Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: The real wieght of a CruiseMaster 700

The real wieght of a CruiseMaster 700

Well I have been so very slowly refurbishing a cruisemaster over the last 18 months and still going. I have been wondering what to tow the boat with once I am all done and just have been waiting to get it on the new trailer and down to the weigh bridge. I am replacing the motor in the boat and I had Captain Red nuts pick up the boat yesterday to remove the motor and drive. I removed risers and other crap off the motor and disconnected wiring etc to allow Jim to have a little more access to remove. On the way down to Jim's workshop stopped in and weighed the set up. Came in at 3980 kg. This is with out batteries, parts off the engine and I estimate around 150 litres of fuel and 50 litres of fresh water so that's about half of my pay load of fluids I would carry when heading out. The trailer is 1200 kg (yes it's not a light weight) so taking that off gives me a weight of 2780 kg. If you were to add the batteries, fuel, water and ice and your other bits and bobs ready to go in the water you are over 3 ton before you add a body in the boat.

Now unless you have a trailer that weighs 500kg or less you are over 3.5 ton which really narrows down what you can tow with to comply to regulations. Now aluminium trailers frames are light but you still need the running gear which on my trailer comes in at 400 kg for axels and springs etc. I see these same boats travelling around the roads being towed with all sorts of vehicles and not rated for this. It's funny how they advertise these boats and many others that are towable with a 3.5 ton capacity vehicle when clearly that is bullshit.

Anyway they are real weights from a certified weigh bridge and not a guess. I registered my trailer for 4.3 ton and I will need very bit of it to comply. Now looking for a F250/350 as my tow as nothing else is going to cut grass. Any other cruisemaster owners out there I would be interested how you have set your rig up or what you are using.

Re: The real wieght of a CruiseMaster 700

Any light truck will tow it, and probably be cheaper than buying an F350, those oversize yank utes are frighteningly expensive.

You'd be surprised Feral. Most light trucks won't tow more than 3.5t.
    He'd need to go to a 5500 k.g. truck with a 10000k.g. gcm to do it which is a MR licensed vehicle. These are usually only available in tipper bodies with reinforced chassis for bobcat contractors and the like and are dogs of things to drive around empty with a heavy trailer on.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    You'd be surprised Feral. Most light trucks won't tow more than 3.5t.
    He'd need to go to a 5500 k.g. truck with a 10000k.g. gcm to do it which is a MR licensed vehicle. These are usually only available in tipper bodies with reinforced chassis for bobcat contractors and the like and are dogs of things to drive around empty with a heavy trailer on.
    agree with that, just because a smallish truck is legal to tow, doesn't make it the best thing to tow! Most of the older trucks in this size range are also pretty gutless too.
    fruit salad is the new Bacon

If you go RAM look for a pre 2012 diesel that won't need the blue crap added to cut Nox. Much simpler exhaust without it

Hi Feral, Yep went down the road of a light truck and actually got one. This was a bad mistake on my part and sold it on for less than I paid. As GBC and Chimo have stated there is more to it and I really should have done the homework better. You do have too get up into the medium size trucks to get the tow capacity.

Jim towed the rig with his F250 and no problems what so ever. I know Jim tows heavier rigs than what I have with no problems.

A landcruiser will tow it no problems and other vehicles also but you wouldn't want something to happen as you are completely in the wrong.

I am hoping someone with the same rig would tell me what they are using.

[QUOTE=Feral;1604720]Any light truck will tow it, and probably be cheaper than buying an F350, those oversize yank utes are frighteningly expensive.[/QUOT

There was a cane farmer from Coolum used to fish 1770 regularly with his 8m stingray (or bridgedeck Fraser maybe? - cant remember). I ran into him at the ramp a few times up there. He had a boat trailer cradle inside a frame that ran inside another frame on rollers like a bloody great fridge slide on the back of a 'light' long bed truck. It all worked off a single hydraulic ram and the truck wheels never went near the water.
    His body movement wasn't the greatest but he could easily launch and retrieve the boat off the back on his own and not have to tow anything - there was even a walkway and a ladder to get onto the bow of the boat. One of the best ways to handle a larger trailerable boat I have seen and a heap easier (and cheaper in the long run) than dunking an expensive trailer in the water.

He certainly is a thinker

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    There was a cane farmer from Coolum used to fish 1770 regularly with his 8m stingray (or bridgedeck Fraser maybe? - cant remember). I ran into him at the ramp a few times up there. He had a boat trailer cradle inside a frame that ran inside another frame on rollers like a bloody great fridge slide on the back of a 'light' long bed truck. It all worked off a single hydraulic ram and the truck wheels never went near the water.
    His body movement wasn't the greatest but he could easily launch and retrieve the boat off the back on his own and not have to tow anything - there was even a walkway and a ladder to get onto the bow of the boat. One of the best ways to handle a larger trailerable boat I have seen and a heap easier (and cheaper in the long run) than dunking an expensive trailer in the water.

I think the truck thing is not black and white i have seen a few large trailer boats at portland that are on fifth wheel trailers towed by maybe three ton trucks .
    i believe they can re rate the gvm obviously the total cost of new trailer and conversion come into account.but it maybe an option

Brett, I have a 2004 xlt dual cab, 4x4, 7.3td. It is an awesome tow vehicle, and it is set up for towing. I will be putting it on the market in the new year, purely for financial reason, so if you want to have a chat about it then send me a pm.

dave.

I believe Boat Hog (Jim) will be putting his tow vehicle on the market soon as well, not sure if its a 250 or 350. but would be more then suitable.

No such thing as a fat alcoholic, just fat piss pots...

GBC, that'd be old Graham Ryan the mackerel pro from here you are talking about. In his late '80s now and slowing up. It is a Pacific with twin 115 Yammie 4 strokes with a second set of controls in the cockpit for solo fishing. The truck setup is a ripper. He used to do a stint at 1770 every year but I think he is past that now.

Thanks Smithy, that filled in a few blanks in the memory. If I remember correctly it was twin Hondas when I last saw it? He'd have burned a few sets of engines on it for sure. He must have some sort of record for hours put on a plate hull - it was old 15 years ago!

Him and Greedy Reidy in the other big Pacific! Warwick in the little Pacific across the road from the La Balsa boat ramp and Bruce in the white Masram go a bit better and do a few more hours live baiting than the real old boys who deadbait only.

Well I have ended up with a F250 1991 ex ambo with a 6.5 L diesel. It's set up with a C6 auto and overdrive, transmission cooler, dual batteries, 4 new tyres, air-con and the upgraded running gear like 8 stud wheels, springs and other bits which are modified for the ambo's. Rated four 4 ton braked tow and only need to change a few things to get 4.5 ton. Has a new flat tray and just need to add some drop sides on and off I go. It's a old truck but will only be used for towing the boat. It's nice and clean inside and out and got it for a good price. Had a look at many trucks over the last 12 months and glad I finally found one that ticked all the boxes and I didn't have to sell the house to pay for it.

DSC01012 (Copy).jpgDSC01013 (Copy).jpgDSC01004 (Copy).jpg