Tow vehicle - 2.5 ton $6 to $10K - Page 3
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tow vehicle - 2.5 ton $6 to $10K

Re: Tow vehicle - 2.5 ton $6 to $10K

I thought Hayman and Reese do a heavy duty towbar kit for a falcon 2700kg? maybe that was a commodore? been a long time since i looked

Would advise against a reco engine not saying all rebuilders are less than a perfect mechanic but wrap your head around this, When i was rebuilding my Xtrail engine in my back yard i wanted new piston sir clips and new piston pins for my old pistons as they were ok i was told u can't buy it like that (im used to japanese motorcycles u can buy anything) and i was told to just reuse my old sir clips i absolutely cringed at that idea and thought to my self wtf does this guy do with all these engines he is reconditioning they must be shady as all hell could not believe he gave that advice and he was dead set on it too the point i had to go to another shop to order 4 new piston kits, This is a professional engine reconditioner in Sydney has been around a long time and still is around... its something i think back to because i had my whole cylinder head reconditioned by this bloke but 70,000km's and 4 years later its still going

I have now fixed 3 jeep chassis where the towbar has ripped out......pieces of shit they are.
    You can not mount a 3.5t trailer to 3 thicknesses of 1mm laminated steel together and expect it to hold.

Perhaps a cheap land rover discovery to tie you over for now.

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    I ...pieces of shit they are....
    Master Yoda...I have found you...[emoji1787]

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
    Would be a good vehicle for towing duties, just don't think you can do much off-road. If you don't want to, probably a good alternative.
    Yeah any serious off road on mine needs a lift kit, then smash guards under the front as oil filter is suspect to damage, plus more cover for trans etc then a lift, then a snorkel, then diff breathers, then extended brake lines, then panhards, etc. lol
    I bought a standard 4.2 maverick and went thru it all , like a boat, dollars just disappear with our dreams for what we want
    In saying that most weekend 4wd drivers don't tackle much serious stuff and mine would go ok, I have tested it a little bit, up a few hills.
    Muz

Quote Originally Posted by tunaticer View Post
    I have now fixed 3 jeep chassis where the towbar has ripped out......pieces of shit they are.
    You can not mount a 3.5t trailer to 3 thicknesses of 1mm laminated steel together and expect it to hold.
    I don't want to defend bad stuff, but mine is a 2004 rated at 3 tonne, what Jeep do you have that problem with taking 3.5 T?
    Love to hear the stats and models you had the problems with so we can all avoid that issue. Maybe later models, mine is pre 2005 and may have been manufactured differently?
    This one, same as mine, was solid on recovery and my recovery points seem solid as.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wSdpq950W3Y

Muz

Quote Originally Posted by CT View Post
    Priced the LS swap but having trouble finding real pricing for the barra. And you really are a bad influence.
    Taxi spec Barra is cheap enough but you would want a newer higher spec factory turbo and then you would need to do valve springs and head studs as you up the boost. And next thing we are making YouTube videos about our quest to build a 9 second Patrol and then we don't fish for a month or 2 as the patrol is in a container going to Drag Week.

Just a thought

Quote Originally Posted by shortthenlong View Post
    Taxi spec Barra is cheap enough but you would want a newer higher spec factory turbo and then you would need to do valve springs and head studs as you up the boost. And next thing we are making YouTube videos about our quest to build a 9 second Patrol and then we don't fish for a month or 2 as the patrol is in a container going to Drag Week.

Just a thought

So instead of three weeks in the red centre you're coming up here, we tow the boat to the ramp with your cruiser then drink piss and spin spanners at night. Turbo barra screams out of the shed three weeks later, albeit without the bonnet because I'm still a bogan at heart.

Tunaticer, mate you are correct looks like 2018 JL Wranglers have weld issues on the frame/chassis and have had a recall.
    Glad mine is an oldie

Muz

What about a 2004 grand Cherokee petrol or same vintage disco 4 petrol? What’s the reliability like on these if under 200k kms? Or better off going 1999 cruiser 100 series with higher kms?

see that jeep v8 absolutley skull drag that triton , must have had the quadra trac 11 on it for sure........

not sure how they go with towing, in regard to towing with the live axles, but they must be good for 2500kg you be thinking..

Are the jeeps a ladder chassis, or unitary (car-type) body? Car type bodies are usually difficult to get a good towbar mount to, hence their low rating. On another note, the same RAC recovery man up here says that Grand Cherokees are his best customers for 4wd recovery scenarios--owners keep confusing the ability to tow 3.5 to with actually off-road ability. had to drag a neighbour's visitor off the beach here once, driving a Cherokee, same scenario.

Really think it would be hard to go past a petty Patrol or Cruiser or an old school naturally aspirated 4.2 diesel if you aren't worried about top end but at this sort of budget, unless you manage to fluke it you are really dodging bullets regardless of brand. There has been a 100/105 down my way for 13K every so often on the side of the road - haven't paid too much attention.

Saw a really good 100 series today for $8,500 just over 200Ks.

Bugger paying for two. Any modern dual cab will tow at least 3t and when not towing get under 10ltr per hundered (closer to 8 if frugal) and with 4 cyl rego.