Tow vehicle - 2.5 ton $6 to $10K - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Tow vehicle - 2.5 ton $6 to $10K

Re: Tow vehicle - 2.5 ton $6 to $10K

Quote Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
    Not worth re-engining the Nissan? You could do that for what you are looking to spend on another cheap bus--fix your own problems rather than buying someone elses?

I can re-do the motor completely for $10K. .
    Doing the maths now. New long motor from Nissan is $12K! Reco long motors seem to be about $6K. Even if I did the whole lot myself I don't think it would come out under $10K.

Hello CT,
    I have just bought a 2005 3.8l petrol, petrol, low kms, Pajero.
    It has cost me about 10K including 12 months rego and new tyres.
    Rated to 2.5 tonnes.
    Hardly notices 750kg boat, 2.5t might be hard work.????
    If you are only using it for short tows that is OK.
    The upside is that it is a very nice car to drive when in use as a towcar and the $$$$ are right.

Quote Originally Posted by myusernam View Post
    2.5 ton. Anything. I.just sold my TD 2011 190k dmax dual cab with aluminium wing door canopy, dual bats, water tank, black duck seat covers flash stereo full log books for 12k. Id be more inclined for a more modern dmax or ute than a worn out cruiser. Its also going to.be your daily driver? No need for dedicated or specific tow vehiecle.
    The daily driver bits the headache. The Patrol was 16 l/100 on its best day. My $1000 commuter is 5.5 l/100. Whatever I buy wont be a daily driver but if we still want to do the big annual holidays then the reliability question raises its head. Thank to RACQ and Ultimate cover last week!

Quote Originally Posted by Muzza View Post
    Don;t discard a 4.7litre v8 Jeep if your just towing or don;t mind throwing a bit of fuel in.
    Mine doesn't know it has the 6m yellowfin on the back. Rated to 3 tonne
    Some people hate em but there are plenty for sale around $5 grand, going back to 2004 and
    most problems will have been be sorted, find one with service history, looked after and nice to drive as well.
    something like this will leave you plenty for fuel at $3400

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/det...6238836/?Cr=10

Muz
    Shit thats cheap. I know nothing at all about Jeeps but that should have the berries!

Quote Originally Posted by Paul071978 View Post
    I don’t want to hijack this thread but I’m after 3.5t towing
    A GU will do it legally (I think) but geez it will be slow! Not sure on how much the payload affects things.

Someone other than me needs to say Barra swap

CT, I knew nothing about em either(Jeeps). I came from a 4.2 diesel, 4" lifted Maverick(rebadged Patrol), but don't play anymore in the mud or mountains so this does for tow/town and beach duties nicely. Had it about 2-3 years now, no probs at all so far except a rear elec window that I fixed myself. Drives nicer around town and highway than my old fairlane. Mine is a 2004 WJ 4.7HO, I think the older 4.7's 2004 back were pretty solid before they changed to 6's and 5.7's in the Grand Cherokee range. Wouldn't push you into one just passing on my experience with mine
    Good luck in your hunt
    Muz

Can you drop it to 2.3?

Then you can experience the glorious vehicle called a ford falcon au series three forte wagon

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    You can take your pick of colours in 100 series petrols, hundreds of them for sale, some good condition, some tatty, but easy to find.
    You can have any colour you like, as long as its white

Quote Originally Posted by CT View Post
    Doing the maths now. New long motor from Nissan is $12K! Reco long motors seem to be about $6K. Even if I did the whole lot myself I don't think it would come out under $10K.
    I am going on what my mechanic told me. He is well versed in TD42 Nissans, actually uses one as his RAC recovery vehicle when towing the car trailer, for single vehicle recoveries. If its a towing combo he has to pick up, uses the tilt tray and trailer. I'll take his word on it for the cost to do over here. That would include new turbo and fuel pump/injectors, according to him.

Quote Originally Posted by shortthenlong View Post
    Someone other than me needs to say Barra swap

Priced the LS swap but having trouble finding real pricing for the barra. And you really are a bad influence.

Quote Originally Posted by stevej View Post
    Can you drop it to 2.3?

Then you can experience the glorious vehicle called a ford falcon au series three forte wagon
    Apparently I can "tow pack" my wife's VY commodore and get 2.1! Bloody tempting. No idea how it would really go on the ramp. The auto would have to help.

Shit thats cheap. I know nothing at all about Jeeps but that should have the berries!
    Would be a good vehicle for towing duties, just don't think you can do much off-road. If you don't want to, probably a good alternative.

Quote Originally Posted by ranmar850 View Post
    I am going on what my mechanic told me. He is well versed in TD42 Nissans, actually uses one as his RAC recovery vehicle when towing the car trailer, for single vehicle recoveries. If its a towing combo he has to pick up, uses the tilt tray and trailer. I'll take his word on it for the cost to do over here. That would include new turbo and fuel pump/injectors, according to him.
    No argument from me mate, its all good info. The biggest pisser is I just did all the bolt-ons on the common rail. Four injectors for $3K, high flow turbo for $2800. It adds up very bloody quickly. Unfortunately the rooted oil pump did major but still repairable damage to my brand new turbo. If it was still ok it would make for an easier decision.

Apparently I can "tow pack" my wife's VY commodore and get 2.1! Bloody tempting. No idea how it would really go on the ramp. The auto would have to help.
    Territory has 2.3 with AWD available and a heavier body....that's where I'd go if 2.3 was enough. Don't want tail wagging dog.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk