Thread: thoughts on outboard purchase please

thoughts on outboard purchase please

hey lads, and gals,

i put a deposit on a 2011 mercury super 15hp, i know its a detuned 18hp tohatsu no worries there, what i would like to know your thoughts about and there is no consequence as i am going ahead with the deal this time, but in future just to hear what you all think, i paid full retail $1150 after service costs but this engine is very clean only a few small scratches and the prop and bottom fin have no paint loss as if its never hit sand, now i know i could have got one off gumtree a lot cheaper, but this is from a dealer and its being serviced and checked and its really clean, and i dont have to deal with gumtree people (not all are bad) its a long shaft i think it was a auxilary and did not get much use, they retail for about $2260 when not on sale but i cant afford new and i just want to hit the water, so what do you think on price and choice and any advice for future? thanks.
    ill be somewhere up the creek, happy trails..

Re: thoughts on outboard purchase please

Provided you are happy with the deal, and the motor does what you need it too - what does it matter what us mob of muppets think. The only thing I have found with the Super 15 (I have a short shaft) is that they do not troll well. If you don't troll - no problem.

lol i care what u muppets think wether we take each others advice is another thing, but hey thats why i joined ausfish to talk boats and motors something i love a lot, ur a boat man scottar not a muppet really lol, but thanks for your reply all replies are welcome.. and yes i am happy bro i got a new toy.. and if i wanted to troll id get a 4hp lol i got a 15 to give it some stick,its kool you got same motor, have you had it long? what year is it? and are you happy with yours?

I've had mine about 3 years or so. Good solid performer apart from at slow speed. It was first sold in 2011 but got sold/traded twice in three years before I bought it. It had a problem with crap in the carby when purchased that I suspect was the reason it changed hands a couple of times quickly. Once that was sorted the thing has run like a champ since. I have fitted a foil (Solas Laser Foil) to make getting on the plane and running one up easier but it will quite happily pull a teenager on a tube with the missus as a spotter. I have played with the "extra" 3 horsepower by manually pushing the throttle cam across - not worth spending the money for an extra knot and more noise. They do (as a lot of two strokes do) drip oil residue after running when stored vertically so if you don't want black crap on the floor make sure you put something under it.

kool scottar, thnx for some info, we both got the 2011, i wont make it 18hp as 15hp is plenty for me and it may make the motor last longer by not getting it wot. thnx for the tip about the oil i did not know that was normal and would have freaked out and takin it back to dealer lol, i thought about a foil but i will always have missus dog and esky/fish gear, so a foil wont be needed right?..they are not as smooth as some others which would be nice but they are simple and basic 2 stroke which is old school sorta.. cant wait to get it out there..

Quote Originally Posted by up the creek View Post
    i thought about a foil but i will always have missus dog and esky/fish gear, so a foil wont be needed right?.
    You won't know until you run the boat. The foil does help getting out of the hole when loaded up as well as when one up. I went with the Solas foil as it has the thinnest cross section being stainless - just fitted insulating washers where I had to drill the AV plate. Don't fit one if you don't need one or feel that it will be of some benefit though - try it out first.

hey guys,
    I just sold my 2000 american merc for no reason other than it was sixteen years old, went great, was a good buy for the new buyer.
    I bought a 2016 tohy merc 15hp, havre so far only run it 5-6 hours on 25 to 1 mix, so running in with a bit of wot here and there.
    i never run wot for much anyway and i like my motors lasting.
    Running on a 3.5 proline stacer punt, my old one clocked 23 knots on gps.. I have a longshaft motor and had the transom built up professionally to suit long ago.....
    comparisons so far.....
    It is out of the hole in an instant, load(weight) up back, no probs battery, 20 plus litres of fuel and 115 kilo of me, nothing much up front, it launches on the plane, very impressive, old one was good but this wins the torque grab,
    So far at wot on a short burst I'm getting 25 knots on gps, happy with that, when run in and 50-1 maybe a knot who knows
    As for reliablity can't say, it's new, As for slow trolling, yes it is noisier and rough, it will not do my arthritic elbows any good on the dams but I have a cheap electric for that..
    I do miss the throttle gear shift when crabbing and for sure if I troll dams, but I coped before and will cope again,
    Also the lever to tension steering was handy and the shallow water tilt options were better on the old one.
    Time will tell but no comnplaints, my choice to sacrifice the benefits to upgrade(maybe lol)
    Hope that fills in some gaps mate, I'm happy
    Muz

definately will do as you say and try it 1st.. as long as it can get up on 3/4 throttle then i guess i wont need it, but i never asked what a foil does and knowing it is for getting out of the hole, and the weight i will have, it might be an option for future to think about, will look at solas..

awesome muzz thanks for sharing that, im always interested in peoples experience with new/old motors. for sure your new motor being latest technology it will go harder and its a 294cc compared to american mercs 245cc approx, me ive never had a twist or american merc gear shift so cant say i wont like it but im happy turnin around as im in forward most of the time anways (suits me i spose),, i think the big thing for most people is smooth power and quietness which i never heard if it was a muscle car they were wanting (theyd want noisy exhaust) lol but it comes at a cost when its a 4 stroke (more parts/technical) and more service costs, my argument for my 2stroke is i like em like my old briggs and stratton mower old school, simple and less parts as possible and dont mind a little shake and noise.. and yes im happy also..

You should have an old Victa mower shouldn't you?

ill never live it down as most know how staunch i am for my 2 strokes, but i have a 4 stroke mower lol, but i did have a 2 stroke rover/briggs n stratton 2nd hand of gummie, but it kept stalling and was gonna clean carb etc as i loved it, but supercheap had a brand new 4 stroke for $160, i couldnt resist, and i do like the smoothness of how it runs,

You don't think that same "smoothness" might be kind of nice in your outboard too?

OH, not too sure Briggs&Stratton ever made a 2 stroke, most old Rovers had a Tecumseh 2 stroke, that was about half as good as their 4 stroke, and that was shit......
    Last edited by Noelm; 30-12-2016 at 06:59 PM. Reason: Spelling mistake

Quote Originally Posted by Noelm View Post
    You should have an old Victa mower shouldn't you?
    Or an old Victa outboard - better still. Not too many around these days.

lol noelm and scottar,, not sure what motor it had but surely a 2 stroke, and i cant believe im saying it but 4 strokes are nice and smooth and quieter,, but i want the choice not to be forced to buy 4 stroke, and for now and the forseable future i love my 2 strokes and will noisely annoy the peace up and down the water ways for years to come lol..ive seen a few old victa and different models on gumtree cheap and thought about buying one to just have it in a man cave or something but no good on a boat..