Thread: Bait board with a lid

Bait board with a lid

I am on the lookout for a transom mounted bait board with a lid, so I can keep the bait out of the direct sunlight.

Has anyone seen such a thing?

Re: Bait board with a lid

Quote Originally Posted by Bremic View Post
    I am on the lookout for a transom mounted bait board with a lid, so I can keep the bait out of the direct sunlight.

better off with a small esky ...... then you not only can keep the bait out of the sun but cold as well

Dometic 22lt.jpg

Quote Originally Posted by Bremic View Post

Most boat builders would have this sort of thing going as bread and butter trade - custom bait boards.
    I’m guessing you are north of the boarder ?
    I’m in Vic.
    Anyway
    This is mine, it’s pretty much as you described.
    I use one of the live wells to store the bulk of frozen bait for each trip and pull out a few handfuls at a time and keep it under the bait board lid - out of the sun.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I had a oceansouth board which had a shallow bait hold area. The board was quite big though. Now have a bait mate Live bait tank which Ill probably use as the bait holder when Im not neeAttachment 124206ding it a a live bait tank.

My cheapie option

I fished with a mate who uses wetted down thick hessian and holds it down with 3/4 lb snapper leads.

I am playing with using thick old blankets and put an eyelet at each end with holding clips fixed at the front of the bait board so that it acts like a flap and covers the bait when needs to but allows quick access when baiting.
    I am tossing up whether it needs to cover the full bait board or only half. half is winning at the moment.

When wetted down down it has the weigh so that goes nowhere when moving and the moisture in the cloth keeps the baits moist.

The eyelets will allow it to be removed and washed.

I have one of these as I was still in a quandary what I wanted. I replaced the 3/4 cutting board that was in it with a full piece of cutting board from local plastics supplier. What I do though is keep the odd tool below the cutting board and have just a cheap bunnings tray with 5 compartments and a handle to put my bait in and sit it on top. I usually have a rag (a piece of denim from some old jeans)that I wet and put over the top, keeps bait fresh, doesn't blow off while on the water and a cinch to lift, wash the board with the deck wash and put back down. Mind you the drain hole is in the centre, stupid place. I blocked that one and put one at the rear. Not great rod holders as anything with a bit of power will most possibly break the whole thing but fine for travelling on the water.

https://www.roadtechmarine.com.au/p/...sort=relevance

Evo, I note your fish measuring sticker on the back of the bait board, do you lose any fish measuring? I had one on the the very front of the bait board and still had crew losing fish over board so have a few mounted on the side gunnels as well.

Bait board with a lid

Quote Originally Posted by Dignity View Post
    Evo, I note your fish measuring sticker on the back of the bait board, do you lose any fish measuring? I had one on the the very front of the bait board and still had crew losing fish over board so have a few mounted on the side gunnels as well.
    That’s how it came with the boat. I would not have put it there [emoji6]
    I’ve got a better measuring sticker like you, on the gunnel.
    It’s got pretty pictures and bag limits on each fish picture. That way I keep the decent size fish inside the boat [emoji106]

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk