Caribbean 26 v 7.5m Plate alloy - Page 2
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Caribbean 26 v 7.5m Plate alloy

Re: Caribbean 26 v 7.5m Plate alloy

Very interesting Scott. Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by scottar View Post
    Lovell's suspension have apparently just released or will be releasing a second stage manufacturer upgrade for the 200 Series Landcruiser. Two parts to it - GVM upgrade to 3800kg is the first, towing upgrade to 4000kg and GCM upgrade is the second part. Reports have it at a $7000 exercise. Not sure what the requirements are in relation to pre and post registration.

http://www.motoring.com.au/four-tonn...ruiser-103187/

Caribbean 26 v 7.5m Plate alloy

I have the Lovells upgrade, definitely 3800kg GVM, 4000kg Towing and 7800 GCM.

But I had to buy a 2004 F250 to tow the new boat as it got fat, 7m Platey and it is 4200kg dry with gear.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Quote Originally Posted by Kondo 1 View Post
    I have the Lovells upgrade, definitely 3800kg GVM, 4000kg Towing and 7800 GCM.

But I had to buy a 2004 F250 to tow the new boat as it got fat, 7m Platey and it is 4200kg dry with gear.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
    Wow. She is big boned - even more so for a centre console. All the toys come at a price. Goes to show that the weighbridge is the only way to get an accurate picture.

Twin sterndrives on a mooring will kill you. They will always let you down. Plenty of yank fishing boats and cats in that size running outboards which you can trim right out of the water. Not many shaft 26's.
    Something like a Boston whaler 255/275 conquest self drains, needs little in the way of tarps or covers, and trims the motors out of the water, will sit happily on a mooring being neglected as they all are.

Quote Originally Posted by WildFishExpeditions View Post
    The caribbean would be more to keep the girlfriend happy as it would be a more comfortable boat.
    Leave the girlfriend at home and all your upgrade problems disappear

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish mobile app

Quote Originally Posted by Flex View Post

along with half the rest of your stuff if you've been living together long enough........... Good luck.

Free Membership

They are just the models i like. I dont think there is enough fishing room in a berti 23, smaller beam etc compared to the other models. If im going to have a boat moored and stuck in the water, may as well have the model i want. I looked at the berti 25 though. The age put me off.

Quote Originally Posted by ozynorts View Post
    Why are you comparing a 7.9m (26ft) glass to a 7.5m (24'6) palte boat..........
    If the smaller plate boat is big enough than surely a 24ft glass boat is too?
    There are a number of Bertram 25's for sale at a much lower price.
    http://www.boatpoint.com.au/boats-fo...hInFeet_Max=25

Free Membership

Good advice.

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    Twin sterndrives on a mooring will kill you. They will always let you down. Plenty of yank fishing boats and cats in that size running outboards which you can trim right out of the water. Not many shaft 26's.
    Something like a Boston whaler 255/275 conquest self drains, needs little in the way of tarps or covers, and trims the motors out of the water, will sit happily on a mooring being neglected as they all are.

Free Membership

Good advice again!
    Quote Originally Posted by Flex View Post

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    I reckon boats with stern drives should live on trailers, well away from any salt water.

Gday guys, yes along with Kondo, I also have the Lovells 3800kg gvm upgrade and the 4000kg tow upgrade. As most probably already know, the gvm upgrade is full suspension replacement which I had done pre rego to allow it to be federally compliant however the 4000kg tow upgrade is simply a new coupling that is fitted to the trailer by the supplier and a new hitch inserted into the current tow assembly. I think the dollars involved for the tow upgrade is mainly for the compliance certificate. The tow upgrade was done post rego but is also federally compliant. The gcm is 7800kg as stated on the engineer certificate supplied with the upgrades. The total cost is around $7000.
    Just keep in mind that the trailer needs to have a 4000kg gvm also which may require modifications. This then also needs to have a roadworthy certificate each year for rego.
    I have a 7.8m Riptide hardtop that came from the builder straight after fitout and weighed 3320kg on a weighbridge. Once sinkers, anchors, general fishing crap and some ice is added, I think I would be pushing the 3500kg so went the upgrades so I could also carry SOME fuel.

Lee

Sent from my iPhone using Ausfish forums
    The wait is finally over.........was worth every minute..........let the RIPTIDE rip..........hell yehhhh

http://www.boatsonline.com.au/boats-...-cabins/199893

If you are looking at keeping a 26 moored maybe look at a 31 or 32 with shaft drive and it will still be way cheaper to buy than a 7.5 platey

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Free Membership

http://www.boatsales.com.au/boats-fo...=0&pss=Premium

maybe something like this. only an hour away from my house too. Think the fuel bill would be deviant thought with the twin 5.7L petrol's though.

Quote Originally Posted by TruBlue View Post
    http://www.boatsonline.com.au/boats-...-cabins/199893

If you are looking at keeping a 26 moored maybe look at a 31 or 32 with shaft drive and it will still be way cheaper to buy than a 7.5 platey

Nope get 1 with diesel's fuel economy much better

Free Membership

yes. then the purchase price just keeps going up and up. its a slippery slope.