Gday guys, just a quick report from today’s trip. Having fished the deeper water for a couple of years now I have been really keen to catch a Flame Snapper but never really known a lot about them. I mainly target the bar cod as they are pretty basic to find and catch. However with this trip being a solo trip, I thought I would spend a bit more time trying for a flame. I had been getting a very helpful bit of info from a fellow Ausfisher who also gave me a mark to try. I won’t name this person but he knows who it is. His info has been priceless!!!!!
I hit the Caloundra bar at 5.30am for a bumpy trip east to the 65m area. Couple of quick drops here to break up the trip produced 1 nice pearly. Keep punching on to the 100m ground which never even had a show of fish on it. Keep going to my usual 200m area for a barcod. This was ok however every fish that was hooked was sharked. They were hit at any depth in the water column, even to the point of seeing the shark hit the fish under the boat. It was 10.00am by now and the flame mark was a further 10km. As the rain bucketed down I figured it was better to be travelling in the rain than fishing in it.
The mark was a great rise of about 20m from 250m. Not much showing on the top but a quick sound around showed fish hanging on the western edge. I had a practice drift then went for a fair dinkum go. 1st drop saw nil return but good bites. Back again and a nice little cod comes up. Good signs. Back again and “that feels like a good bite, I think I have got him, have I got him?” It was a very different bite to the barcod I am use to. It really felt like a grinner in 50m if water. Good bite then sort of swimming up. Anyway, a cracking flame tail surfaced and I was super happy. I marked the spot where I got the fish and went back for another go. Bang, same bite and another flame. It was now 1.00pm with about 65km back to the bar in average conditions so it was either fish on and clean the boat and fish tomorow or pull out now and clean up today. With the fish in the esky, I was more than happy to pull the pin and got all cleaned up before dark.1 went 4kg and the other went 7kg.