Thread: What would you do?????

What would you do?????

Need some advice on my '90 Patrol.

I acquired the vehicle ten years ago from a mate for dirt cheap. He bought it from a dealer he once worked at, and didn't get the rego changed to his name, as there was no safety certificate. It was no worries, as over the years we would just pay rego in the Dealer owner's business name, and all was fine. Unfortunately, he passed away late last year, and his wife informed us that after this latest lot of rego, she can no longer have it under her name, which I understand.

Bottom line is, come September, the rego runs out, and due to the decent amount of rust in the roof (and maybe some other things I'm unaware of), I cannot go and get a safety certificate, as I'm sure it'd cost a heap to get to their standard. She still runs like a dream and handles great, but I think the rust may make her not pass the safety test.

So, I'm after your opinion with what to do about it, and how I could get the most out of the final transaction. She's mechanically A1, and drives like a dream, so it's frustrating as hell, but I will have to get rid of her and get another very cheap car. Money's non-existent for me right now, so getting something back is a must, but I don't know which way would be best - sell unregistered; wreckers etc. Rego runs out mid-September.

If anyone has any ideas, I'd really appreciate it.

Thanks heaps.

Cuzza

Re: What would you do?????

Hey mate.
    Mum assuming it is a gq patrol?

they are still very sort after by the off-road boys, and the more stock it is, the better. If you were to sell it as is, (no road worthy), I think you will be very surprised with how much you get.
    What engine has if got? Diesel or pereol?

Yeah a decent 4.2TD could fetch a couple grand on its own (mileage and servicing dependent). Bodies don't seem as valuable as those motors unless pristine.

If it's not registered in your name, and never has been, you really can't do anything with it. If you sell it unregistered, a receipt from you, never having been the registered owner, isn't going to be worth anything to the person trying to re-register it.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to

Your only two options are to keep mum or just scrap it.
    You had it a few years, you beat the odds. Give up while your ahead. You would only need one bingle to unravel. Its just not worth the risk.

Ring qld transport regarding proof of purchase and what's required in regards to their statement of aquisition if no previous owner available to sign it.

Plenty of places still do quite "lenient" safety certs, slap some bog in it and she'll be good to go Do you have a regular mechanic? talk to them and see if they know anyone.
    Kids who Hunt and Fish, Don't Deal and Steal.

You might be able to get your name added to the rego then a month later take the dealers name off. Last time I did this with my daughter and cost under $30 each time could be more now. Still cheaper than getting a roadwork hybrid.

If the previous owners wife is able to give you a receipt from the business all you have left is the roadworthy. To protect herself she could even deregister it and sell it unregistered.
    Ray

Quote Originally Posted by rtp1984 View Post
    Hey mate.
    Mum assuming it is a gq patrol?

they are still very sort after by the off-road boys, and the more stock it is, the better. If you were to sell it as is, (no road worthy), I think you will be very surprised with how much you get.
    What engine has if got? Diesel or pereol?
    Mate, she's a petrol engine. Runs like a dream. Always been so reliable. Only problem is the rust in the roof. How would it still be of value to offroad people if they can't get it roadworthy? I have thought about selling unregistered, as it'd still be at least a couple of grand, surely. Thanks, mate.

Cuzza

Quote Originally Posted by Andy56 View Post
    Your only two options are to keep mum or just scrap it.
    You had it a few years, you beat the odds. Give up while your ahead. You would only need one bingle to unravel. Its just not worth the risk.
    It's still legally registered at the moment. Everything's legal etc. It's just that it's registered under their business name instead of my own, so when I get pulled over etc, I state that it's rego'd in their name, and all is fine. Still pay the fees and have 3rd party etc.

Cuzza

Ask her to sell you the business name for a nominal fee.

Hey cuzz

the boys that want these thing, only intend of butchering them further out in the mud.
    sellnig unregistered, and they will just get a dodgy on it and be away.
    A mate of mine sold a petrol one 2 years ago that was stuffed. Not a straight panel on it, rust through out, interior stuffed, engine unreliable.
    Got $1800.

I assume you still have contact with the "official owner"?
    i would imagine a simple receipt from her to you would give true ownership to yourself, then just sell on unregistered.
    Ask for 4 or 5k, ignore the tyre kickers who will want to swap you for a commodore, and you will soon find what the market is.
    If you can keep it registered so they can test drive, it would help sell I'm sure, then deregister before they pick it up.

First thing I would do is find a mechanic who is sympathetic to the fact the roadworthy is for yourself, get him to have a look and see what actually needs doing. If it's just the roof then a bit of bog and a dulux rebuild and your on your way to DOT.

Thanks, fellas.

RTP 1984, Yeah mate, I think I'd get a few grand at least if I keep her registered. There's still two months to go before it runs out, so maybe I could put it up for between four and five grand, see if any bites, then if I do get a buyer, de-register it.

I never realised mechanics still do dodgies.

Scottar, Yeah, I will be bogging and spraying the roof, so aesthetically it will look a lot better. Absolutely nothing wrong with her otherwise.

Cuzza

Assuming you are in Queensland, you must have a Roadworthy (Blue sheet) displayed if it is registered and you are selling it. You could get booked for having a "For Sale" sign on it without the blue notice. That's why you see cars with "Interested" instead of "For Sale" on them.
    The buyer will still need a receipt from the last registered owner to be able to get it registered.
    Dale

I fish because the little voices in my head tell me to