Mate Shane C on here I'm pretty sure is about to put his Ftruck up for sale...its a good tug apparently hasn't let him down towing up & down the coast...not sure on price but flick him a message..cheers
anyone know of any cheap but good 4500kg tow vehicles? please post or pm
reckon i can spend 10k - stretch 15.
Mate Shane C on here I'm pretty sure is about to put his Ftruck up for sale...its a good tug apparently hasn't let him down towing up & down the coast...not sure on price but flick him a message..cheers
What boat did you end up with mate?
Thanks Jase...
Yes it is true, I am unloading mine. Dont know what your idea of cheap is but happy to negotiate.
1998 F250 7.3TD V8. 2wd single cab.
315000km
4.5t towbar with 4600kg towing capacity (but you'll need air brakes for the extra 100kg)
Tekonsha electric brake unit
Water pump, vacuum pump and ac compressor replaced six months ago.
Could probably do with a new set of tyres but would pass rwc.
Oil and filters replaced every 7500km since I have had it since 2010 and 150000km ago.
Has never let me down in a big way, did have to turn around once on a fishing trip due to a rooted alternator but otherwise its just been minir stuff which is part and parcel of an older car that has done a bit of work.
Its only a 2wd so whilst great for towing you wont get far up the beach.
I have a price in mind but thats best discussed by PM as I am going to polish her up, get her detailed and chuck some new tyres on prior to putting it on the market proper, but that cost and time will be reflected in the asking price. Happy to negotiate something as it is.... I am in no hurry to sell although I have made an offer on a new one. Only upgrading to get a fourby so I can go up the beach....
Shane
If Shane doesn't come to the party, I hear there is a dodgy white one running around "Upper Caboolture" that is negotiable..........
It's depreciating at $140/week, he'll need to upgrade soon, after all with new motors, new tew vehicle followed by new boat it will be like my old grandfather's axe, still the best around. I've only replaced the handle 9 times and the head twice but it's still as good as the day he bought it. 😉😉😉
I have spoken to an engineer and the best option for me is to get a canter or similar downrated (if not allready) to 4500 GVM and the GCM uprated (he says even if he has to uprate the GCM then downrate the GVM the following day it's all easy). So there a few 4wd canters but i have found a low klm 2wd dual cab dual wheel one. Do you think the 2wd is an issue remnoving the boat (always over four ton) with a faily low 2wd first gear dual wheels, low pressure, and some weight over the axle will it be ok or should i really only look at 4wd only with the benifit of low range also??
I have driven a few different makes of trucks in the size you are suggesting and the Canter is a gutless wonder...... If you are going to get a truck in that size look at either Hino, Isuzu or UD.
Remember to always log on before heading offshore.
I towed my old cat for years with an old F250 dual wheel, 2 wheel drive, the actual towing was a breeze, as was pulling the boat out of the ramp, BUT, at low tide, on a slippery ramp, traction certainly was an issue! don't know how you would go if you added some weight in the back if you knew you were coming back in at low tide? if the ramp is not slippery, then getting it out is easy, 1st gear is so low in "trucks" it's almost like low range in a 4X4.
How this with built in wash down ability?
https://www.truckworld.com.au/buy/used/truck/isuzu/nps-300-4x4/water-truck/163863.aspx
or this
https://www.truckworld.com.au/buy/us...op/163645.aspx
Might need to up your spend to get something worthwhile
What could go wrong.......................
Piece of puss pulling it out of the water... use the boat to help it.
Dunno how everyone has always managed before now...