towing it with the average straight 6 ford falcon ute too
    Sorry - why exactly would you want a old boat like this ?

It's not as if they were some amazing hull or desirable boat ...... I don't get it

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post

It's not as if they were some amazing hull or desirable boat ...... I don't get it

I'm pretty sure he is just trolling at this point

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Looks like the owner had been taking salts looking at that toilet, somersaults
    Maybe he had a case of Gaztro...

I cant afford 25k up front for a 24 foot boat so it makes sense to rebuild and restore instead of spending 25k only to find shes rotted 2 years later

Quote Originally Posted by shortthenlong View Post
    Maybe he had a case of Gaztro...
    You sound like a real dick, how about being constructive?

I cant afford 25k up front for a 24 foot boat so it makes sense to rebuild and restore instead of spending 25k only to find shes rotted 2 years later
    I think what we all want to know, is why would a bloke on the dole, that wants to get out for a couple of hours and chase a flattie, kingie or a squid and doesnt even actually eat fish, want to burden himself with a big old clunker of a boat thats going to cost a fortune to do up and get operational and maintain...and is likely not going to be worth that much in the end anyway, particularly as you already have an affordable boat that you can use......man why dont you just go fishing and enjoy some time on the water...after years of not having a working boat and having no daily commitments I'm amazed that you arent spending every waking hour planning a trip or getting amongst it...

Not having a go at anyone here, but a funny memory springs to mind.

Was travelling up the highway and came across the remains of an old bondwood caravan totally destroyed into a thousand pieces no bigger than a box of beer. The wreckage was spread along the median strip for about 250mtrs. The a-frame was twisted into obscene angles.
    And in the middle of the carnage was a sign.

For Sale.
    Suit Handyman.

Quote Originally Posted by disorderly View Post
    I think what we all want to know, is why would a bloke on the dole, that wants to get out for a couple of hours and chase a flattie, kingie or a squid and doesnt even actually eat fish, want to burden himself with a big old clunker of a boat thats going to cost a fortune to do up and get operational and maintain...and is likely not going to be worth that much in the end anyway, particularly as you already have an affordable boat that you can use......man why dont you just go fishing and enjoy some time on the water...after years of not having a working boat and having no daily commitments I'm amazed that you arent spending every waking hour planning a trip or getting amongst it...
    I would love to be doing that but the fish arnt on the chew atm, last fishing trip was pretty shit one big slimy a few small flathead than the big storms hit and all im reading on fishing groups is the weather is terrable and no ones catching much fish yet, it may be a really quiet summer, when i use to go with mates i was always on to king fish in october

I think all the fresh flushing out waterways is impacting the fish

Quote Originally Posted by TheGurn View Post
    Not having a go at anyone here, but a funny memory springs to mind.

Was travelling up the highway and came across the remains of an old bondwood caravan totally destroyed into a thousand pieces no bigger than a box of beer. The wreckage was spread along the median strip for about 250mtrs. The a-frame was twisted into obscene angles.
    And in the middle of the carnage was a sign.

For Sale.
    Suit Handyman.
    The boat i rebuild is fibreglass, that 24ft savage is fibreglass, i would never buy a bondwood shitter hull

That wasn't directed at you gazza. Just a memory spurred by restoring old stuff that might give someone a smile.
    I'll fade back into the shadows now.
    Not the place for humour obviously.

Quote Originally Posted by TheGurn View Post
    That wasn't directed at you gazza. Just a memory spurred by restoring old stuff that might give someone a smile.
    I'll fade back into the shadows now.
    Not the place for humour obviously.
    Ah ok i thought u may have been leaning towards old timber boats falling apart on the way home

I would love to take this on, Big Huntsman

………. Error ……….
    Last edited by shakey55; 05-12-2021 at 02:37 AM. Reason: Mistake

Just as long as he doesn't end up too far offshore as we 'll need to alert marine rescue -

I would love to be doing that but the fish arnt on the chew atm, last fishing trip was pretty shit one big slimy a few small flathead than the big storms hit and all im reading on fishing groups is the weather is terrable and no ones catching much fish yet, it may be a really quiet summer, when i use to go with mates i was always on to king fish in october

I think all the fresh flushing out waterways is impacting the fish
    What a load of nonsense - You live near to a very productive Jewie river system (Georges River) & you have ideal conditions to catch them . Best of all you wont burn much fuel in towing or running the boat.
    A mate up at Port Stephens has slayed them this past week ..... smart enough to know what to target in adverse conditions . .