PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 Moreton Bay Report Saturday 11/2- Sailfish
Arrrhh, did someone mention sailfish - Moreton Bay- more later.
We ventured out from Scarborough with the a host of others around 0430 ish. We had friends in another boat following us. Hoping to see if we could find those spotties which we had a great time with several days ago.
Long, story short- same area- heaps/ heaps of bait. More boats/jetskis - macks , a little shy. We saw a few boated in other boats but they seemed few and far between. We did encounter some longtails - also skittish.Our partner boat managed to be in the right spot /right time and hooked up. Unfortunately, losing the fish, 25 minutes into the fight. We ventured south to the four beacons area plus here and there- trying birds, baitfish schools, bashing beacons as we went for undersize stuff .
Mid morning saw us at the Wrecks for a nice dip and for the lads to burn off some energy on those sand hills.
It was near home time- the bay was looking flat. Our partner boat was heading straight back. We detoured a bit north - more beacon bashing - hoping for some working birds but no go there. We were 400 metres short of a beacon ( M5 - I think) , there was something solitary creating some surface activity. Doesn't look like a dolphin. We poke on over, nice and slow. Still a fair way out and something comes out-very long slender, mate says a "ribbon fish". Me -" ribbon fish - really! hmmmm" (me old eyes are what they use to be, for distance ) hmmmm- not convinced ????- well as we close, there is a single fin/tail , just out of the water- crusing. We are still rigged with various slugs/metals so three slugs are casted out in the direction - retrieved. On reflection, we should taken just a moment to re rigged, heavy spin ( venom 15-50 spin/ gosa 60000) with that new flash nomad stick bait- might have increased our chances - rather than the mack tuna slugs lol - but that is hindsight. Much easier to carve it up after the event.
Well, next thing to the side of the boat, a sailfish appears- not four metres away - only 1.5 - 2 metres down. Checking us out. Wow- every one was pretty stoked at that sight. Incredibly, awesome fish.After the initial surprise, I grabbed a camera but it was past tense. Gone.
Still I thought I was a privileged to see one in the bay. The guys, certainly excited and that was a bonus for all even thought there wasn't a fish in the esky. I think, every time I go past that beacon, I will remembering that fish and be telling that story to who ever hasn't heard it before
Well after that - back to ramp- a nice run across the bay- little bit chop towards main land. Back at ramp 1300 ish
There was a sail caught by a kayaker at Noosa a couple of weeks back. Hadn't heard of too many of them around the south east before now, must be the year for it.