Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Evinrude E-tec/Mercury 4 stroke/Yamaha 60hp outboard

Re: Evinrude E-tec/Mercury 4 stroke/Yamaha 60hp outboard

Quote Originally Posted by myusernam View Post
    are hondas made the same colour as asprin for a reason or is that just coincidence?
    Really??? Come on really??? Why say this???

You need to lighten up and learn to take a joke

It is not the first light hearted comment and will definitely not be the last.

toughen up butter cups

Maybe the asprin comment was made because the OP did ask for info on the Evinrude/Mercury/Yamaha, and yet we get multiple posts of spam from the resident Honda salesman, and a reference to Yamaha owners as "one sheep is following a flock of other sheep"

Hey i own a Yamaha so i know which one i prefer but trying to stir the sh@t pot and get a bite from someone by rubbishing something someone on here sells is a bit low i reckon.

Quote Originally Posted by Darren Mc View Post
    Hey i own a Yamaha so i know which one i prefer but trying to stir the sh@t pot and get a bite from someone by rubbishing something someone on here sells is a bit low i reckon.
    So true mate.......Garry has helped me out when I owned a Suzuki with some good advice I've never met him in person but have messaged him a couple of times and he has always helped out and never fobbed me off reguardless of brand.
    Confidence.......the feeling you get before you fully understand the situation.

Quote Originally Posted by Spaniard_King View Post
    Mate if your asprin is the same colour as a Honda I would be getting your eyes checked and throwing those asprins out !!

Seriously substantiate your comment or keep these ridiculous comments to your self as you are simply degrading your own public profile on a forum such as this! Oh and non of this he said she said will cut it either... your turn!

http://tiny.cc/vuia7x

So I assume you think Honda is the only Brand to suffer any corrosion problems?? I could simply dig up as much dirt on any other brand but that's not me!!!. Maybe you should look into each case you find and I am sure it would not be the brand at fault if service guidelines have been followed.

Thrown those asprins out yet?

Retired Honda Master Tech

Quote Originally Posted by Spaniard_King View Post
    So I assume you think Honda is the only Brand to suffer any corrosion problems?? I could simply dig up as much dirt on any other brand but that's not me!!!. Maybe you should look into each case you find and I am sure it would not be the brand at fault if service guidelines have been followed.

Thrown those asprins out yet?
    Yeah all he ones at the wreckers were just from lack of washing. How does the gearbox get a hole corroded in it from lack of maintenance? Never seen a yank gbox with a hole in it from corrosion. Just sayin.

Do a little exercise and type 'engine corrosion' into the search function above and go through heaps of pages of results seeing how many of us Honda owners have been bleeting about corrosion issues. While you're looking take good note of the number of Suzuki and Yamaha corrosion threads.
    It would appear real life once again doesn't match up with one sided crap you speak. How does a gearbox corrode through? Negligence. If it was anything more you would have heard about it loud and clear. I am truly sorry for anybody who got caught out with a corroding Yamaha F series though. Nobody deserves that. Just sayin
    Has honda had a class action against them recently for corroding engines? Is any other manufacturer consistently in the top 20 most valuable brands in the world? Nothing to see here.
    nil carborundum illegitimi

Quote Originally Posted by GBC View Post
    Do a little exercise and type 'engine corrosion' into the search function above and go through heaps of pages of results seeing how many of us Honda owners have been bleeting about corrosion issues. While you're looking take good note of the number of Suzuki and Yamaha corrosion threads.
    It would appear real life once again doesn't match up with one sided crap you speak. How does a gearbox corrode through? Negligence. If it was anything more you would have heard about it loud and clear. I am truly sorry for anybody who got caught out with a corroding Yamaha F series though. Nobody deserves that. Just sayin
    Has honda had a class action against them recently for corroding engines? Is any other manufacturer consistently in the top 20 most valuable brands in the world? Nothing to see here.
    one sided crap i speak? name one other time.
    It's funny how people are quick to jump down your throat when you have nothing to gain, and yet people who sell can spruke sales talk and not get shot down.
    Go ahead and search for honda corrosion issues. especially on the hull truth. or check out some of the wrecks at the wreckers. You will definatley also see suzukis there and yammies to a lesser extent. the jap motors are nice engines but leave a bit to be desiered when compared to the yank motors when it comes to corrosion protection. This is not just my view. Holes in engine blocks etc should simply not occur. How many of the first hondas do you still see going?.

one sided crap i speak? name one other time.
    It's funny how people are quick to jump down your throat when you have nothing to gain, and yet people who sell can spruke sales talk and not get shot down.
    Go ahead and search for honda corrosion issues. especially on the hull truth. or check out some of the wrecks at the wreckers. You will definatley also see suzukis there and yammies to a lesser extent. the jap motors are nice engines but leave a bit to be desiered when compared to the yank motors when it comes to corrosion protection. This is not just my view. Holes in engine blocks etc should simply not occur. How many of the first hondas do you still see going?.
    yea well I did. The first one was about a 2002 motor and it was THE CASE with a hole, not the motor. So, it looks like selective reporting at work here. Guys, its not sheep stations on the line. Lets get back to why you should buy X brand rather than why you shouldnt buy Y brand.
    If you cant find a great reason to recommend one brand over another, you aint going to find a bad reason either.

Any of the above mentioned brands - if you have a good dealer. Personally in this size, I don't see fuel use as an issue for any of them unless you have a specific reason (big hours or distances / range). As for warranty - Kia have a 7 year warranty - I bought a Toyota (Not quite a perfect analogy as no-one in their right mind would put Honda and Kia in the same basket). A dealer can make or break the ownership experience of an outboard from the outset so unless there is a common issue with a particular brand (google is your friend), or your hull is weight sensitive and particular engines are substantially heavier than others, then any of the major players products will have reviews ranging from excellent to poor. Bare in mind though that a percentage of problems can be put down to either poor rigging or poor usage / maintenance.

What a spin!
    First thread I've read where etec came through reletively unscathed and other brands have been smashed😊

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

just to re-iterate, etecs are junk. Carry on

^^copy that.